We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I always love staying at The Great Ponsonby Art Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Ranked #5 of 53 Auckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“I always love staying at The Great Ponsonby Art Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I always love staying at The Great Ponsonby Art Hotel.
I’ve been coming here for 11 years now, Sally and Gerry always make me feel so welcome and I feel right at home. It’s located on Ponsonby Terrace, which is lovely and peaceful. The location is so convenient and close to the city. Ponsonby Rd is also right there and full of wonderful cafes and restaurants and great shopping.
Friendly staff and great service I thoroughly recommend staying here I always enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    89
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
44
279
54
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Picton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

There is nowhere else to stay in Auckland.The place has everything you could want,wonderful location,spotlessly clean room excellent breakfast fascinating décor with an obvious Pacifica theme,a very quiet location.Hosts Sally And Gerry were totally welcoming,informative and went out of their way to assist.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desiree A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely having you and your delightful daughter to stay. I am sure we will be hearing more about her in the world of music. It was fun also just walking up the road to the cafe to hear music.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We would recommend staying here to anyone. The owners and staff are super friendly. The location is outstanding in terms of walking access to Auckland's great restaurant strip. The rooms are well equipped and we liked the sustainability aspect they adhere to. Its cosy rather than swanky so depends what you are after - if its a home away from home then this is it. No sterile grey and beige rooms to be found.

Room Tip: We were upstairs, this provides really nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. It was good to see you again and I am glad you appreciate how we try and be sustainable. We recently went to a book launch of Ecoman by Malcolm Rands who began the Ecostore which made me feel rather inadequate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I stayed for about 10 days and was extremely happy there. I was upgraded to one of the outside units with catering facilities, which was very helpful for a longish stay. Very peaceful - it's on a cul de sac and my room backed on to gardens. Very friendly and generous hosts, outstanding breakfasts, good restaurants nearby - couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uktraveller1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Gerry and Sally are very warm hosts. We are a middle aged couple and appreciated the quiet and the car-space. We paid for a room but were upgraded to a larger unit at the back with small kitchen and eating area. Everything was spotlessly clean, the wifi was great, and the breakfast yummy. Ponsonby has a great deli nearby so be sure to visit that too and pick up some Coromandel mussels n other delicious morsels for a picnic.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arthur_Martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

A lovely bed and breakfast that is conveniently located in a funky, arty neighborhood. The wi-fi was sketchy in my room (apparently other rooms had better connections) but for cleanliness, comfort and a wonderful breakfast. you can't beat it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Robyn & I stayed twice during our visit to NZ ... on arrival and departure each time for a couple of days. When you are in an unfamiliar location accessibility is so important and The Great Ponsonby fits the bill .. a charming and hospitable environment to relax and explore Auckland. It is so close to the city, freeway north and south, and located within a quaint inner city shopping hub which has gone through many incarnations but now is an "in" location for shopping and most importantly so many places to choose exceptional dining. The Great Ponsonby reflects the quirky artistic side of the inner city. Accommodation is all very comfortable, and private with ample parking. Relax a while over a hearty breakfast and chat with the other guests. We met people form other areas of NZ and Seattle during our stays. People always make for those extra memories while away on holidays.

Room Tip: All accommodation is similar, bright and vibrant, wiht ample sapce for couples to get away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregTradeWinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
1.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
1.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Ponsonby Arthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Property: Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Address: 30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Great Ponsonby Arthotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in a quiet, heritage, 1890's villa in the middle of cosmopolitan Auckland, just 2 minutes stroll to Ponsonby's vibrant cafes, restaurants and galleries. Fifteen minutes by eco bus, five minutes by taxi to the waterfront or a 30 minute amble through Ponsonby's interesting streets. Close to Eden Park, the Zoo and all main attractions. Qualmark 4 star+ and Enviro Gold. Breakfasts are legendary. They are cooked to order, not just left in your fridge the night before. This is a place to have fun & meet other guests.Free, unlimited wifi throughout hotel, ipod docks, all sky channels in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Ponsonby Arthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Hotel Auckland Central
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing