We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were very disappointed and won't be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We were very disappointed and won't be back”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel because of location to the Aotea Centre, and we had stayed there about five years ago when it was the Duxton, which was nice back then. We couldn't believe how outdated it has become, and the stand alone air con unit is that noisy that you can't hear youself talk. There was a draft coming under the front door that was so bad, when we put a towel across the gap, it lifted off the ground! We took down the blanket from the cupboard to put on the bed and it was full of holes! After we came back from being at a show, we phoned for room service (24 hour menu), at 10:30 pm and the phone was off the hook, so when I finally got through to somebody in reception, they said that 'the chef has gone home as he'd had a busy night, and there wasn't any food in the kitchen! The night staff offered to cook us wedges (found some in the freezer) with cheese for free, which was nice of them I suppose, but it still didn't make up for the fact that the hotel advertises a 24 hour in room menu service, but there was no food or chef in site? They also charge $20 to park yourself in the basement of the hotel, with no valet service at all. We also filled in the comments card and handed it back to reception when we checked out, and I requested that I would like someone to phone me about our stay, and to date nobody has contacted me. The pillows were also very hard and lumpy, which caused us both to have a very restless sleep. To top it off, my sister and her husband were staying at the Stamford Plaza on the same night, and they paid less for a five star hotel, with amazing service, valet parking and breakfast included. Very embarassing if this hotel is going to be putting up international visitors during the Rugby World Cup.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanneb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Amora Hotel Auckland on your recent stay. We appreciate feedback of any kind as this helps us to continually strive for excellence. Out of the 24 reviews handed to me from the weekend, I have to say that yours was the only one that highlighted any issues. I would have phoned you, but your telephone number was ommited from your feedback form, however as your left your address a letter in response was written and sent on the 18th of July, you should have this by now and you are welcome to contact me should you wish to discuss anything further. I am glad that my team took the initiative to provide you with some food, as this certainly was not indicated on the feedback form. I am sorry to hear that we disappointed you on this occasion and that you felt our product and services let you down. We host on average about 900 guests per week and therefore whilst your review maybe valid for your stay and is welcomed it certainly is not a reflection of our overall product and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    327
    248
    106
    52
See reviews for
113
385
65
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Had a 1 night stay as a gift voucher and was worried about staying here as there has been a few negative reviews, but as per the pictures the hotel was nice and clean and quiet and we had a very comfortable nights sleep. We over looked the park but even the road at the front of the hotel was quiet at night time.
Very comfortable bed and lovely relaxing bath and a suprisingly good breakfast as well, with a nice hot and cold buffet and a selection of papers to read.
I have stayed in a few hotels in Auckland and this was a very comfortable one and one that I would easily return to.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thank you for providing feedback of your recent stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland and for sharing your photos of your experience. We have a very hard working and loyal team and an overall product that we are happy with, whilst we understand that sometimes we don't get it right and that we are not too everyone's taste, we certainly appreciate knowing when we do a good job so from my team and I a very big thank you :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

After booking in to stay here I sadly checked travel advisor after - never again. The negative reviews are accurate. The air-con is loud, the bathroom has mould in it, the floor still had rubbish on it in my room, the furniture is very worn and rubbish was stored in the hall way for many hours. The only redeeming feature was the food - a great dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Visitorfromnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. It is disappointing to note that you felt let down by our product and services and we are sorry to hear that your needs were not met on this occasion. We can only respond appropriately to reviews if we are given an opportunity to rectify any issues at the time they occur, I note on this occasion that this was not the case. Whilst we understand that it is not up to our guests to ensure a satifactory standard of cleanliness is upheld, we most certainly would have made every effort to put our wrongs right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Bay of Islands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed & had family come to visit so thought we might try to get rooms for them. The reception staff were not that helpful. I got a price for 2 rooms & also for a room with 2 double beds in them. I said I would check with the family & call back. Rang for ages with no one picking up the phone so went downstairs to talk to them. Got a totally different price again way more expensive. We went back to our room to talk about it then came back downstairs to ask if we could see what the room was like. We were left for 10 minutes with no one coming back to us. So rude! Family went home is disgust.
Our room was pretty average, the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor & the room had a very damp smell in the bathroom. They need to fix up the shower door over the bath. The pillows were awful, very lumpy & way too big. Went down for breakfast & when we came back to get in our room the keys wouldn't work. We had a late check out & it was only 10am!
Reception staff need more training.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puket135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 3 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review we appreciate your time and your expression of your personal opinion of your experiences at our hotel.
I am sorry to learn that your experience was less than satisfactory and that you felt let down by our reception services. We do try our very best to ensure all of our guests needs are met within a reasonable time frame but on this occasion understand that this was not the case for you. In regards to the '4.5 star comment' we do not grade ourselves we are given this rating through Qualmark which is a professional industry body that grades all hospitality and tourism products on an annual basis. We understand that you felt we may have not deserved this rating because of your experience but can assure you that our product and services are enjoyed by many travellers both domestic and international.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This accomadation was booked by my wife for our annervisary, upon arrival it took 10 minutes to wait for the one receptionist to serve us as he was busy dealing with the many other customers that were obviously upset at having to wait for such a long time. This man failed to look me or my wife in the eye and was unable to answer simple questions regarding the hotel and restaurant, he was also pretty rude and made us feel unwelcome.
The room was great, nice and clean and good value. I dont think I would return however as the service in the morning when we checked out was just as bad as the receptionist tried to charge us for parking although we had pre paid in our package. we also had to wait along time to be seen as there once again was only one person on the desk. The people before me had complaints also.
As long as you can get over the poor service here it is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig_fisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland. We are glad to hear that your stay met your needs in terms of the Deluxe King Spa room and that you felt the Winter Escape package was value for money. I am sorry to hear that your service experience was less than satisfactory, I can assure you that this is an area we are continually working on to improve and over the last few weeks we have received many positive comments reflecting this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

After crawling through traffic & running late for a show, we needed a pleasant, quick check-in, easy parking, well set up room & no hassles. That's just what we got.
Plus, a quiet sleep in a good bed in a clean room.
Well done Amora.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MervNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated we are happy to hear that your stay was made easy & comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Reception staff were efficient but could have smiled a bit to welcome you to their hotel. The room and bathroom was roomy and airy. The A/C was noisy and the street noise was loud when doors opened on the patio. The bar and room service was excellent but breakfast choice was quite limited. Stayed for 4 nights and asked for paper delivery every morning but it never arrived

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the park. Breakfast elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscerningReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland. We are glad to hear that your stay met your needs and would like to acknowledge the areas that you have highlighted for improvement. We will most certainly put this feedback to good use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
942 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.2 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Property: Amora Hotel Auckland
Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing