We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great time...great B & B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We, my partner, teenage daughter and I stayed three nights during the weekend of the Rugby League 9's, Eminem concert etc and loved it! Sally, Gerry and staff are so friendly, helpful, and the service was excellent. Our rooms were spacious, clean, warm, very comfortable and the breakfasts were great in terms of quality and variety. The location of the hotel is ideal, just a quiet street off to the main Ponsonby road and a convenient walk to Auckland City Center. We will definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to travellers.

Thanks Sally, Gerry and staff. Great place, great time...

Take good care
Steve, Shona & Nekea x

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms (yellow & orange?) away from the main house which were large, sunny, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Kia ora Steve, Shona and Nekea,

Thank you for your positive review. You certainly stayed during our busiest week! We hope you enjoyed our hot chocolates and eggs benedicts each morning, and that you had a good time watching the league. We hope to see you again at next year’s league tournament, give us a ring and we’ll see what we can do.

Cheers,

The crew at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed here on the first and last night of our new zealand tour. From the hotel name we had expected great things. The décor may artistic to some, to us it was a mish mash of colours and styles which appeared garish.
Service was fine but the quality of the breakfast was very disappointing. Choice of cereals, fruit and breads very limited and the cooked breakfast was average at best.
Ponsonby is a great area for restaurants, cafes and proximity to the city. Expect a lot more of a boutique B&B. Will not stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Kia ora Douglas,

Thank you for your comments, we always appreciate guest feedback so we can continue to improve and deliver the highest possible standards. We do acknowledge that you may have not found our artwork to your taste, as the delights of art will always be different for each person. However, we do enjoy the artwork around our property, and find it rich in New Zealand culture. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the breakfast that was on offer. The vast majority of our other guests have found it delightful, and we are saddened to hear that you did not think the same.

We appreciate that you enjoyed where we are situated. Our location is one of our main sources of pride, as we love to be able to provide our guests with a place to stay right in the heart of Ponsonby.

Cheers,

The crew at The Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great place to stay. Rooms nicely done, very comfortable. Excellent breakfasts with indoor or outdoor seating. I was worried it would be too far out of Auckland City Center but it was very easy to get into the city or down to the ferry terminal using the green bus line for NZ$2. Just a block from the B&B to walk down the hill to get to the Ponsonby Terrace strip with all the restaurants. A lovely, charming area. Thanks Sally, Gerry, Max and Holly! A wonderful start to our month.
Nancy and Mike O'Neill

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twigaduma2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Kia ora Nancy and Mike,

Thank you so much for such a positive review. We are so pleased to hear that you loved our breakfasts, rooms and location. Please come back soon, we would love to have you stay with us again.

Cheers,

The crew at The Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

No doubt the service and staff are outstandingly helpful and welcoming, but the title "Arthotel" is somewhat missleading. We stayed in the granny flat which features a color scheme that I would call interesting. I was seeking to get away from the polished 5* boring hotels, but I don't think the interior was quite what I expected. If you charge premium money you have to deliver more.

Room Tip: No more to add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christophreddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Kia ora Christoph,

Thank you for your feedback, we always appreciate hearing about our guest’s thoughts (good or bad) so we can continue to improve and offer the best possible experience. Our bright and abstract colour scheme is our way of departing from the concrete, refined hotel room offered at more commercial places. We aim on brightening our guests trips, offering something different and out there. We are saddened that this did not strike the right chords for you. We would love to hear your thoughts on what more we could offer. Please drop us an email at info@greatpons.co.nz.

We are pleased to hear that you found our staff and service outstandingly helpful and welcoming, we aim to make sure that our guest’s needs are tended to intently.

Cheers,

The crew at The Great Ponsonby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stayed at the Great Pons over a weekend before a couple of meetings and after a flight from LA. Its the ideal place to recover from the flight and to relax into serene eco thinking. I liked the room in the garden; it was large and decorated in an idiosyncratic and stylish way. The staff we all helpful and pleasant and really human and the breakfasts delicious and hand cooked. Lovely. They gave great advice on how to get around Auckand (on the green and orange loop buses) and which sights to see. If I come back I shall stay again. So much nicer than the concrete jungle.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clerkenwellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Kia ora Clerken,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you were able to escape from the concrete jungle for a little while, and that you enjoyed our service, breakfast and style. We would absolutely love to have you back, please come and stay again soon.

Cheers,

The crew at The Great Ponsonby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I've never been to a better B&B! Beautifully designed rooms, classy dining room, great food, absolutely friendly and helpful hosts, quiet and scenic neighborhood...Definitely recommendable if you have a reasonably large budget!

Room Tip: The red room is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane_Tse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Kia ora Dianne,

Thank you for your kind words! We enjoyed having you at the Great Ponsonby, and we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Cheers,
The crew at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed only for one night on our arrival in Auckland and were made to feel very welcome. Our room was spacious and comfortable and offered everything we needed including the most comfortable bed.
There are quirky touches everywhere which I love, and the breakfasts are second to none. So much choice, but the eggs benedict with crispy bacon hit the spot.
The owners and staff are so welcoming and friendly its quite like home.
Shame it was for just the one night. Should we be lucky enough to return to Auckland, this would definitely be a stop on our list!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Kia ora TravelBag13 (with the elusive name!),

Thank you for posting such a positive review. We are indeed famous for our eggs benedict and crispy bacon, and we are glad you enjoyed as much as we do. Perhaps next time you could try our eggs florentine? A staff favourite for sure. We are so glad you believed our home was like your home, as that is our whole mission.

We look forward to having you back,
The crew at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 65 in Auckland Central
325 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
699 reviews
1.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
755 reviews
1.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Ponsonby Arthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Address: 30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland Central, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: £95 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Great Ponsonby Arthotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in a quiet, heritage, 1890's villa in the middle of cosmopolitan Auckland, just 2 minutes stroll to Ponsonby's vibrant cafes, restaurants and galleries. Fifteen minutes by eco bus, five minutes by taxi to the waterfront or a 30 minute amble through Ponsonby's interesting streets. Close to Eden Park, the Zoo and all main attractions. Qualmark 4 star+ and Enviro Gold. Breakfasts are legendary. They are cooked to order, not just left in your fridge the night before. This is a place to have fun & meet other guests.Free, unlimited wifi throughout hotel, ipod docks, all sky channels in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Ponsonby Arthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Hotel Auckland Central
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing