We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 5 July 2011

After booking in to stay here I sadly checked travel advisor after - never again. The negative reviews are accurate. The air-con is loud, the bathroom has mould in it, the floor still had rubbish on it in my room, the furniture is very worn and rubbish was stored in the hall way for many hours. The only redeeming feature was the food - a great dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Visitorfromnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. It is disappointing to note that you felt let down by our product and services and we are sorry to hear that your needs were not met on this occasion. We can only respond appropriately to reviews if we are given an opportunity to rectify any issues at the time they occur, I note on this occasion that this was not the case. Whilst we understand that it is not up to our guests to ensure a satifactory standard of cleanliness is upheld, we most certainly would have made every effort to put our wrongs right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

811 - 817 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed & had family come to visit so thought we might try to get rooms for them. The reception staff were not that helpful. I got a price for 2 rooms & also for a room with 2 double beds in them. I said I would check with the family & call back. Rang for ages with no one picking up the phone so went downstairs to talk to them. Got a totally different price again way more expensive. We went back to our room to talk about it then came back downstairs to ask if we could see what the room was like. We were left for 10 minutes with no one coming back to us. So rude! Family went home is disgust.
Our room was pretty average, the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor & the room had a very damp smell in the bathroom. They need to fix up the shower door over the bath. The pillows were awful, very lumpy & way too big. Went down for breakfast & when we came back to get in our room the keys wouldn't work. We had a late check out & it was only 10am!
Reception staff need more training.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puket135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review we appreciate your time and your expression of your personal opinion of your experiences at our hotel.
I am sorry to learn that your experience was less than satisfactory and that you felt let down by our reception services. We do try our very best to ensure all of our guests needs are met within a reasonable time frame but on this occasion understand that this was not the case for you. In regards to the '4.5 star comment' we do not grade ourselves we are given this rating through Qualmark which is a professional industry body that grades all hospitality and tourism products on an annual basis. We understand that you felt we may have not deserved this rating because of your experience but can assure you that our product and services are enjoyed by many travellers both domestic and international.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This accomadation was booked by my wife for our annervisary, upon arrival it took 10 minutes to wait for the one receptionist to serve us as he was busy dealing with the many other customers that were obviously upset at having to wait for such a long time. This man failed to look me or my wife in the eye and was unable to answer simple questions regarding the hotel and restaurant, he was also pretty rude and made us feel unwelcome.
The room was great, nice and clean and good value. I dont think I would return however as the service in the morning when we checked out was just as bad as the receptionist tried to charge us for parking although we had pre paid in our package. we also had to wait along time to be seen as there once again was only one person on the desk. The people before me had complaints also.
As long as you can get over the poor service here it is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig_fisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland. We are glad to hear that your stay met your needs in terms of the Deluxe King Spa room and that you felt the Winter Escape package was value for money. I am sorry to hear that your service experience was less than satisfactory, I can assure you that this is an area we are continually working on to improve and over the last few weeks we have received many positive comments reflecting this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

After crawling through traffic & running late for a show, we needed a pleasant, quick check-in, easy parking, well set up room & no hassles. That's just what we got.
Plus, a quiet sleep in a good bed in a clean room.
Well done Amora.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MervNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated we are happy to hear that your stay was made easy & comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Reception staff were efficient but could have smiled a bit to welcome you to their hotel. The room and bathroom was roomy and airy. The A/C was noisy and the street noise was loud when doors opened on the patio. The bar and room service was excellent but breakfast choice was quite limited. Stayed for 4 nights and asked for paper delivery every morning but it never arrived

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the park. Breakfast elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiscerningReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland. We are glad to hear that your stay met your needs and would like to acknowledge the areas that you have highlighted for improvement. We will most certainly put this feedback to good use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I read the reviews after I had booked the room and so was slightly worried! Stayed for one night with my partner and it was just what we wanted. We had booked an upgrade to a spa bath room. The room was really lovely, clean and comfortable with everything we needed. There was a small balcony overlooking the park and city and the large double spa bath was amazing, very nice touch having the option of opening the bathroom up to the bedroom. We had room service meal in the evening then a full breakfast buffet in the morning both of which were delicious. The staff were polite and helpful. Only downside was pan pipe music in the bar and no music in the restaurant. Some music adds a little atmosphere but not pan pipes! All in all I feel that you get what you pay for, we enjoyed our stay and if we wanted 5 star luxury we would have gone elsewhere and paid the price

Room Tip: Book the spa bath room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amber3211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland and for providing us with invaluable feedback. We are glad that we were able to contribute to a memorable experience for you and your partner. We will certainly take note of your comments and put them to good use for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

My husband and I were truly disgusted upon checking into this hotel and were kicking ourselves for not booking somewhere else. The walk to our room along the corridor was enough in itself for us to know this hotel was not up to usual standards as the carpets were stained beyond belief and looked as though they hadn't been cleaned in years. Our room was horrible with plaster actually falling off the walls, the ceiling looking as though it was sagging with visible large cracks. We requested a portacot be placed in the room, it was not. There was only 1 bath towel provided and two hand towels, the shower leaked beyone belief and the bathroom looked as though it had almost been flooded once you took a shower, the bath also filled up to our ankles while we were showering. We decided to use the swimming pool and hot tub during our 1 night stay and cannot believe how dirty the hot tub was, you could visibly see green mould in the hot tub, there was dirt all around the swimming pool and a dish cloth just laying by the pool - i'm not sure how it got there.

The rooms are in serious need of sound proofing as we could clearly hear the room next doors conversations and even with all the windows closed everything out on the street, it was the worst nights sleep we had during a 16 night stay in New Zealand, and this included an airport hotel.

We ordered some room service which consisted of pate which was stated as being served with french bread (it came with something different, i don't even know what it was), we also ordered a cheese platter for 2 which came with a substantial amount of cheese, but only 9 biscuits.

The receptionists were probably the least helpful I have encountered and i don't think had been taught manners or how to smile.

Needless to say we will not be staying at an Amora hotel anytime in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carleywhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland. We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay. We have reviewed all of our communication logs and note that none of the issues were brought to our attention during your stay. If they were raised, we would have made every effort to ensure that the issues you encountered were addressed in full and to your satisfaction. We are Qualmark Rated 4.5 star and we do everything we can to maintain the standards required of us. You have highlighted some areas for improvement which we value and will be put to good use to assist us in our efforts. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#23 of 65 in Auckland Central
970 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
748 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,162 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,240 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £93 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing