We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Ranked #5 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Have just completed a 5 day stay at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel and am delighted I selected this accommodation.

A convenient 5 minute stroll off Ponsonby Road and the Inner Link bus to the Auckland CBD everything was top notch from the friendly staff, lovely room and common areas and the fantastic cooked breakfasts.

I was upgraded to the Penthouse room which was a very spacious open plan studio flat with small kitchen. Everything was exceptionally clean and well kept and I can't fault a thing.

The only negative was that my schedule precluded me from staying even longer.:-)

Bravo Sally and Gerry! I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else whilst in Auckland..

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffAnnabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Kia ora Geoff

We really enjoyed having you to stay so thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review.
S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    93
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
45
283
54
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica
Level Contributor
301 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

What a great place in a great location. Everything you want and some extras. Really appreciated the dressing gowns. Gerrard was abundant with knowledge and advice. Holly looked after our meals and other items. Clean, quiet, well kept in a reviving neighbourhood easy walk to restaurants and not that far from CBD though the innerlink bus is 5 min walk. Parking available thankfully but so is easy street parking. Meeting room packed with tour books in many languages. Garden is a nice place to relax with some kiwi wine. Great breakfast choices.

Room Tip: Book in well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank im44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

A 5 minute stroll from the eclectic Ponsonby Road, this charming hotel is both welcoming and comfortable. Sally and Gerry who run the place are 'no-nonsense' locals who have high standards and being well travelled know exactly what the traveller is looking for. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped and the breakfasts are a charming start to the day. On a sunny day the gardens offer plenty of little nooks and crannies to explore and sit outdoors. I'm trying to think of something original to write as it seems previous reviewers have said it all. The hotel has a most impressive worm farm - ask to see it.

Room Tip: Gerry and Sally know best. Trust them!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaffTraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write. It was lovely having you to stay and you are definitely the first to put in a plug for our worms. We did think, as worm farmers we should probably be driving a four wheel drive vehicle. I hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I was in Auckland for business and on my own... how lovely it was to come to the Great Ponsonby Arthotel and feel like I was amongst friends, family even :)

From the friendly communal breakfast to a leisurely chat with Sally and Gerard... always informative and insightful, such wonderful people :)

I am so happy to have found the Great Ponsonby and with the daunting task of crossing the 'ditch' from Sydney every few months for work, I have truly found a home away from home and new friends x

A special mention to Uncle... I haven't had a chance yet to thanx Sally and Gerard for organising Uncle to drive me to the airport for my trip home - a car ride I will not forget x

Kind regards,
Sheree

General Manager
Transmission Films

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Kia ora Sheree

Thank you for your kind words and I will pass on your comments to Uncle. He makes everybody feel so calm. He is a wonderful man.

I hope we see you again soon. S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed for a week here as I had training up the road in Ponsonby. Hosts, Sally and Gerry, were the most accommodating people I have come across. The hotel itself has great well equipped rooms with everything you would need for a great break. A 5 minute walk up the road gets you a myriad of eating places of all styles - Italian, French, Turkish, Middle Eastern and Pacific - and a plethora of bars and cafes. Definitely will be going back and definitely recommending to our work as a recommendation for all staff to stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms don't get any traffic noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanLiddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for your glowing review . You were very easy guests to have to stay I must say and it is always good to have such enthusiasm for our breakfast. Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I always love staying at The Great Ponsonby Art Hotel.
I’ve been coming here for 11 years now, Sally and Gerry always make me feel so welcome and I feel right at home. It’s located on Ponsonby Terrace, which is lovely and peaceful. The location is so convenient and close to the city. Ponsonby Rd is also right there and full of wonderful cafes and restaurants and great shopping.
Friendly staff and great service I thoroughly recommend staying here I always enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

There is nowhere else to stay in Auckland.The place has everything you could want,wonderful location,spotlessly clean room excellent breakfast fascinating décor with an obvious Pacifica theme,a very quiet location.Hosts Sally And Gerry were totally welcoming,informative and went out of their way to assist.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desiree A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely having you and your delightful daughter to stay. I am sure we will be hearing more about her in the world of music. It was fun also just walking up the road to the cafe to hear music.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
1.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
1.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Ponsonby Arthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Property: Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Address: 30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Great Ponsonby Arthotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in a quiet, heritage, 1890's villa in the middle of cosmopolitan Auckland, just 2 minutes stroll to Ponsonby's vibrant cafes, restaurants and galleries. Fifteen minutes by eco bus, five minutes by taxi to the waterfront or a 30 minute amble through Ponsonby's interesting streets. Close to Eden Park, the Zoo and all main attractions. Qualmark 4 star+ and Enviro Gold. Breakfasts are legendary. They are cooked to order, not just left in your fridge the night before. This is a place to have fun & meet other guests.Free, unlimited wifi throughout hotel, ipod docks, all sky channels in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Ponsonby Arthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Hotel Auckland Central
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing