We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
289 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Concierge reserved a dinner for out group at Sky Tower and in fact was not in the sky tower but in a restaurant near Sky Tower so we missed a great experience. Two couples stayed at the hotel but only one couuple received upgrade....etc

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bjthaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your Amora experience we are disappointed to hear that you felt our service was poor because of a dinner booking gone wrong, I can understand the disappointment this would have caused to you and your group and of course we are very sorry for the misunderstanding. In regards to your booking, you booked and paid for a penthouse apartment so this was not an upgrade also there were no notes in your correspondance to advise us of your travel companions, however I can assure you that they would have received what they booked and paid for also. We appreciate your opinion and understand it's just that; but feel the rating you gave us based on the content of your review is unfair given half of it was not our doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    327
    248
    106
    52
See reviews for
113
385
65
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Checked in early which didnt seem a problem until we checked the room. Hadnt been completed after clean as there were no robes, or mini-bar price list. We later we found the spa bath didnt work! After a couple of failed attempts by a member of staff, we were moved to the next floor up - same type of room with everything sorted and working!
Had asked for lowest floor as from Christchurch, but moving to 2nd floor not a problem.
Easy walking distance for buses from airport and when joining tours, just 10mins into CBD. Nice and quiet with view over the park, friendly helpful staff. Very compfy bed and loved the spa bath. Didnt use the hotel bar or pools but they did look great, just not enough time

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience at the Amora Hotel Auckland. We are glad to hear that your experience met your needs and expectations and that the issues you encountered were dealt with efficiently. We are very happy with our location being at the top end of the CBD, close to key areas of interest such as K Road, Ponsonby Rd and a stone's throw from the Viaduct harbour. It is a great base for those who have a few days to look around our beautiful city and best of all there is a city link bus at our doorstep. The spa bath is definitely a feature of our property not typical of your inner city hotel. Thank again for your review we hope you are safe and well in Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Since we were only staying overnight before leaving for Rotorua we asked for a more economical hotel. The Amora was what we got.

It's a nice hotel with clean rooms but it's across the street from the YMCA and (if you take Hobson) near a homeless shelter. Had we been informed of that by the staff we could have avoided those spots but they didn't let us in on the secret so my wife felt unsafe as we walked to the Skytower (take Greys Ave to Queen St if you want to walk to downtown).

The airconditioner didn't work in the first room we were provided so they moved us. Then we had a major problem with the washer/dryer in the room that took us awhile to get resolved.

All in all not a bad experience but nothing above average.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avy8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent experience at the Amora Hotel Auckland. I must say that this is the first time that we have ever had to address an issue with the homeless shelter which in the past 10 years has never posed an problem to any of our guests. In saying that we are sorry to hear that your wife did not feel safe because of this and we will most certainly be more mindful of international travelers moving forward. I am glad to hear that our staff took initiative to help resolve the maintenance issue encountered, these are not always obvious and therefore we appreciate you offering us the opportunity to rectify these. We are happy to hear that overall your expectations were met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights over new years, the rooms were nice and spa bath in room was excellent. A few days later we discovered that my wife had forgotten her valuables on the dresser in hotel room so we rang the hotel regarding lost property but we were asked to ring back the next morning when house keeping staff were on duty. Rang back the next morning spoke to staff at reception who took my details and said he would call us back and he did stating he was really sorry but nothing was handed in. I insisted that he check again with house keeping manager re this valuables but i was told by staff and that their house keeping
staff are very good and if there was anything they would have handed in straight away.

Despite knowing that valuables were left in the hotel we searched all our bags few times.
Waited and waited but no more calls from the hotel, I was not satisfied still so I rang the hotel
again and I repeated the same story to the reception and she transferred the call thru to on
duty manager who straight away said to me that they had already told us that there was
nothing found, I insisted to the lady that I was confident that valuables were left in the room and
that they check with house keeping staff on duty that day. She said to me that their staff
would have handed in if it was found. Again I insisted that she check one last time. I received
a call 30 mins later saying they had found the valuables. I personally think the communication
is very poor and that if I didnt have insisted they would have not called us. Very dishonest.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unhappy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the room and facilities offered. And note your disappointment in your 'after dealings' with the hotel. We are disappointed to hear that you feel our staff were dishonest in dealing with your lost property request. Whilst there is a clear communication error and an oversight on the correct procedure in this case I can assure you it is not the norm. The goods you left behind were placed into the Hotel Safe because of it's notable value however a note in the lost property log was overlooked. The items returned to you were over and above what you reported as misplaced and therefore we feel that your 'dishonest' statement is unfair and not warranted. We have a very high rate of return of lost property which at the end of the day is not the responsibility of the hotel. We are happy that the end result was a good one for you in that your items were safely returned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

First and foremost the staff were absolutely accommodating and very curteous and helpful. The property however is a bit dated with things like air conditioners and televisions outdated. We were moved into another room when our television didn't receive most channels. The noise from the park below was relentlous through the evening, Friday and Saturday nights.

Room Tip: Not sure that I would confortably recommend this hotel to someone....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland. We appreciate that you have acknowledged our staff and that you found them to be helpful and friendly. We offer a range of accommodation options that suit every traveller and every budget from standard studios right through to penthouse apartments. Depending upon what you choose determines which area of the hotel you will be situated. We are located at the top end of Aucklands CBD and as it comes to life in the weekends like most cities, we do tend to experience street noise like every other city hotel. We do take note of any special requests that are brought to our attention prior to arrival and we are proactive in contacting customers if we find that they have booked a room type that is not suited to their requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikato
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Great room and good service. We stayed a Saturday Night so there was a lot of street noise on our side of the complex - Greys Ave side. Our stay included a car park which we needed and made it cost effective - parking is otherwise expensive in Auckland.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the park side of the complex to reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank farminventor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We had a 1day deal which included free carparking and late checkout. The room had cooking facilities plus a washer/dryer that was neatly tucked away. The room was spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. It was so central that we took a short stroll into the central city for meals and visiting the art gallery etc. The dining room didnt look that inviting. It was a little bit noisy with street/office block air conditioning noise but we slept soundly so it cant have been that bad. Great views of the city. If another deal came up we would definatly stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 9th floor and the views were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ipodrova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Property: Amora Hotel Auckland
Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing