We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar, great kitchen, big hostel, busy...busy...busy...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Reviewed 17 September 2010

I stayed 3 nights in June 2010 and overall had a good experience. When I first walked into the lobby level there was a sea of people trying to check in. It looked like a bunch of wild chickens attacking the counter. Completely disorganized and rude staff. The good: Perfect location, huge fully equiped kitchen, TV rooms, lounge area, and Globe Bar right downstairs. The rooms were just ok. The bad: I had a top bunk and the mattress was sunken in the middle. Ugh! Most of the front desk staff was just plain rude. Just unhappy unfriendly people. Overall a good stay, met some amazing people, and made some great memories at Globe. Check it out!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank losangeles_jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (866)
There are newer reviews for Base Auckland Central Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

663 - 669 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2010

We arrived Auckland airport in late night. By the time we rushed to Base Auckland, it has passed midnight. The main door was locked We tried to look for intercom or alternate entrance, we just couldn't find it in the dark, messy street. While we waiting outside, some nice hostel guests whom having the key passed by, and helped us open the main door.

We booked the room one month ago, and were arranged to stay in a four-beds dorm at the corner. The room is so small, the space is only allowed 2 person to pack/unpack their luggages at the same time. The worst part is the upper beds are full of dust! The dust made my friend kept coughing when she was on the bed. We couldn't really get into sleep everynight until 2 to 3am, because our room can clearly hear the noise from the bars around the hostel.

The shower cubicles are ditry. On the day we're leaving, the rubbish we've seen 2 days ago still laying at the same location, untouched .

We are so disappointed with Base, and thought of cancel all our booking with Base in our next destination. But later on, we found that Base Taupo and Christchurch are so well-maintained and clean. Especially Base Taopo. Other hostels like YHA and Nomads are all up to standard. I hope Base Auckland can review their standard, at least having the same standard like other Base branches do.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetAs058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed here on our first day in New Zealand, we had just had a very long flight from
the UK so we were knackered. We had booked a Double ensuite room (which was basic
but very nice and had everything you would expect from a hostel). One of the things that
attracted us to this hostel was its central location (which is great) however, it meant that
the room was very noisy and after having little sleep on our flight over, we then had a very
broken nights sleep in this hostel. Iʼd recommend this place to someone looking for a great location but not to anyone who is a light sleeper as the street noise was a bit too much.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
Thank steffipercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

I stayed at Base Auckland for a period of three nights, and found it an acceptable experience.

It is a VERY large facility, so expect to see large numbers of people trooping in and out making it somewhat noisy if you're staying on the same floor as the reception. This isn't helped by the fact that a lot of travellers are coming in from the bsar downstairs, making for a loud sleepless night.

That said, the location of this pace is brilliant. Right on queen St with easy access to tourist shuttles, bus services, retaurants, shops and any other requirements. A very convenient base from which to explore the city, especially on foot.

The staff are, by and large, very helpful and informative, although a bit disinterested as the night wears on (I had to wait/call out for 2 minutes before a girl at the receptionist stopped chatting with her colleague to ask me what I needed!). They offers very good tourist deals with local operators, and are worth checking out. The internet facilities and common area on the main floor are very large, spacious and welcoming as well.

The room are fairly clean with linen and towels but, as mentioned earlier, the noise makes it difficut to get a good night's rest.

Overall, I would recommend Base if convenience of location and pricing are more important considerations for you than peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer_Kaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

The staff at the front desk are extremely rude (the rudest I have seen on a one year RTW trip). The bathrooms are very dirty and weren't cleaned in the two days we slept there. This in not for someone older than 25... the place is packed with a crowd that is not older than 25, partying all the time, getting drunk, smoking. This is a loud hostel, dirty, and with no ventilation. But again, the worst thing it has is the staff at the front desk....

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmhbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

My stay in Base Backpackers in Auckland was plesent. I felt the staff where friendly and helpful. The internet facilities are good and the speed was fast. Room was ok but it seemed abit cramped with four people in there. The only problem I had was with the shower, it was push button and went from cold to very hot all the time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boondog1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We stayed in this hostel for a few days. First in a standard double room what means 3m by 3m without windows. We upgraded this to a 92 dollar deluxe room. You really pay to much for what you get. I was not sure if the linnen of the bed was clean at all..... it was a bit smelly, probably because there are no opening windows. The location was very good en it will be a nice hostel if you are searching for work or tours. The nights were noisy even on the reception floor and the kitchen was to small for such a big hotel. (the kitchen is also really dirty... the soap is not working so nobody does the dishes).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judithjahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 67 in Auckland Central
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Host...
#67 of 129 in Auckland Central
572 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 129 in Auckland Central
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#54 of 129 in Auckland Central
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#21 of 129 in Auckland Central
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#19 of 129 in Auckland Central
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Auckland Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Address: 229 Queen St | Cnr Queen St. & Darby, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £16 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Base Auckland Central Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Base Backpacker Auckland is located in the heart of Auckland city, less than 5 minutes walk to everywhere. We have fun working here so we know you'll have fun staying in our hostel. Former ACB, Base Auckland hostel is located in the heart of the city - central to shops, cafes, museums, Sky tower and only a few minutes walk to train, bus and ferry terminals and Vector Arena. The airport bus (Airbus) stops right outside our door! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Base Auckland Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Auckland Central Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Base Auckland Central Backpackers New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing