We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Base I've ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here and hated it. Check in was so slow, it took ages to fill out forms, photocopy documents and approve payment. Got to the room, wasn't told that it didn't even have a window! The room had an awful stench of damp B.O aswell. And for $29 a night! Disgrace. Half of the showers on the 3rd floor either don't work or are filthy. Kitchen was average, tv room consists of two (yes 2!!) channels and no dvds/movies at all. WiFi was unreliable, communal area was ok. It was just all very average. The Base hostels that I stayed in in Taupo and Wellington were a million times better than this! Wouldn't recommend and wouldn't stay here again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pete2591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virender S, Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback on us. I have taken all the issues into account. Firstly, I am very sorry to hear about your experience. We have implemented systems such as opening another counter,distributing check in forms and get it ready before you hit the counter to fasten check in process. All our budget dorms do not have windows thus they are the cheapest dorms. We are working on giving a new look for our showers and toilets. With all this I am sure we can make your next stay better with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Booking into base felt like a bad idea when I was waiting at reception, probably due to the reputation it has around Aus and NZ for being loud and less homely than other places.
Though I actually had a marvellous time here! The hostel it's self is set out really well, and there is so much space in the common rooms, kitchen and tv rooms, for a hostel right in the centre of the city. I was in a four bed dorm for 3 nights and the people were inviting and inclusive. Had a great view over Queen st and the room felt huge! The only let down was the bathrooms, they were covered in hair and just needed a good clean! I ended up using the disabled shower toilet on the last day because I couldn't bare going into the stuffy showers again.
A good hostel in a bloody good location.i would stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickmikem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi Mick,

Thanks for your review, so glad you enjoyed your stay. I must apologise for the dirty showers, our housekeeping staff do work very hard, but obviously if you felt uncomfortable this is not at all acceptable, so we will look into this.

Thanks again, we do hope you’ll come stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Base Auckland is very much like Base Wellington - rundown and in serious need of a makeover. Rooms are incredibly dark, dingy (especially if you go for the cheapest room that's without windows), and hot and stuffy. Beds are really uncomfortable. Staff at reception were helpful but slow, but one woman in particular was very rude and aggressive. It is cheap and in a fantastic location in Auckland - but wouldn't recommend staying for more than one night.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and get a window
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank ameliabroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi Amelia,

Sorry you did not fully enjoy the hostel. We are aware that some of the mattresses and just last week had a big delivery of new mattresses so the beds are all new and comfy now, we’ve had lots of positive feedback on this. We have also been implementing new training procedures with new staff on how to reduce queue and waiting time, and this has been quite successful, which we are happy with, nobody likes to wait. Apologies if you thought our receptionist was rude, we certainly do not tolerate this and our staff are generally friendly and fun as we all enjoy our jobs here.

I do hope that you will come and stay with us again, so we can show you the real experience you can expect at Base!

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Had to stay overnight in Auckland, and we chose Base Backpackers(booked a Twin Room share) as it was situated right in the CBD and was a walk away from the places we needed to go. The bus from the airport dropped us right at the backpackers which was very convenient! Room was clean and very basic; as it is a backpackers, that is what you expect! Excellent service, would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aemilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi,

Thanks for your review; I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. We are always trying to improve our rooms, and we try to make the private rooms like good hotel rooms. Hopefully you will come back and stay with us again some time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you're looking for relatively cheap accommodation in a central location then Base is perfect. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable enough, and if that's all you need then great. The Base Travel desk and Job Search New Zealand room on the main floor are definitely handy and their 'Globe' bar situated two doors down is cheap and friendly.

However the hostle in general is very outdated and looks in need of a serious steam clean. My biggest complaint is in regards to the facilities, especially the toilet/shower room. The floor we were staying on had shower cubicles with a dodgy water supply which went between scalding hot and freezing cold with no happy medium, there was also no place to put your clothing save for two hooks on the back of the door; not great at keeping your clothes dry! The disabled toilet/shower runs out into the main bathroom which has a drain in the middle of the bathroom, and poses a serious slip hazard! And as for the toilets there are only two on my floor, they are disgusting looking and I dread to think how often they actually get cleaned. The cherry on top would be that neither door has a lock of any sort, so people are very often trying to get into toilets already occupied!

Room Tip: If you're looking to stay at Base but want a good bathroom then, if you're female, I'd r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen-Shea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi Carmen,

Thanks for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the location and extra facilities we have. An on site travel desk and job centre allows us to give you guys everything you need for your trip in one place.

Since April we have had the time to close off each floor one by one and steam clean all the carpets and scrub the walls, we do this every year in low season to make sure that the rooms are fresh and new. We have also had the time to work with the building managers and other businesses in the building to sort out little maintenance problems, like the water sometimes changing temperature in the showers, obviously this is not acceptable. We haven’t had any problems since this, so we’re thinking it should be running perfectly from now on.

I hope you will come back and stay with us again, so you can see the improvements we’ve made recently.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Basic accom, basic food, basic bar. Nothing special. Stayed in Nomads in the way back through, much better!!! The staff were friendly but quite slow, it was really busy but they didn't seem to want to move any quicker.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi Hannah,

Sorry to hear that you think our hostel and bar are nothing special. Since November we have made vast improvements including opening the Balcony Bar for free BBQs for the new guests to meet each other. November is a fairly busy time, and all of our new staff have been trained on how to move the queue faster and more efficiently, as we know no one likes to wait in line!

Hopefully you will come stay with us again and see how it has improved.

Thanks for your review, helps us know where we’re going wrong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Well not the best experience iv had after 2 years of travelling, where do i start. The cherry on top was after being in the hostel for nearly 2 weeks they say are room was booked out so we had to move. We found out that there was 2 beds left in the whole hostel which we could have but because they was the last 2 they wanted to charge us $50 yes $50 instead of the usual $29. We decided to book elsewhere for obvious reasons for 1 night and asked about availability the next night which again we was told had been bumped up to $50 due to limited beds. To me this is a disgrace!

The people that work reception seem to be robots and show no empathy about any situation. We was booking on an extra few days and because I turned up at reception at 10:39am instead of 10:00am (which i went at the time but was to busy) we lost are key deposit of $20 each, even though we was booking in for a longer stint, again this is a disgrace!

On one of the floors i went for a shower and out of 3 showers only one was in use which was more like a firemans hose than a nice shower (level 4 male showers) and one of the showers just had tiles laying around everywhere

Few other bits that made it the worse hostel experience iv had and especially for the price you pay.

Plus points are location and amenities etc. but this just has a hotel feel rather than a hostel wanting to help out backpackers so please take my advice and avoid this establishment.

Stu

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stufinchmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi Stu,

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately sometimes rooms get booked out by groups and we have to move guests, this only happens very rarely but in these situations it is unavoidable, so I must extend our apologies for this.

I am also sorry for our receptionists charging you your full key deposits. This definitely should not have happened as we allow our guests to extend until 12pm for $10. All of our current staff know this and we have not had any other complaint of this happening, so I’m sure this was an isolated incident, but it is extremely bad that it happened to you.

As for the showers, we have had the time since your stay to get a new and improved maintenance team and pretty much all of our bathroom facilities have been renovated and are as good as new!

If you have any other questions or responses to my message please do not hesitate to get in touch with me on my email address virender.sehgal@stayatbase.com.

Regards

Virender Sehgal
Acting General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Host...
#69 of 131 in Auckland Central
609 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 131 in Auckland Central
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#56 of 131 in Auckland Central
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#15 of 131 in Auckland Central
250 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#30 of 131 in Auckland Central
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#20 of 131 in Auckland Central
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Auckland Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Address: 229 Queen St | Cnr Queen St. & Darby, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £16 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Base Auckland Central Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Base Backpacker Auckland is located in the heart of Auckland city, less than 5 minutes walk to everywhere. We have fun working here so we know you'll have fun staying in our hostel. Former ACB, Base Auckland hostel is located in the heart of the city - central to shops, cafes, museums, Sky tower and only a few minutes walk to train, bus and ferry terminals and Vector Arena. The airport bus (Airbus) stops right outside our door! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Base Auckland Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Auckland Central Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Base Auckland Central Backpackers New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing