We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Ranked #14 of 54 Auckland B&B and Inns
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I've stayed at Bavaria many times over the past 7 years -chosen initially due to its location and proximity to work office, but always enjoyed regardless. Location also handy to Dominion Road Asian restaurants -including great Japanese-and a bit further to Mt Eden village.
You get what you pay for-and I think a bit more. Breakfast is plentiful [I've never tried the cooked version, happy with the cereals, fruit and toast.] Slept in most rooms, and whilst I have a couple of favourites, main thing is the beds have always been comfortable! And rooms have always felt clean and fresh. Lounge area is comfortable, and an opportunity to chat to other guests. Actually like not having a TV in the room! Hosts very hospitable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    73
    47
    15
    9
See reviews for
29
107
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the Bavaria. We are not "hotel" people so find this B and B
an excellent choice - close to the city, university and bus routes into the city or airport. We had an upstairs room with a very comfortable king size bed, the bathroom is small but how long do you stay in a bathroom? Downstairs has a large sitting room with TV and you can make coffee or tea at anytime. The Bavaria is situated in a quiet locality, it's clean and has an old world charm.
Nice outside area too. Our host was charming, conversation flowing whilst making breakfast for us. We would definitely recommend this B and B.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

A real home from home. We arrived at 7am from a long flight and were made very welcome in a beautiful and comfy lounge.
The rooms are individually decorated and we had the best night's sleep after three months travelling in South America.
Very good location on a quiet road.
A lovely experience.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a super balcony overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I was impressed with my stay at the Bavaria Bed & Breakfast. My room was clean, quiet and comfortable with an old world charm. The staff were friendly and happy to help with my queries. In particular I enjoyed the breakfasts. I would thoroughly recommend staying at the Bavaria Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianneNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUlrike, Owner at Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much value your company.
Your review is in line with our ratings at booking.com which is 9 out 10, wotif being 4.5 out 5 and venere being 9.7 out 10.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We have been regularly staying at the Bavaria for the past 20 years. We have always found the owners and staff to be very friendly and accommodating. This is a good, clean option it you are not after a superior quality stay (that's what hotels are for). As a B&B it ticks all the boxes. It is close the the city, has on site parking and within easy walk of Mt Eden shops and restaurants. (You can even walk into the city in half an hour or it's a short, cheap bus trip). Generally quiet and peaceful surroundings. Adequate facilities and communal lounge where we have met and chatted with people from all over the world. Breakfast is more than sufficient and services are available in the lounge, including TV.

Room Tip: We have found the upstairs rooms the best but the stairs are steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

This place is really crap! Small, smelly rooms, tiny bathrooms. I could not even bend over in the shower to clean my feet! No tv in your room. The breakfast is seriously meager, just a couple of eggs, 2 of the cheapest sausages you you get, a spoon full of baked beans from the can, 2 halves of one cherry tomato and 2 slices of gherkin! The eating area is full of flies. Staff unfriendly, unless you are a German of course! The biscuits in the lounge are the cheapest rocks you can buy. Someone even stole my left over dinner form the night before. I can understand why though! This place is shiete! Do yourself a favour and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere! Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUlrike, Owner at Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Randell,
We are very sorry that you did not like our place. However, throughout your stay, you never gave us any hint that you were very unhappy as you seemed so content at breakfast and we had some nice conversations together.
You obviously wanted to be booked into a flash 5 Star Hotel by your company but there must have been budjet constraints in your case. The jovial B&B experience is not for you!
It is sad that you did not appreciate and recognise the superior quality of our authentic German sausages made by a Swiss Butcher Factory.
We hope that at least you passed your training course with high marks.
With best regards
Ulrike Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I think previous reviewers have captured Bavaria fairly accurately.

We were in room 9 at the top of the stairs (which are somewhat narrow but not overly tall). I was surprised at how large the room was, although the bathroom was very small.

The place feels like a large B&B / quant hotel. It isn't new, flashy or fancy, but is close to the city, has off-street parking, and was well priced. They also have two cots/cribs available for guests.

I also want to note that Jetstar lost our portable cot and we were moving on from Bavaria after only one night. After checking their bookings for the following days, the staff were willing to let us borrow one of the cots (so long as we left a suitable deposit). This was a very kind act - that we ultimately didn't need - and one we greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercury_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
2.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 54 in Auckland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel

Property: Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Address: 83 Valley Road | Mt. Eden, Auckland 1024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming small hotel in quiet residential location, close to city with excellent connections to town, Mt. Eden summit with panoramic views easily accessible,immaculate quality rooms with en-suites, phones and internet access for your laptop,healthy breakfast buffet-style,complimentary tea/coffee/biscuits, sunny lounge and peaceful garden, good shopping, cafes, restaurants and internet cafes nearby,off-street parking, friendly and welcoming atmosphere.Ask us for advice on rental cars, tours etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing