We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for 93 dollars ANY OTHER BUDGET PLACE is better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Ranked #62 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“for 93 dollars ANY OTHER BUDGET PLACE is better!”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I payed 93 dollars for a single (double) room ensuite. i got a VERY SMALL room on the same floor as the reception. Sleeping was impossible due to 1. the unbearable heat in the room (windows cannot be opened) and this is in wintertime! 2. the noise.
this IS a backpacker place but they charge hotel prices unless you sleep in a dorm! in other ways: avoid this place at all costs unless you are in for party at all time and staying in a dorm.
btw even if you stay in a room and not a dorm, they demand 20 dollars cash deposit for the key!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabiofort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRM, Front Office Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 4 September 2011
Hi Fabiofort,

Thank you for your review of us. I am sorry to hear that you found our rooms too small and too hot. We did have a few problems with our air conditioning but this has since been rectified to make our guests more comfortable. Our $93 private rooms are equipped with a fridge, tea and coffee making faciltiies, TV with Sky and it's own ensuite which is why it is priced higher than our dormitory rooms. We also offer more basic private rooms for much lower prices. Every person that checks in to our hostel must pay a $20 cash key deposit but this is refunded in full on return of the key, so effectively is not an extra cost at all.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    185
    226
    157
    180
See reviews for
25
189
310
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Some people will probably love Base as it is lively with a energetic vibe. However some of the small things just didn't add up for me.

I'm a big believer in having realistic expectations for the price you pay and think Base could be taking better care of the building and just need some basic regular maintenance that would make a big difference. Yes you don't mind the odd carpet or ceiling tile stain but these were everywhere here giving the whole place a very tired vibe. Like I said, so long as you expect that and just want a central place to crash this could be fine, noise didn't really bother me and the staff seemed friendly enough for this kind of place, thee were a couple of other more serious annoyances though.

Firstly they had a major temperature control issue, on arrival the whole place was like a sauna and without being able to open the windows the bedrooms were stuff and uncomfortable. This did improve on the second day but still seemed temperamental.
Secondly I stayed on the 6th floor where each shower cubicle had a different problem; broken lock in one, no water flow in another without constantly pressing the button which means you had to stop to lather up, the third had more water coming out the fixtures than the actual shower head meaning my feet were lovely and clean, the rest of me less so! Not massive but enough for me to move on after the second night into cheaper and more pleasant hostels in the suburbs.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRM, Front Office Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 4 September 2011
Hi,

Thanks for the review of your stay with us in June this year. You will be glad to hear that during June, July and August we have done a big clean and maintenance overhaul of our hostel so the showers are fixed and the airconditioning is a lot better! We have also replaced patches of carpet and even walls in some places so that people can enjoy their stay in more comfort and hopefully have expecations met.

Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We booked a private double room, which on checking in had no windows and was located under the air conditioning vent making the room extremely cold and a little noisy.
The bed was comfortable and the fridge in the room a bonus.
The shower area was located a few doors down, with individual lockable cubicles with shower and dressing area and there was never a que.

The only downside with the private room was the lack of lockers, which I was slightly concerned about with it being such a large hostel and the increased risk of theft when travelling; luckily we didn't have any such problems but we heard stories from other travellers who had been victim to theft.

The shared kitchen was great with plenty of space to cook and eat.

The hostel was big, and located towards the top of the main street, the supermarket being located about 20minutes walk away but everything was in easy walking distance and there was plenty of information in the hostel for those wanting to make the most of Auckland.

A great place to start a trip, but not one you would stay in for a long time.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRM, Front Office Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 4 September 2011
Hi There,

Thank you for your review of Base Auckland and your comprehensive description of our faciltiies. It sounds like you utilised our extensive property well. Apologies that the room was a little cold, we try and control the air conditioning to suit everyone's needs but also have extra blankets available for the colder rooms.

Enjoy the rest of your travels and thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Fantastic hostel for young people wanting to see all Auckland has to offer. Good location and lovely staff. Stayed in a private room which was basic but clean and sufficient for backpacker needs. There are excellent computer facilities and The Globe Bar downstairs is a great place to go in the evening to meet other travellers. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcgauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRM, Front Office Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
Hi There,

Thank you for placing your review about Base Auckland. It sounds like you had a great stay which is exactly what we aim for! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and that we will see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Double room was very clean but too noisy due to central air-conditioning. Kitchen is very big but generaly very dirty. The hostel is generaly ok for one or two nights but has lack of atmosphere and is just too big, seems like we are in an hospital.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaridaLisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I have been here three times, each time has been fun, friendly and I have not wanted to leave. The staff are very friendly and attentive, the rooms are clean and easy to get to and the location is the best there is. The bus stops outside to the airport, the free shuttle to dressmart stops around the corner and its not even a ten minute walk to the britomart (train station) from there. The views are lovely and you can see the sky tower if you book a private room. The rooms are clean, well maintained and have comfortable beds with ACTUAL mattresses. I was impressed at all the travel information and offers that the backpackers had too. There is always something happening at the bar and there are special offers and sometimes even a free drink or two depending on the night. Auckland has so much to see and do and the ACB is the best place to be with buses, trains and shops open all hours literally outside the door, surpassingly quiet rooms at night and great travelers from all over the world, whether you are traveling in a group, are newlyweds or on your own, you will meet people and enjoy the views of the skytower and the quick walk to the casino and loads more. 10/10 :-)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 80sgirlChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRM, Front Office Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Hi!

Thank you much for posting your feedback about Base Auckland! We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - and that you like Auckland as a city. There is so much to do - especially in summer. It's especially nice to have a few drinks at the bars as you said! Enjoy the rest of your summer and we hope to see you back at Base Auckland soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

I stayed at Base Auckland a few times, once in a 4-bed dorm and once in an 8-bed dorm. The staff are OK - not always as friendly and helpful as I would have wished. But they do have clean bathrooms, a great big kitchen, never had to wait for computers, and decent laundry facilities. The price is a bit high but when compared to the other - cheaper - but run-down hostels in the area, I'd say the price is worth the value you get.

They did run a sausage-cook on the rooftop bar and I enjoyed a few St. Paddy's Day beers up there too. The Globe Bar in the basement was the usual dirty backpacker fun, with good bartenders (for the most part).

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshower82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Attic Backpackers
Attic Backpackers
#4 of 118 in Auckland
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
0.3 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#54 of 118 in Auckland
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 118 in Auckland
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#14 of 118 in Auckland
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#18 of 118 in Auckland
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Auckland Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Property: Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Address: 229 Queen St | Cnr Queen St. & Darby, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Base Auckland Central Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Base Backpacker Auckland is located in the heart of Auckland city, less than 5 minutes walk to everywhere. We have fun working here so we know you'll have fun staying in our hostel. Former ACB, Base Auckland hostel is located in the heart of the city - central to shops, cafes, museums, Sky tower and only a few minutes walk to train, bus and ferry terminals and Vector Arena. The airport bus (Airbus) stops right outside our door! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Base Auckland Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Auckland Central Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Base Auckland Central Backpackers New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing