We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average start” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Ranked #62 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average start”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Base was my first destination in Auckland once I arrived in New Zealand. The location is awesome, can't argue against that. Just when you arrive and are looking for first orientation you might be better with some more familiar hostels, but that's up to everybody's preferences.
The hostel is huge and so there are heaps of people, so you are actually never on your own. But in fact the atmosphere in the lounge is more like a waiting hall than anything else but suppose it is what you make out of it.

In my opinion it was just a bit too dirty and unfortunate that you can't open any windows unless you stay in a windowless room. You can't even control the air-condition in the rooms separately which was inconvenient several times.

However the staff was always friendly and helpful and I felt comfortable with any requests I had, just not Job Search New Zealand. I do not know if something's changed but it wasn't helpful at all and more a waste of money as you can get all necessary documents easily on your own. Jobs were only available on Facebook, so no working database to place people somewhere, you had to reply to Facebook posts. Not what I am looking for, when paying a membership fee. Hopefully that changed.

I recommend this hostel to people with short stays (1-2 nights), maybe I just stayed too long. :) (9 nights)

Room Tip: Get a room on higher floors (i.e. 9) - only 6 bed dorms and you'll have a nice view too. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virender S, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your feedback, It is really valuable for us as it helps us identify those areas in which we can improve.

Glad you enjoyed the location, we are blessed with a central situation close and easily accessible to the whole city. We have a big hostel so there is of course always people to hang out with! I am disappointed, however, that you were not satisfied with the lounge room. We have plenty of comfy sofas and a pool table, and we have recently installed a big screen TV for everyone to watch sports and movies on those chill days.

Housekeeping works very hard to keep the cleanliness up to hotel standards, and we are currently going through the floors one by one spring cleaning while it’s quiet. As for the air conditioning, it is unfortunately centrally controlled by the building owners, as we share the building with other businesses. We have been liaising with them regarding this and now believe we have reached a happy medium, and everyone seems to be satisfied with the temperature at the moment. We will of course change this throughout the year according to the weather.

Job Search is a very popular service, and we have had some great success stories especially in the last six months or so. The Facebook page is a great way to view some of the work available, but we do have our own website as well with plenty more listings on it. You get a link to this online jobs database when you sign up. The beauty of the Job Search package also is that you can call or email any time no matter where you are in New Zealand and we will should have a hook up there, and if not we’ll try as hard as we can to find one for you.

I hope you will come stay with us again, and we can make sure you get the full base experience!

Thanks again for the Review. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    172
    215
    146
    165
See reviews for
21
181
288
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 days whilst in Auckland and it was a great stay. Remember to pass by their travel booth on 3rd floor next to reception. Josh the travel manager is awesome and will help you plan your trip in NZ. Also, most bookings comes with a discount!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesperdkboh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi Jesper,

Thanks for your review. Really happy you found everything you needed here, the staff really enjoy their jobs so they'll be glad to know you liked our place so much.

Hopefully see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Staff were really friendly and nice, wifi was pretty good although you have to pay 12 bucks for the week, but that's pretty much everywhere. I really hated this hostel and actually moved to nomads when I could, the showers are the worst, everything gets soaked in there. The only good thing is it has a hair dryer.
I stayed in the female dorm which was okay, you get hair straightners and a towel and there's a lounge too, but there was no window in my room which was the worst, it was like a coffin! So if to stay there ask for a room with a window.

But my advice would be to go elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi Kate,

Thanks for your review; this kind of feedback is really helpful for us. I am happy to hear that you thought our staff were friendly and nice, we pride ourselves on the customer service side of things to so this is pleasing. We do try to make the sanctuary female only rooms as nice and care free as possible, so it’s nice to know that you enjoyed what we provided, although the room was not to your satisfaction. Unfortunately some rooms are situated on the inside of the building, however we do also have sanctuary rooms with great views of Queen Street, and we are always happy to swap your room if you don’t like it. The shower issue seems to be a recurring complaint, and it is top of our maintenance team’s list to look at all the bathrooms in the hostel and get them sorted.

I am sorry to hear that you would rather go somewhere else, I urge you to come stay with us again soon, and we will make sure you get the full sanctuary experience as it should be!

Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Base Auckland is the worst hostel i had the pleasure of staying in, in the whole of new zealand including other bases.

I stayed on the floor with the individual sheds/huts/wendy house (your choice) all built on what seems to have been an old office floor and stretched out over the shopping precent under base.
No window, no real air or light, super noisy, disgusting bathrooms and rooms so small its like a prison cell. My bed was also missing linen and i was put in a room with some very long timers such as students who had been in there over a year. Beds creak like mad, pillows arent worth the time or effort, carpets are stained and the aircon is diabolical.

For what base charge you can stay somewhere much better elsewhere- avoid like the plague and get out of the CBD for nicer accomodation.

On the positive side the bar is cheap if you catch happy hour and all of the other bases i have stayed in are better. This is the worst in the country.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, get as high up as possible to avoid the bar noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amy_sugar_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virender S, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Amy,

Thanks for your feedback, this is valuable to us as it lets us know where we are going wrong.

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay, we obviously dropped the ball on this one.

We do try to keep all long termers in one section, so you should have been placed elsewhere in the hostel if you were just staying a few nights. Reception staff are always happy to move you to a better room if you are unhappy, but they should have seen this when you checked in, so apologies for that. We will look into the mistake and make sure that all staff are correctly trained on this.

We are currently going through every floor one by one while it’s quiet and doing some spring cleaning, we do this every year. This is obviously a necessary procedure and it means the hostel is nice and fresh for the busy periods. It appears that we hadn’t got around to your floor yet, but since you stayed most floors have been completed. Air conditioning issues have also been sorted, our maintenance team have been working closely with the building managers to find a happy medium, and we think this has been achieved now.

I do hope you will give us another chance to show you the proper Base experience now that general improvements have been made.

Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The location of this hostel is excellent and its right on queens street and next to some good bars. The hostel itself is secure with an elevator to get in and all lockers in the room. Unfortunately the room is dirty and the bathrooms are disgusting! Only 1 of 3 showers works and the doors are broken on all of them, there are holes in the bedroom ceiling and in the toilets. The lighting in the room is like an office and very intense. The kitchen is a large size which is good and the lounge area is pretty cool. I think this hostel is just too big that the staff here cannot maintain it properly, however for a backpacker who just needs a place to sleep it is cheap and a bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi Olly,

Glad you enjoyed our social areas and felt secure in the hostel. I must apologise if you found the rooms dirty, our housekeeping team do work very hard, but obviously they let you down while you were here. We are currently in the process of renovating all the bathrooms in the hostel now that we have the time to do so in low season, so hopefully you’ll come back and stay with us so we can show you the improvements!

Thanks for your feedback, this always helps us see the areas in which we need to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osnabruck, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

It's not the best hostel. But as a lot of people start traveling in auckland and get booked into the base hostel from their organisations it's really good to meet other "newbies".
Moreover it's very central. Post shop, bank and IEP are in the near area.

Room Tip: The higher the level the better because of the noise form the Pub next to the Hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi,

Glad to hear that you thought Base was a good place to start. We do indeed have a lot of “newbies” coming through at Base, and we try and give them everything they need for their trip, we have a Travel Desk and a Job Centre so hopefully you can find everything without leaving the hostel!

You say it is not the best hostel, is there anything in particular you thought was bad? Please let us know, as feedback like this allows us to improve in those areas that we might be lacking a little bit.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Apart from it's fantastic location on Queen St there isn't much to this hostel. Set on the 3rd floor of a massive building it doesn't really feel like a backpackers hostel, and the dorm rooms are tiny. Bathrooms are ok. Wifi was average. Positives? Well as I say good location, and staff were pretty helpful. Probably would go somewhere else next time however.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bruno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Bruno,

Thanks for your feedback. I am glad to hear you like our location and our staff were helpful, they do love their jobs. We have made a bunch of changes to make the place feel more homely including free BBQ for everyone to meet each other. Do you have any suggestions about how to make it a better backpackers? Please let us know, feedback like this is great for us to provide a better service for you guys.

If you can think of anything please email us at auckland@stayatbase.com.

Regards,

Virender.
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
0.3 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#49 of 107 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#20 of 107 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#17 of 107 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 107 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Auckland Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Property: Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Address: 229 Queen St | Cnr Queen St. & Darby, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Base Auckland Central Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Base Backpacker Auckland is located in the heart of Auckland city, less than 5 minutes walk to everywhere. We have fun working here so we know you'll have fun staying in our hostel. Former ACB, Base Auckland hostel is located in the heart of the city - central to shops, cafes, museums, Sky tower and only a few minutes walk to train, bus and ferry terminals and Vector Arena. The airport bus (Airbus) stops right outside our door! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Base Auckland Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Auckland Central Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Base Auckland Central Backpackers New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing