We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location was good, that was it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Ranked #62 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location was good, that was it”
Reviewed 3 September 2009

I arrived on a Thursday night. My first room initially didn't have a bed made. I switched rooms and it was a bad choice. Thursday night was ok, had to leave because the kids were playing a drinking game. Friday was horrible. People were loud, drunk and I think were making out in the bed next to me. Terrible end of my stay in NZ.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lafortress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    176
    219
    151
    172
See reviews for
21
184
300
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

stayed at base in the sanctuary girls only section. showers & common lounges could have been cleaner, but rooms were warm & welcoming. very social atmosphere, especially at night. great service and amenities. the bar downstairs is packed and you get great specials staying at base. perfect location in auckland. tons of computers at global gossip inside.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jendres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poitiers, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2009

rooms were ok
kitchen was crap
crazy security cards
good location
massive hostel not my style, but i had a good time there

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lessthanrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

Booked this travelling alone and nearly 50 so I felt really old amongst the rest of the travellers there. Room was clean and tidy, had fridge and en-suite, though you had to keep the shower tap pressed in to keep the water running??? The place is bang in the centre of Auckland, so if you don't mind hostels this place is Ok.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshmechanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2009

I chose to stay with Base Backpackers all around NZ north island because their website showed clean, safe backpackers in each area I was after and I know (having working the tourism industry) that what's shown in brochures and on websites are usually not what you get, but I felt it was totally trustworthy based on all of my NZ experiences.
Auckland was my first stop after hours in airports and on flights and I was glad to easily find it as I had never travelled alone nor backpacked before. Great location. I stayed in a Sanctuary room and it was fine. Not a huge room for 6 people but I had a bed, somewhere to put my suitcase and access to a shower, and that's fairly good for NZ$30 I think. I met lots of great people at this hostel - staff were great (reception was busy but they worked hard to service customers fast in every case) and of course my favourites were the bar staff - I kept them on their toes til the early hours on all nights I stayed. The people sharing my dorm were varied and changed nightly, but never had any trouble sleeping and bed and room was definitely clean. A room mate had trouble with the lift once and wasn't too impressed but hey, that's what makes travelling an experience. You can't always trust machinery! As a hostel, I can't pick faults. Kitchen area is huge and well stocked with all that you need, and made for a great first experience for both backpacking and for my future stays with Base hostels.

Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rose_Tasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2009

Base ACB is well located in the heart of Auckland, which was the appeal to us when we booked our private en-suite room. Not particularly cheap for a backpackers the room was priced in the region of NZ$90 per night.

After a long flight from the UK we were looking forward to showering, changing and getting some air, we did not achieve any of this...To get into the building we had to first get through the thick cloud of passive smoke, not pleasant. The reception is large, but with only 2 staff on duty and a queue the check-in process was slow and inefficient.

Both the room and en-suite were small and dark and in need of refurbishment. The grout and shower curtain were mouldy, the bedding was stained and peppered with cigarette burns, the carpet was stained and hadn't been vacuumed recently and the sole chair in the room had been picked at by previous guests leaving a gaping wound of exposed foam.

Two hours after we checked we were back in reception, this time to check out. The check out process was no quicker than check in and because we hadn't booked directly with ACB we were not entitled to a refund in any part. The staff didn't query our premature departure, which isn't professional. We secured a one bed suite in nearby Chiffley Suites for a mere NZ$30 more per night - see separate review.

The accommodation is probably suitable for younger backackers (i.e. school leavers) but it certainly wasn't suitable for us. I travel regularly on business and maintain that cleanliness and professionalism ought never to be compromised, no matter how budget the accommodation; Base ACB did not meet the mark.

  • Liked — Location central to main sights - Sky Tower and Harbour.
  • Disliked — Urgently in need of refurbishment and staff training.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mckaykarenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2008

When my partner and I arrived we were told that there was someone staying in our room. I let the front desk know over the phone that my partner and I would be arriving at 3am. Despite this forewarning, our room was given away. We then asked about other places we could stay. The people at the front desk gave us no help. Their answer was, “there are lots of places around”. With no map, my partner and I were walking around the city at 3am looking for another cheap place to stay. Luckily, we found another great place for an extra $20 a night. We then headed back to ACB and stayed with them for the other 2 days. The ensuite room was so small. Very expense for the price. The previous hotel we stayed at was 5 times the size for only an extra $20! The showers provide you with a quick burst of water and you have to keep pushing the button to get more water. The place was dirty, staff were rude, and the rooms were very small. Too expensive and not worth your time.

  • Disliked — Size of the room
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Karasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 66 in Auckland
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
0.5 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#20 of 108 in Auckland
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#50 of 108 in Auckland
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#17 of 108 in Auckland
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jucy Snooze
Jucy Snooze
#11 of 52 in Auckland
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Auckland Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Property: Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Address: 229 Queen St | Cnr Queen St. & Darby, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Base Auckland Central Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Base Backpacker Auckland is located in the heart of Auckland city, less than 5 minutes walk to everywhere. We have fun working here so we know you'll have fun staying in our hostel. Former ACB, Base Auckland hostel is located in the heart of the city - central to shops, cafes, museums, Sky tower and only a few minutes walk to train, bus and ferry terminals and Vector Arena. The airport bus (Airbus) stops right outside our door! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Auckland Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Auckland Central Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Base Auckland Central Backpackers New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing