We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great park”
Review of Cornwall Park

Cornwall Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$93.53*
and up
Wine Makers Experience from Auckland
More Info
US$104.76*
and up
Full-Day Auckland Scenic Tour
More Info
US$215.12*
and up
Full-Day Best of Auckland City Tour
Ranked #4 of 271 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This lovely urban park offers an escape from the city hustle and bustle with oak tree-lined roads, winding paths and grazing sheep and cattle.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great park”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Cornwall Park is not just a park, but a working farm in the middle of New Zealand's biggest city. There is so much to do and see that it would take a whole day to look around. Well maintained and a great place for a Sunday walk.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    290
    36
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Go for a wander”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I have the lucky opportunity to walk to a park entrance from home in only 5 minutes. The mix of formal gardens, farming, boulevards and park make a great urban escape.

Walk, play, have a picnic, a great place to relax.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ellerslieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“just like visiting an old English Country side!”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Must visit for a lunch as the restaurant is open until 4pm however it is like a heaven, trees are well matured and beautiful surroundings will forget where you are. Well maintained park. love it

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best thing we did in Auckland”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The word 'park' really doesn't sum up everything to see and do at Cornwall Park. It is a huge park, which includes a working farm, that is on the second highest mountain in Auckland. The site is also a dormant volcano, and the site of one of the largest former Maori settlements in the area. The visitor's center provides great maps that show geological and archaeological points of significance. If that isn't your thing, the scenery is stunning, and there are walks for all abilities. There is also an olive grove, and a grove of cherry trees that was budding when we were there.

The only regret that I have is that we didn't allocate more time for our visit.

To get there on public transport, take the bus from stop 7006 (at the corner of Queen and Wellesley), and hop off at Alexandra Park. From there, it's a 10 minute walk through the park to Cornwall Park.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank westgirl_australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I visit often and still find a new spot or aspect to explore. It's a great place to note the changing of the seasons, a quick walk to the top is energising and offers you great views. It's the spot we take our visitors so they can get an idea of Auckland, it also means they get to see a volcano. The visitor centre is a fab little spot and we enjoy the various displays. Overall it's a saviour of a park in the city with something for everyone.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KTandCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cornwall Park also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Cornwall Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing