We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok...”
Review of YHA Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Auckland City
Ranked #22 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was ok...”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This hostel was ok. It was quite basic, the reception staff were helpful and facilities were average in terms of cleanliness. The hostel was based at the top of a very steep hill, so not good for the unfit or those with bad knees. On the plus side, it was quiet, so you can catch up from any jet lag. Base backpackers was much more modern and more central for the same price.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    85
    79
    41
    17
See reviews for
10
60
114
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

It's location (although just off the main road into the city) is on a steep junction crossroads. Five floors up and the traffic noise is accentuated by the high rise buildings surrounding the hostel. It's used as students digs for the nearby Uni but it's the weekend local partygoers/pub crowd that you'll hear most above the traffic noise! I was spoilt somewhat having stayed at the YMCA which was a haven of peace and tranquility! I'm going to try the Auckland International Hostel just to see if that is a better place (it's 2 minutes walk away) .. It certainly can't be any noisier. In my 8 weeks of hosteling in NZ this gave the least sleep. Thankfully after 2 days the constant rap music in the dining room halted. Would I stay again .. A definate NO!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelscout123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in hostles all over New Zealand I am not quite sure what all the negativity is about this place. For budget accomodation in a big city this is a good place. Yes they would need more toilet facilities if the place was full but otherwise the place is very good. Staff are very friendly and helpful, the kitchen and dining facilities are excellent and the hill not as bad as everyone makes out - NZ is a hilly country remember!
As for street noise well the only way you will avoid it is paying a lot more money to stay in a place with AC or staying in the suburbs

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjafri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanchanaburi, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I normally stay somewhere else during my time in Auckland but a friend of mine recommended this place to me so I thought I’d give it a try. The staff was very helpful with all my questions answered and they seemed to know allot about Auckland. I had only two issues with the place. Since I’m a tall person I wasn't impressed with the size of the small showers. The second issue is something that everybody I spoke to hates. You have to walk up a pretty big hill in order to get to the place. So if you’re carrying a backpack, it’s a work out and a half. Other than those two issues, it’s pretty decently located hostel with a knowledgeable staff and a nice atmosphere. If your tall and don’t want to walk up a big hill then I’d recommend staying downtown.

Archie S. Ezekiel
Mr.Canadian.Traveler

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCanadianTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

For some reason, I was awoken after 1am by the sound of glass shards scrunching across the tarmac. "Could people be cleaning the remnants of broken glass bottles at this time?" I thought to myself. Laughter from some very loud people in a drunken stupor followed. More cleaning and glass scrunching was heard in the wee hours of daybreak. This was one of the less favourable YHAs I've stayed in NZ. No towels were provided. The twin room we stayed in was tiny and quite old. The beds sagged though they seemed clean. The toilets are near the lift (a plus- the lift) but are small one-person cubicles so it's not very convenient when shared among a couple of rooms. The hostel is located at the top of a slope and it took about 20 minutes to walk to the Skytower. Though it's not badly located, it isn't the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tseblevart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

We actually started off staying at the yha international just down the road, but need some slightly cheaper accommodation (Splashed out first couple of nights) and it was suggested we try this hostel which was cheaper and just a little further.
There were a couple of downsides, the first being there was the beast of a hill that you had to navigate everyday to reach it. It was a killer. Also only having one toilet and two showers per floor (although I have to say in a full weeks stay I only had to wait for a shower once....tip.....go for one early).
However, apart from that, in general I actually preferred this hostel to the yha international, contrary to what is expected from reviews for both.
The kitchen was huge with plenty of space to cook, the dining area was better laid out.
There was a lovely sun deck to sit out on and the staff moved between the two sites so you could have a chat with them and they were really helpful. Personally I'd recommend this over the yha international. Just prepare yourself for the hill climb :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamza82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Looked, felt, and smelled like my freshman dorm. The room was musty and cramped, and I could hear the not-so-savoury conversations going on outside at 2 in the morning. The front desk staff were absent a lot of the time and slow to help when they were there. One of two toilets in the male bathroom on the 2nd floor didn't work. You're better off at the International YHA down the street or any of numerous other hostels in Auckland.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#17 of 123 in Auckland
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 123 in Auckland
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
1.2 mi away
Bamber House Hostel
Bamber House Hostel
#2 of 123 in Auckland
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#14 of 123 in Auckland
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Auckland City

Property: YHA Auckland City
Address: cnr City Rd and Liverpool St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Auckland City is the ideal backpacker hostel to start or finish your New Zealand adventure. The hostel combines the excitement of the city with a safe and secure environment. Located at the top of Auckland’s Queen Street, this former hotel has backpacker accommodation comprising mainly twin and double rooms with some multi-share rooms and some of our rooms have views over Auckland city. There is a sun deck on the 3rd floor with a BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your YHA Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Yha Hotel Auckland Central
YHA Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing