We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YHA AUCKLAND INTERNATIONAL AN ABSOLUTE DISGRACE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Auckland International
Ranked #17 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Mudgee, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“YHA AUCKLAND INTERNATIONAL AN ABSOLUTE DISGRACE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We are members of YHA Australia and have been for many years. Of all the yha's we have stayed in this clearly and unambiguously takes first prize for being the WORST YHA we have ever stayed in. We stayed for 3 nights in February 2014 in a private twin room on the first floor. The bedding, sheets, pillows the worst we have ever experienced. The unrelentless stifling heat in our room and in the dining areas was appalling and unbearable. Through the night had to walk out onto the street for some fresh air. The lift was out of order for two days and had to lug bags up steep stairs. The shared showers were not cleaned for days and found a tampon on the floor which remained for two days together with sundry other empty packaging items. The whole place needs a revamp. It may have been ok in the 1960s but is very poor by modern YHA STANDARDS TODAY. The staff were friendly and helpful but appeared run off their feet. This is in a great central location that offers free off street parking which was one major reason we chose to stay BUT NEVER AGAIN. Do yourself a favour and avoid at all costs. THIS IS A REAL SHAME THERE ARE MANY WONDERFUL YHA's IN NEW ZEALAND BUT THIS IS CERTAINLY NOT ONE OF THEM AND AUCKLAND HAS SOME WONDERFUL SIGHTS TO SEE SUCH AS A HARBOUR CRUISE, TRIP TO DEVONPORT AND GREAT FREE NAVAL MUSEUM, EDAN PARK TOUR.

Room Tip: DONT GO THERE!!!!!! That is the best tip I can give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    103
    87
    14
    12
See reviews for
12
52
130
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here one night for a concert. We were not expecting much but were pleasantly surprised. Small room but extremely clean, with comfortable bed and great shower. Close to Queen St but very quiet at night - we were on 2nd floor at the back of the building. Very friendly staff. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candi2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

When I checked in at the required time of 2pm there was no sheet or pillow cover on my bed and I had to go back to reception to get it. That wasn't an issue. However, the mattresses are foam and probably 15 years old. I felt every wooden board that was under the mattress against my hips, ribs, shoulder, etc. I would have slept better on the floor or even the street. Will never go back. Worst bed in all of New Zealand.
The dorm room was for 5 people but there was no room for our bags. To tight to fit. Looks like they squeezed in the fifth bed to make for money.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

It's not full of character but this central yha is well run, clean and the staff are really helpful. After a 24 hour flight it's just what you need! A nice cafe is 30 seconds walk away for breakfast too

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed at this hostel two times. The first time they ask us to pay for two nights instead of one night. The receptionnist was not very competent. The bed are okay, the showers are hot. Most of the room have very small windows so it's dark. Convenient if you have a car to park or arrive late (24hours reception). It's cheap but the YHA Auckland city is cheaper for the same services.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassoulol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oki-gun, Shimane, Japan
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Thank you to Linda and the team for looking after our large group from Japan (my husband, his family, our friends). She helped us with room allocation, useful information etc. It was everyone's first time to stay in a YHA, but I know they all had fun staying in a dormitory room and meeting people from other countries. We will recommend the YHA to other friends and family who visit NZ.

Room Tip: If you want to meet other people from around the world, I recommend staying in a dorm room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolajones08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed at the YHA Auckland International twice during my stay.
The first time I was given a nice double room. But the second time I got a twin room although I had booked a double room again. This room was ok, too, though one of the beds was quite dirty.
The reception staff was sometimes quite unfriendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nici1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 65 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
0.5 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#20 of 108 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Auckland International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Auckland International

Property: YHA Auckland International
Address: 5 Turner Street | P.O. Box 68-149, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Auckland International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Auckland International is 5-star Qualmark rated, staffed 24 hours and offers excellent amenities. Backpacker accommodation includes small and large multishare rooms. Twin, double and ensuite rooms are also available. There is a large fully equipped kitchen as well as a spacious and relaxing lounge area with Sky TV and a pool table. Other amenities include gear and luggage storage, video library, stereo and a great book exchange make this backpacker hostel a complete facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your YHA Auckland International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland International Hostel-Yha Hotel Auckland Central
YHA Auckland International New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing