We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Ranked #14 of 59 Auckland B&B and Inns
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the Bavaria for 8 nights in April. We only stayed there because it was close to our family and our first choice was booked. Our stay was very very nice. The owner, Eileen, could not have been any lovelier. She allowed our granddaughter to join us for breakfast several times and even added another bed so she could stay the night for a sleepover as a special treat. We were also permitted to leave our bags at the hotel in preparation for a late flight. If you want a small warm and comfortable hotel in a great location, the Bavaria is a great choice. We will be back in Auckland in a year and plan to return to see our new Kiwi friend, Eileen.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    75
    47
    15
    9
See reviews for
29
109
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed one night here as a couple .
It is a nice and homely b& b situated in a quiet street in a nice area of Auckland.
We paid $175 for the night and this included a free cooked breakfast.
Our room was well presented but there is no tv.
But the best thing about the b&b is Eileen ,the wonderful lady who owns it .
She makes everyone feel so welcome and has travelled the world extensively herself and speaks a few different languages.
We would stay here again.
Also it is only a few minutes to walk along to Dominion Road to a super market, a few bars & restaurants and shops .Or there is a 15 minute walk up to the Mt Eden Village that has bars & restaurants and a few shops as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very personal welcome. Cosy and clean room with en-suite bathroom. Little balcony. Very elaborate breakfast (all kinds of bread, cereals, homemade jams, fruit juice, salami, cheese, eggs....). Guests of different nationalities, which we like. There is a bus to the city but there are a lot of shops and restaurants nearby. Not cheap though!
Stay there before starting or ending your trip in order to settle down.
Guido and Marlène, Gent, Belgium

Room Tip: Think they are all very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guid0vanleuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Staying here felt like I was an Aucklander, especially in this very well maintained heritage building. It feels just like home with a quaint bedroom and dining/ lounge area. And the owner's hospitality is second to none. I heard many stories about New Zealand society and it gave me insight that I could never get in a sterile hotel setting. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuFli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noordwijkerhout
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Eileen, thanks for your hospitality and help ( to check in by Malasian Airways). We really enjoyed our stay. The perfect way to end our holiday in your beautiful country All the best for the future!
Greetings. Hans en Clasien from the Netherlands ( code bus 25 or 26)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My adult son and I were hosted by Eileen and her assistant during my first trip to New Zealand. Everything was just great. We are people people so we much enjoyed chatting with them at a lovely breakfast provided. This was my first stay in New Zealand lodging. The room was spotless (very important to me). We'd recommend The Bavarian to everyone. Thank you and we wish you most success on your new venture of hospitality, Eileen.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzqstehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I actually dont want to write this review as it may cause more people to use this B+B - and then there might not be room for me if I want to stay again!!!
This business is under new ownership - and also being spruced up.
I only stayed for one night as I has a conference to attend in Eden Park, but I could not fault my stay. Room was clean with very comfy bed, hostess was so accomodating and obliging - it was like a breath of fresh air.
Breakfast was amazing - even though there was only me staying and one other - the choices of breakfast were still there, and lots of it. Included in the price - well worth it.
Just a great place - will hopefully get the chance to stay again,
Thanks Eileen.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshwilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.2 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
313 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,269 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.8 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 59 in Auckland
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel

Property: Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Address: 83 Valley Road | Mt. Eden, Auckland 1024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming small hotel in quiet residential location, close to city with excellent connections to town, Mt. Eden summit with panoramic views easily accessible,immaculate quality rooms with en-suites, phones and internet access for your laptop,healthy breakfast buffet-style,complimentary tea/coffee/biscuits, sunny lounge and peaceful garden, good shopping, cafes, restaurants and internet cafes nearby,off-street parking, friendly and welcoming atmosphere.Ask us for advice on rental cars, tours etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing