We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$274
US$250
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$181
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$289
US$220
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$204
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pullman Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
US$279
US$218
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
VR Auckland City(Auckland Central)
US$100
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$170
US$145
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rydges Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$197
US$134
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$177
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
96
25
15
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
25
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsponsonby roadgerman guysmall backpackersladies bathroomnew zealandcommunal kitchenouter linklonger termseparate buildingrooms are nice and cleandouble roomfacilities are greatspent a weeksecond homecommon areas aregreat place to startfree unlimited wifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Auckland - Brown Kiwi
Only a short walk away from SkyCity in Ponsonby but get the green or orange bus if you've got a lot of luggage to carry up the hill. Well located and surprisingly quiet for Auckland. The dorm room was comfy if a tad hot (what do you expect in December) but we just flung the window open. Kitchen was clean as were the bathrooms. Only bad point, I'd say, was the bathrooms. There was only one toilet in the main bathrooms (one for men, one for women) and the showers were just hidden by a shower curtain. Not a lot of privacy. But, overall, we had a really nice stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I am so happy that I have stayed here with friendly hosts around. I feel like a sweet home meeting old friends for the first time. The experience is value for money, with convenience location, comfortable environment, nice dining area to meet friends and prepare meals, and comfortable room to exchange travelling experience with new friends.

A sweet home that have made my stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My Wife and I stayed in the Brown Kiwi from 4 weeks in November & December 2013.
The whole set up is to a very high standard and ideal for any backpacker or traveller looking for a cheap place to stay either short or long term.
Hannes and the team are all extremely helpful and create a very homely environment.
The location is ideal, Ponsonby is arguably the nicest district in Auckland and certainly the trendiest.
Would recommend to all and when we return to Auckland will certainly be staying here.

Room Tip: Call and book before arrival as they are often full during summer
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curtisjoe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I have been there for a couple of times.
It's a lovely, tidy, small Backpackers in Auckland's most beautiful district.
It always felt homelike, the stuff is super nice and helpful and takes care of everyone and everything!
Super recommendable! I would always come back to the BK.

Naomi

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hostel is extremely busy, always people coming and going but has a great atmosphere and really friendly. When we stayed they were very busy but have a emergency room which is called the hobbit room and its in the attic above the reception area. This has a double bed and a little table. You cannot stand up straight in the room and you have to climb a step ladder. But it is kinda cute and an experience and suited our needs. (oh and slightly cheaper too). We stayed in this room for 3 nights with no problem. The reception opens at 8am (a good morning call). The hostel has everything you need and is clean and slightly untidy (but has character :) )

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews