We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My stay at base was great! Not only the staff was very niceand helpful(especially Varun who showed me around and helped me with everything i needed) but it is also a good place to start your working holiday.
I had lots of fun there!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank luisa_luisa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virender S, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi Luisa,

Thanks for your review.

Happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, Varun will be pleased to know that you appreciated his help!

We have everything a new backpacker needs to kick start their working holiday, accommodation, the JobSearch New Zealand on site working holiday recruitment agency and Base Travel desk for all your activities, transport and accommodation throughout New Zealand. And of course 3 great bars to meet fellow travellers and have some good times!

Glad you had fun, hopefully you’ll come stay with us again soon.

V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I started my working holiday in base Auckland which is in very good and convenient location! Reception is cheerful and helpful. Room and bathroom are very clean. But some rooms without window which seems like a suitcase. And the water temperature of shower was not stable which means hot water in a few minutes then cold water in a few minutes, it's really annoying. Good starting with working holiday and traveling cos you can meet people from all over the world that is really cool!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Vicky Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virender S, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi Vicky,

Thanks for the review.

It’s nice to hear that this was a great place to start your working holiday, we have a job centre and travel agent inside the hostel, so we can pretty much cover all your needs!

The receptionists love their jobs so it’s good to know they were their cheerful selves as usual, and the housekeeping team works very hard to maintain the highest standards of cleanliness.

I must apologise about the water problem during your stay. Since January we have expanded our maintenance team and a lot more is getting done. The water problem is now a thing of the past thankfully, and we’ve also made various other improvements around the place while it’s been relatively quiet.

I do hope you will come and stay with us here at Base Auckland again sometime soon, update us on your trip and see all the new improvements we’ve made.

Thanks again.

V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed many time in this hostel when I was in Auckland. I got all the times deals in the internet so it was the cheapest one and the price for that what I got was ok. The location is very good, it's in the middle of Queen-Street. The hostel is very big and what I did not like was, that there was not really a chill out area in the hostel. It was also not allowed to do some pre trink. The rooms were ok, but there was a smell in the whole hostel I cannot describe. What was not ok, was the cleaniless of the bathrooms, sometimes it was very disgusting in there. The security level is very good, there are big lockers under the beds. The staff is ok, but don't forget to check out on time, if you are a little bit to late, the hold your fund of the keycard. When I was here it was 20 NZD which is very expensive in my opinion. There is a nice backpacker bar in the basement of the hostel. I just would stay here again when if I get a good deal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luggel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virender S, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi,

Thanks for your review, it helps us see the areas in which we need to improve to give everyone the nest possible experience here at Base Auckland.

We are blessed with a central location, and we have a number of great deals on offer right now, so value for money is definitely something we can provide.

I am sorry to hear you did not find the chill out lounge to your satisfaction. The central chill out area is usually a very popular place for people to meet new people and have a chat, play pool or just lie on our big comfortable sofas. Since you stayed we have also installed a big screen TV, so hopefully you’ll come back and see it for yourself.

It is disappointing that there was a smell through the hostel when you were here, in the last 6 months we have expanded our housekeeping and maintenance team in order to more efficiently deal with problems such as these, and have closed each floor off one by one to get some rigorous spring cleaning done. This seems to have been a success, as all our recent guests have enjoyed the freshness of the rooms and communal areas.

It is good to know that you made use of the locker facilities in the dorm rooms, we also have a secure luggage storage room for when you check out and wish to leave your luggage.

The key deposit is a standard procedure in most hostels, however I am sorry you found it expensive. The reason we require people to check out by 10am is so that we can get the rooms ready for new guests checking in at 1pm. This in between time allows our hard working housekeeping team to go through all the rooms and make them nice and fresh. Although we have the biggest backpacker hostel in NZ, we still have the same amount of time as most other smaller hostels to do this.

Glad you enjoyed the bar, we have some great drinks deals, our Globe Bar is the only bar in Auckland that provides $3 drinks 7 days a week. Happy hour is 8pm-10pm, so hopefully you’ll come back and we can give you the proper Base Auckland experience 

Thanks again for your feedback, it is a great help.
V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just the place to start your NZ working holiday! Great location and loads of help to get you started! The rooms are nice and clean and the kitchen is big! Great atmosphere, with the staff always willing to help you out or point you in the right direction of someone who can.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_bradley_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virender S, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Hi,

Thanks so much for your review. So happy to hear that you enjoyed all the facilities we have on offer.

We try to make it so you guys don’t have to go anywhere else for anything, which is why we have a Base Travel desk, JobSearch New Zealand office and three different bars on site!

Hopefully we’ll see you again some time soon.

Thanks again.

V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

So, i have stayed at Base Auckland for about two months and literally this place has blown my mind. Can't get over the amazing facilities this place has and all of the incredible staff. Definitally the place to stay every time i visit Auckland :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roxas242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virender S, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Hi,

Thanks for the review! So glad you enjoy staying here and like the facilities.

Hopefully see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The room is bright and clean. Especially the bedzheet and linen are white.
The location is good. Easy access to the attraction place. The sky tower is just at the next street.
The reception is very helpful And cheerful.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virender S, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi,

Thanks for the review.

Glad to know you enjoyed your stay. We have a great location in the centre of the city, and our housekeeping team works really hard to make sure everything is in tip top condition for you guys.’

The reception staff take great pride in their customer service, so they’ll be happy to hear of your review.

Thanks and hope to see you again soon 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Small, two bunk room quite far from the toilets and showers (communal for the entire floor). Seems to be an office block. The beds were clean but uncomfortable and small. Bring an extension cable - only a couple of sockets, which won't reach the top. They did have under bed lockers which were useful, but that was about it. Have to pay for wifi per device for 24 hours. Location was pretty good. No windows which made it extremely dark when the light was off (annoying if you are arriving late to sleeping people and you can barely see which bunks are free).

Room Tip: Free wifi across the road in public library and Starbucks. Open until midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeyworkSioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virender S, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi,

Thanks for the feedback, comments like this are very useful.

Sorry the room wasn’t completely satisfying for you. The maintenance crew are currently looking into ways of getting more sockets in the rooms so it’s a little easier for you guys. We are of course always happy to put you in a different room if you come see our reception staff.

We use an outside company for our wifi, which means the service and maintenance of the Internet connection is in top shape, compared to places where it might be free. It is for this reason that the vast majority of hostels in New Zealand will charge a small fee for using. Here at Base Auckland you get the rest of the week free if you connect for 3 days.

Our budget room option is the cheapest available because these rooms do not have windows due to their situation on the inside of the building. We do however have 8, 6 and 4 bed dorms with great views of Queen Street and the Sky Tower for just a dollar or two extra.

Thanks for your feedback, it’s great that we get to know about problems like these.

Hopefully you will come stay with us again and we can provide you with a great experience!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Host...
#69 of 131 in Auckland Central
628 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 131 in Auckland Central
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#55 of 131 in Auckland Central
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#30 of 131 in Auckland Central
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#14 of 131 in Auckland Central
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#20 of 131 in Auckland Central
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Auckland Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Address: 229 Queen St | Cnr Queen St. & Darby, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £16 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Base Auckland Central Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Base Backpacker Auckland is located in the heart of Auckland city, less than 5 minutes walk to everywhere. We have fun working here so we know you'll have fun staying in our hostel. Former ACB, Base Auckland hostel is located in the heart of the city - central to shops, cafes, museums, Sky tower and only a few minutes walk to train, bus and ferry terminals and Vector Arena. The airport bus (Airbus) stops right outside our door! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Base Auckland Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Auckland Central Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Base Auckland Central Backpackers New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing