We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Ranked #62 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
1 review
“Simple and clean”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The room is bright and clean. Especially the bedzheet and linen are white.
The location is good. Easy access to the attraction place. The sky tower is just at the next street.
The reception is very helpful And cheerful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virender S, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the review.

Glad to know you enjoyed your stay. We have a great location in the centre of the city, and our housekeeping team works really hard to make sure everything is in tip top condition for you guys.’

The reception staff take great pride in their customer service, so they’ll be happy to hear of your review.

Thanks and hope to see you again soon 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    185
    227
    157
    180
See reviews for
25
190
310
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Small, two bunk room quite far from the toilets and showers (communal for the entire floor). Seems to be an office block. The beds were clean but uncomfortable and small. Bring an extension cable - only a couple of sockets, which won't reach the top. They did have under bed lockers which were useful, but that was about it. Have to pay for wifi per device for 24 hours. Location was pretty good. No windows which made it extremely dark when the light was off (annoying if you are arriving late to sleeping people and you can barely see which bunks are free).

Room Tip: Free wifi across the road in public library and Starbucks. Open until midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeyworkSioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virender S, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the feedback, comments like this are very useful.

Sorry the room wasn’t completely satisfying for you. The maintenance crew are currently looking into ways of getting more sockets in the rooms so it’s a little easier for you guys. We are of course always happy to put you in a different room if you come see our reception staff.

We use an outside company for our wifi, which means the service and maintenance of the Internet connection is in top shape, compared to places where it might be free. It is for this reason that the vast majority of hostels in New Zealand will charge a small fee for using. Here at Base Auckland you get the rest of the week free if you connect for 3 days.

Our budget room option is the cheapest available because these rooms do not have windows due to their situation on the inside of the building. We do however have 8, 6 and 4 bed dorms with great views of Queen Street and the Sky Tower for just a dollar or two extra.

Thanks for your feedback, it’s great that we get to know about problems like these.

Hopefully you will come stay with us again and we can provide you with a great experience!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This place was awesome! The staff were super friendly and real helpful! Place was real clean and had great people staying here! The bar was crazy cool, had some amazing nights in this place that ill never forget :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virender S, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Matthew,

Thanks so much for your review! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

The bar is a popular place for the guests to go and meet new people, as I’m sure you found out. The staff love their jobs here, so it’s great that they made it an excellent stay for you!

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Kind, friendly receptionists, management, cafe', maintenance & house keeping staff. : )
Excellent value for money!
Lovely relaxing funky pink Sanctuary with recently rennovated lounge which is very relaxing. Fabulous rennovations have taken place here!!
Nice & clean.

Room Tip: To choose a good room, travellers could take a look at a room before deciding if they want to book i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona_alice13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virender S, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Fiona,

Thanks so much!

Glad to know our staff make you feel welcome, we all enjoy our jobs here!

The sanctuary is an area we have worked a lot on to make it as comfortable and homely as possible for all those who choose to stay in the female only floor.

Hope to see you again soon!:)

V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stay here for more than a week. Totally enjoyed the clean room and kitchen. The location is very near Countdown supermatket and lots of interesting places in Aucklamd CBD. Wifi connection is one of the cheapest in town, just $12 per week. Will book again in the future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 696linhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virender S, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi,

Thanks so much for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, our housekeeping team work very hard to make sure the place is in top shape for everyone, and yes we are lucky enough to be placed right in the centre of town!

Hope to see you again soon.

V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is my 4th time staying here in the 9 months i have been in the country. I Arrived in October and was put into a 4 share dorm on the 6th floor and was fantastic could not fault it. Staff were attentive, facilities were being upgraded and you could see some results already. my other 2 stays Weren't as great but i assumed it was due to me coming in busy times.
This time however is probably the worse stay i've had here and probably the worse stay ive had in New Zealand. I was put into 1125. basically its like a janitors closet. You cant see the floor once all 4 people with bags have checked in. I asked to be transferred to a room with more space as it turns out the others in that room were playing less than i was and i even paid more the have a better room! On that floor the bathroom was locked so assumed was out of order. The hallways of that block looked like the remnants of a market place with rubbish, dirty clothes and overflowing bins all over the place. The rooms weren't exactly clean either. i could see long hairs on my sheets. The laundry facilities were terrible. almost every drier was broken. paid 16 dollars to dry my clothes and still had wet. The internet clearly has issues as it took me 20 minutes to log into system and only works in certain parts of the building. I had full bars in my room yet no response. I found this odd considering its a city centre location I don't know what has happened to this place it was great in october but now feels run down and not cared for! will not be staying here again

Room Tip: get a room on the 6th floor
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank admin_bandidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virender S, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
HI,
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your previous stays, however it seems that we let you down on this particular one, apologies for that. Sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the room, we are of course always glad to change your room if you are not happy, and it looks like that is what we did this time. Our hostel is spread across two buildings so in some areas the rooms vary slightly in size, even though there is the same amount of beds, but we do try our hardest to make them all as spacious as possible. Price variances often occur when people book at different times through different travel agents, but we will generally match travel agent prices when you book at the desk if you can show us that the bed is on sale cheaper with an independent agent.

Our maintenance team has grown and is very busy improving facilities including bathrooms, but if the bathrooms are ever out of order we always put up signs warning you guys. Which floor were you moved to? It would be helpful for us to check this out if there is some kind of unknown problem with this bathroom. Furthermore, our housekeeping team work very hard around the clock to maintain the highest of standards of cleanliness and tidiness in the hotel, they have a strict code to which they must adhere. Unfortunately some guests are messy, but we are proud of our housekeeping staff who are always on the case very quickly. Just as with the room, we are also happy to provide new bedding if there is ever a problem with this.

Our laundry services are provided by a separate company, with whom we have a good relationship. If there is ever problems with the machines we are able to call them out to fix it, and they usually respond in an efficient manner. There are of course hundreds of guests in our hostel, so we need to make sure our laundry is in top condition. Similarly, our Internet service is provided by Global Gossip, a reputable Internet provider across Austalia and New Zealand, and they are always on hand to help us out. Just last week they came and replaced our routers, which was probably a direct result of the trouble you were having when you were here.

Thanks so much for you review, feedback like this helps us pick out the areas in which we need to improve, to make the experience better for everyone.

Please get back to me if you wish to discuss anything further in response to what I’ve said here, my email address is virender.sehgal@stayatbase.com

Thanks again.

V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Antofagasta, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Base was our first home in New Zealand, we arrive early in the morning and they were very nice to us. What we like the most were location, is in the middle of everything and the staff, they were always keen in to help and answer all our doubts. The rooms very good and the bathrooms clean, but the kitchen sometimes was full of people, so you have to wait to cook, but was great anyway. 100% recommended!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virender S, Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Base Auckland for your accommodation. I am happy to hear your feedback on us. Your reviews and suggestions are important to us. I understand you view on our kitchen unfortunately we have one large kitchen for all of our guests therefore it is difficult for us to control the traffic in our kitchen. However we have taken your point and looking into factors to impress you more on your next visit. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Attic Backpackers
Attic Backpackers
#4 of 118 in Auckland
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
0.3 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#54 of 118 in Auckland
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 118 in Auckland
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#14 of 118 in Auckland
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#18 of 118 in Auckland
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Auckland Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Property: Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Address: 229 Queen St | Cnr Queen St. & Darby, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Base Auckland Central Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Base Backpacker Auckland is located in the heart of Auckland city, less than 5 minutes walk to everywhere. We have fun working here so we know you'll have fun staying in our hostel. Former ACB, Base Auckland hostel is located in the heart of the city - central to shops, cafes, museums, Sky tower and only a few minutes walk to train, bus and ferry terminals and Vector Arena. The airport bus (Airbus) stops right outside our door! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Base Auckland Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Auckland Central Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Base Auckland Central Backpackers New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing