We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business stay, will choose again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Business stay, will choose again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Neat and what I needed for a four night business visit to Auckland. Was not interested in any of the more luxurious value-added services so cannot comment. Was neat, clean and my upgrade to a room with a spa was appreciated. Did have to use the car parking option ($20 - in my opinion is a bit rich but seems to be about the going rate for inner city hotels in most places I've visited). Simple gym/fitness room that I didn't bother using, instead I made the most of the location being up the top end of Auckland CBD / Downtown so easy to walk around (I do like walking). After a day in the office, was great to get out and about. Is only one block from Queen St or K Rd so plenty of eating and do-ing options around.

Room Tip: Plenty of eating options around K Rd and down town. Use Trip Advisor to see the Auckland restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland. We are very pleased to hear that your stay met your needs and that you enjoyed your upgrade. It is really great to hear that you made the most of our location as many people seem to be challenged by the small hill coming up Greys Ave. We are one of very few hotels located at the top end of the CBD and there are many hidden gems in terms of eateries and boutique shopping right on our doorstep, even better for those that don't fancy a stroll to town and back the free city link bus passes right by the hotel. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    319
    240
    104
    52
See reviews for
112
377
63
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, Hawke's Bay
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

OK place to stay in Auckland as long as you dont expect valet and concierge service. The rooms are clean and tidy and you can often get a good deal on wotif.

Room Tip: Go for the standard room as the spa bath option is not worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland. we appreciate your honest and constructive review and are glad to hear that we may get another chance to host you in the future. TIP: If you book via the Amora Hotel Auckland website you will get the same price or deal as any other third party site and save yourself a booking fee!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

My partner and I stayed here at the end of October. The hotel itself is pleasant, lovely spa room with a good view for Auckland - down onto the park area at the back. It was incredibly quiet.

My problem with the hotel is that we had no hot water due to a gas problem in the region. The hotel was good enough to let us know a day in advance but absolutely no compensation was offered at any stage - it was basically indicated that it was tough luck for all involved and that we had to just get on with it. I had booked a room with massive spa bath, and had just arrived off a 30 hr flight from the UK - so this was rather disappointing.

I was allowed to use the YMCA's shower (over the street) but the standard of their facilities was very poor and not a replacement.

I would have expected more from a hotel of this standard. That being said, if it hadn't been for the gas leak, I would have probably allowed the review 4 stars.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room over-looking the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland in October. Whilst we appreciate you highlighting the positives of your stay it is disappointing to note that the final basis of your review was made due to the 'gas crisis' that affected all major businesses north of taranaki. The gas crisis happened due to a rupture in the natural gas supply line owned by Maui and operated by Vector. We were very fortunate to be able to offer the YMCA gym as an alternative solution as I can assure you that there were many hotels that were unable to offer any alternative at all. We were very proactive in making contact with all affected guests to inform them of the incident rated as a 'national crisis' We offered the opportunity to cancel without penalty however as the situation was beyond our control we did inform guests that there would be no discounts if they decided to continue with their stay, we were fortunate that the majority of our guests chose to stay. To date we have not been offered any compensation from Vector or Maui and it looks highly unlikely that we will not receive anything which means we are unable to pass the rebate onto our customers. Although this unfortunate incident occured we are still very sorry that you were not able to make full use of the facilities we offer at the Amora Hotel Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This hotel is inner city Auckland very close to the Town Hall and Aotea Sq but you would never know it. It was very quiet. You look out on to a tree lined street and just over the back is a park. Check in was smooth The room was comfortable and clean and the view of the sky tower is stunning.
The room was equipped with cooktop so you could prepare a simple meal if you wished. we had friends staying at the same hotel and met in our room for nibbles. There was enough room for the 6 of us.
The breakfast was not fantastic value but we were happy with the food, and loved the individual coffee pot.
We plan to return annually

Room Tip: Ask for view of the Sky Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland. We are very pleased to hear that your stay met your needs and that you found the room to be spacious and clean. We are happy with our location and all that our property has to offer including exclusive views over Myers Park. We are continually driving our staff to achieve high standards in both product and service and we appreciate knowing when we do a good job, so from my team and I thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed during the RWC and the service was shocking to say the least. Staff have no idea about customer service and were perhaps the worst I have ever come across. Food was terrible. I would highly recommend to NEVER stay here.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland in October. It is disappointing to note that we did not rate very highly in terms of customer service especially as this is an area we are continually working on to improve. It is difficult to interpret the lasting impression you now have of our hotel as there is very little substance to the review that allows us to understand the issues you had with our team. I can assure you that if any issues are brought to our attention we are very good at rectifying them in a timely manner. I am very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations during your stay and that your were not made to welcome or appreciated. It is certainly not a culture we are accustomed too or tolerate and I can assure you that our service teams will be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Stayed at the Amora Hotel in Auckland these 2 days. Experience was not good. Room was reaonable, well maintained. No wifi in room - only available in lobby at a charge of NZ$50 per day - wow!, talk about expensive. I did not bring along a 3 pin plug converter. I requested for one at the front desk and was asked to put a deposit of NZ$20. Some service - I must say - first time I encounter this at a hotel. I asked about breakfast - well - of course it was not included - the man at the reception answered - you have to pay. Next I asked about check out time and of course it is 10am when other hotel's check out time is at 12pm. By the way, no complimentary drinking water in the room - if you want drinking water - boil it or hey - pay up the NZ$7.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POHMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you felt the room was reasonable and well maintained. Just a couple of corrections: Wifi in the Lobby is $15 per day and we place a travel adaptor bond of $25 on your room so that we can keep track of these to ensure they are returned, once returned the bond is removed. This allows us to ensure that we have plenty available for our international guests. NZ is one of very few countries where our tap water is safe for drinking and therefore you do not have to boil water first. Standard check out time across the industry is 10am this allows us to prepare for arriving guests at 2pm. It appears as though the basis of your experience is misunderstanding and we are extremely sorry for not having made the above clear. Again, thank you for taking the time to provide a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Staff is anything but friendly. You can expect unpleasent answers and very little help. If your rate does not include breakfast be prepared for strange and expensive options.Buffet is very poor.
Rooms are OK, they are clean, when you arrive. After that they will only fix your bed and bathroom.
No air coinditioner, it's a mobile and noise device.
Location is not central; it´s fine when going downtown because literally you are going down, but coming back up hill requieres a lot of effort.
Internet is paid, and at least in my case it did not work in the room.
Avoid it if you can.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CEVEKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with your recent stay at the Amora Hotel. I am surprised to find that you felt our customer service faired below average as this something we have worked very hard to improve and I strongly feel we have come along way. In terms of our location we are in Auckland's CBD which makes us very central, we are a healthy walk up hill which is perfect for the health conscious traveller. We are also en route for the Free City Link Bus which stops 100m from our front door. Whilst we are disappointed to rate so poorly in your opinion, we appreciate the time you have taken to provide a review, gives us something to work on and I can assure you will most certainly will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Property: Amora Hotel Auckland
Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing