We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the spa bath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
183 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Love the spa bath”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

The room was very good, loved the spa bath. One of the few hotels in Auckland that have an inroom spa bath. The service is not great, ok, but could be a lot better. The breakfast was good, apart from the cold sausages.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland, I am glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you enjoyed the 'spa bath'. We are sorry to hear that out team let you down on this occasion, we are always striving to improve the standard of service that we offer and your feedback will assist us in achieving our goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    319
    240
    104
    52
See reviews for
112
377
63
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

I have stayed here 5 times now and am impressed with the standard of the rooms and the professionalism and responsiveness of the staff. All the rooms have balconies and kitchens and baths and the extra little touches like bathrobes make this hotel special compared to others in the cbd area

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel facing the park - always quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnD098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland, We are pleased to hear that your 5th stay with us was again enjoyable and that our team made you feel welcome. We truly appreciate knowing when we do a good job :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Decided we needed a night off from the kids so brought package through online deal which was a mystery hotel in the Auckland CBD. Turned out to be the Amora Hotel. Package included free parking, bottle of bubbles, chocolates, Breakfast for 2 and late check out of 12.00pm. I phoned the hotel the day before we arrived to ask if we could park the car at the hotel earlier than our check in of 2pm so we could have a look around the city. Got very firendly lady on the phone that said it would be no problem. Only one real complaint, dropped car off around 12.00pm and after having lunch etc got back to the hotel around 4pm to be told our room still was not ready. When I informed the not too friendly receptionist that check in was suppose to be 2pm I was told in a tone that they were busy & this is why the room wasn't ready, sorry not good enough in my books! From the large amount of people checking in most had the same voucher so if the hotel knows they are going to be busy, get more staff on. Got into room about 4.30. We had decided to upgrade to a spa suite which was nice, bed very comfy. The bottle of bubbles was Lindeaur Sav which we know we don't like so we aked if we could swap it & that was no problem at all. We also requested a bucket of ice which was also no hassle. Breakfast was nice & majority of the staff are friendly. This hotel is @ the top of town so we caught a cab, which there were always plenty around, to the viaduct which cost $10.00. Will probably try somewhere different next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roch1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your Amora Experience, we are very pleased to hear that the majority of your stay was enjoyable and that your expectations were met. We acknowledge that you were not happy about the room not being made available to you at 2pm and that you felt we could have handled this a bit better. We will most certainly take your comments on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Very central location, downtown. fitness Center one of the few with a Fitness Concept Indoor rower. Asian guests, making one feel at home. Breakfast OK.

Room Tip: Exercise all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kongchuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland, I am glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you made to feel welcome. We appreciate knowing when we do a good job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed at the Amora Hotel as part of a GrabOne mystery hotel deal. Because we live a distance from the city centre, we often pay to spend a night at a hotel when we go out. The Amora didn't excite us at all. I cannot complain too much because in my opinion it was a pleasant stay; the room was clean and we slept well. However, after travelling around Asia and Europe we could say that the service was not extraordinary, the hotel atmosphere was bland and the decor outdated. The people who work at this hotel are very sweet and I could see they are trying hard but unfortunately they are missing the mark. It wasn't my worst experience nor was it on the list of very good experiences - it was very average and I'm glad we got the room at a discount.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samhobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland. Thank you also for recognising that our staff do a great job, we think so and do the very best we can with the resources we are given to work with. We appreciate your honest opinion and constructive feedback :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel because of location to the Aotea Centre, and we had stayed there about five years ago when it was the Duxton, which was nice back then. We couldn't believe how outdated it has become, and the stand alone air con unit is that noisy that you can't hear youself talk. There was a draft coming under the front door that was so bad, when we put a towel across the gap, it lifted off the ground! We took down the blanket from the cupboard to put on the bed and it was full of holes! After we came back from being at a show, we phoned for room service (24 hour menu), at 10:30 pm and the phone was off the hook, so when I finally got through to somebody in reception, they said that 'the chef has gone home as he'd had a busy night, and there wasn't any food in the kitchen! The night staff offered to cook us wedges (found some in the freezer) with cheese for free, which was nice of them I suppose, but it still didn't make up for the fact that the hotel advertises a 24 hour in room menu service, but there was no food or chef in site? They also charge $20 to park yourself in the basement of the hotel, with no valet service at all. We also filled in the comments card and handed it back to reception when we checked out, and I requested that I would like someone to phone me about our stay, and to date nobody has contacted me. The pillows were also very hard and lumpy, which caused us both to have a very restless sleep. To top it off, my sister and her husband were staying at the Stamford Plaza on the same night, and they paid less for a five star hotel, with amazing service, valet parking and breakfast included. Very embarassing if this hotel is going to be putting up international visitors during the Rugby World Cup.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanneb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Amora Hotel Auckland on your recent stay. We appreciate feedback of any kind as this helps us to continually strive for excellence. Out of the 24 reviews handed to me from the weekend, I have to say that yours was the only one that highlighted any issues. I would have phoned you, but your telephone number was ommited from your feedback form, however as your left your address a letter in response was written and sent on the 18th of July, you should have this by now and you are welcome to contact me should you wish to discuss anything further. I am glad that my team took the initiative to provide you with some food, as this certainly was not indicated on the feedback form. I am sorry to hear that we disappointed you on this occasion and that you felt our product and services let you down. We host on average about 900 guests per week and therefore whilst your review maybe valid for your stay and is welcomed it certainly is not a reflection of our overall product and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Had a 1 night stay as a gift voucher and was worried about staying here as there has been a few negative reviews, but as per the pictures the hotel was nice and clean and quiet and we had a very comfortable nights sleep. We over looked the park but even the road at the front of the hotel was quiet at night time.
Very comfortable bed and lovely relaxing bath and a suprisingly good breakfast as well, with a nice hot and cold buffet and a selection of papers to read.
I have stayed in a few hotels in Auckland and this was a very comfortable one and one that I would easily return to.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thank you for providing feedback of your recent stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland and for sharing your photos of your experience. We have a very hard working and loyal team and an overall product that we are happy with, whilst we understand that sometimes we don't get it right and that we are not too everyone's taste, we certainly appreciate knowing when we do a good job so from my team and I a very big thank you :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Property: Amora Hotel Auckland
Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travelbag, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing