We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a nice experience but needs a spruce up!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amora Hotel Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always a nice experience but needs a spruce up!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great hotel in Auckland, mainly due to location/proximity in town and the double spa bath offering (which is fantastic and RARE) and always experience friendly check in. However, I am disappointed that in the five or so years we have been going there (previously The Duxton), the King spa rooms have never been made over.

The King Spa rooms are very tired looking which is a bit disappointing as other standard non spa rooms are gorgeous. You pay a premium to have that bath, sure, but I would have thought the premium price was worthy of a modernised room particulary when these rooms are used for romantic packages. Was also disappointed to find they still charge $20 EXTRA for parking your car!

On our recent visit (25th), the freestanding air conditioner was broken and we were met with a "sorry" response from the rude check out woman (such a shame as the check in man who is always there is always so friendly) but no one showed to fix it. The room furniture was very shabby and the shower curtain around the bath had not been cleaned. Clearly the person prior had somehow managed to overflow the bath and there was water damage to the carpet right by the bed which was still wet. The toiletries in such an intended romance/spa room were stock standard motel cheap. A shame as we have had Molten Brown and NZ organic ones in the past which made the stay special.

We will go back there as the spa is great but I hope they renovate the room.

Room Tip: NON SMOKING. Make sure you insist on it. We were unfortunate to forget this. While the room did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJ E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    313
    233
    103
    52
See reviews for
110
370
60
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone that likes to feel like a valued customer. The staff her need to learn some customer service skills, they are all so rude! When I checked in the man at the desk was not polite, not very friendly and definitely not helpful at all! I was also very disappointed with the room! It looks like its from the 80's! Everything is so old and broken, and not very clean at all! Will never stay at this place again and would never recommend it to anyone total waste of money!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaseyJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed here for a night in Feb 12. I have stayed here before when the hotel was called The Duxton. In the last ten years since I first stayed here the hotel appears to have not received much of a make over. It is clean but a bit tired. The air con is a noisy portable unit and the bed although a King was uncomfy. We could easily feel the join in the two pieces that make up the join.

The car park is also insanely tight. I can only imagine how many people have crunched their cars in this tiny car park.

The staff however are the hotel's saving grave. Friendly and nice, more than you need in hotel staff.

In short, it is ok but only stay here if you want to be near the CBD but pay a cheaper rate.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RozAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Check in was pretty easy. Room was very spacious and clean, just as the pictures had shown. Was aware of the stand alone A/C unit in the room - however they were very very noisy - not able to have it on at night which was a shame. Bed was oh so comfortable.

When booking on the phone I had asked for a room overlooking the park to reduce noise - was assured that was where I had been booked but discovered we were overlooking the road so a bit noisy.

We ordered room service for dessert only - huge portion and yummy, couldnt fault, and the person taking the order was lovely.

The shower is over-bath with a glass panel door - this leaked a lot but a call to reception and I had 2 more bath mats so this would of only been an issue for the poor cleaning service people to deal with.

Parking was cheap but very tight and the gym was tiny, its located in the car park which was kind of odd??

Overall it was pleasant and I would stay there again and have reccommended to my work.

Room Tip: Insist on a room overlooking Myer Park - and make sure you get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We booked a first 2 nights through Agoda and wanted to come one night earlier. When we called the hotel, i was surprised to hear that direct price would be higher than the one we could get through Agoda...and be advised to go through Agoda...a pity for them when you know that Agoda's commission is 20% !

Arriving there, the first night add been registered and the rest 2 nights canceled without reason. The unfriendly receptionist told us that he could not do anything and that we had to see the following morning : Amora's way to say welcome ?
Internet ? better to purchase online through networks you can catch by yourself than the service provided by the hotel...which is the same btw.
Following morning, after being told i might have canceled... knowing Agoda's system, i insisted that i didn't and neither Agoda did...before they finally found, they had made a mistake...

A pity...when you have a nice hotel (the room are large, clean and not in the shape we could see in other comments) and in a very good location.

MANAGEMENT should pay attention and improve it quickly...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenitoKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel is in a good location on a tree lined street. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Sky Tower. The staff were helpful and polite and the reception is compact but pleasant.

The rooms however are a bit tired. Surprisingly they had a stand alone A/C unit in the corner. These are so noisy you cannot use them over night. They all appear to have a small kitchen area. Maybe this explains the unpleasant smell each time you enter the room. The furniture was tired and the table had a broken leg. The bed was hard. This is not up to the usual standard of Amora.

The bathroom was also old and the shower screen was faulty and leaked.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to keep noise to a minimum
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D4T4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I have been staying at the Amora (formerly the Duxton) regularly for the past 10 years both on business and personal travel. I hadn't been there in a while since I decided to try a few of the newer places in town for a bit of a change. My wife and I recently returned here for two nights over the weekend, and I am happy to say that it still is one of our favourite places to stay in Auckland. Large airy well-appointed rooms with plenty of natural light, decent baclonies with sliding doors and opening windows, huge king beds, good kitchen facilities and very secure car parking. The fittings and general overall feeling is of quality, unlike some of the newer budget apartment/hotels on offer. There are a now a lot of apartment style accommodations in Auckland, but they can be hit and miss both with the quality of the room and the level of service - check my other reviews for further information. With the Amora I have never had a bad room. Yes it's a bit away from the newly redeveloped waterfront area, but you can get there easily with a nice 15 minute walk or a short cab ride. And anyway I think the location is actually a positive; whichever side you are on you get either a park view or a nice leafy street view. We were both really happy with our stay and wondered why we'd been trying all these other places when the Amora is so good. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a park side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porkpiegaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide a review of your experience at the Amora Hotel Auckland. We are pleased to hear that after 10 years our product still meets all of your needs and expectations. We think our location is unique and a great base to enjoy the best that Auckland has to offer, we are situated within walking distance of the cafe and shopping districts of Karangahape Rd, Ponsonby Rd and High Street and a leisurely stroll or short taxi ride from the Viaduct or Newmarket. Located on the Edge of Myers park! all of our rooms lead out on to a balcony where you can enjoy some spectacular city or park views and most importantly fresh air! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Property: Amora Hotel Auckland
Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelbag so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing