We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely unbelievable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely unbelievable”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Appeared to be a okplace to stay with friendly staff until it turned sour, show bath leaked all over the bathroom floor and after spending over $500 for two nights, over $100 in their restaurant/ bar and cleaning up our room before departure we were told we had " soiled" a towel. As any female would know, make up tends to get places you don't want it to. We were Amazed that they believed it couldn't be removed and expected us to pay 17 dollars to replace it. We said we would come back in a few hours once it was washed to prove it would come out and not have to pay the ridiculous 17 dollars. When we came back they said it hadn't come out, we requested to see it and they declined. We left paying the 17 dollars and beer going back. After spending over $600 they were so pathetic and rude to make us pay for a single towel. Beyond rediculous in my opinion and Auckland offers much better quality accommodation to stay somewhere like this.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lynda999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    327
    248
    106
    52
See reviews for
113
385
65
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

In many respects, the Amora is a typical business hotel. The rooms were clean, the staff was fine, the services at the hotel are keeping with what you would expect from this hotel. We knew both parking and Internet/WiFi would come at a cost, so there was no surprise. [If you are travelling with multiple computers, you can save yourself some $$ buy bringing a crossover cable (if it is just one other computer) or a cable and an inexpensive router to provide service to the other computers.] The parking lot was a tight fit for our vehicle (a large [for NZ] SUV, since we were travelling with the family and for an extended period. If you are going to be spending a good amount of time in the CBD, expect a workout walking back and forth. We didn't mind it, but others might.

The one advantage the Amora has over every other hotel (except the Chatham) is it is (literally!) next door to the Auckland Hebrew Congregation. For those who are observant Jews, this makes the Amora an excellent choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dg01776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Nice room but dont get one of the front rooms it is very noisy with foot traffic and the fire station being so close

Room Tip: Parking is a problem if you have a large vehicle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Only stayed one night in Auckland CBD to attend the Riverdance Show at Auckland's Aotea Centre. The Amora Hotel was perfectly located with only a 200-250 metre walk to the venue. Please note that whilst it is a short note, it is very steep. The carparking was underground and easy but pricey at $20 per day - no valet service here. The rooms were spacious and included a well equipped kitchenette but unfortunately the air conditioning unit was freestanding in the room and make a hell of a noise. We opted to leave the door open and endure the sounds of the city all night long rather than listen to the aircon unit. The bed was a king size (2 x single mattresses on a king size base) but the mattresses has obviously never been turned as there was severe roll together - made for a very uncomfortable sleep. Room service breakfast had a great menu selection but they charge for delivery for each person in the room rather than one delivery charge - so we opted to dine in the restaurant. Very expensive - cooked breakfast was NZD27.50 and continental was NZD20.00 and not the same variety of choices. Would suggest you head elsewhere for breakfast as theirs was not value for money. Apparently they are going to be making some major changes and upgrade within a month - we would return because of the location but only if things have improved.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Park and make sure they guarantee the bed is comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinamo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Director of Sales at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide some valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. It is always helpful to know how we can improve the high level of service we endeavour to provide our guests.

We regularly research the market to compare our charges against other hotels in Auckland and upon comparing our car parking charges this month against 5 hotels in the Auckland CBD we are on par with one of our competitors and with the others our rates are lower. We have taken your comments on board regarding the price of breakfast and we are reviewing our menu and pricing to see how we can provide better value.

It is certainly not procedure to charge a room service fee per person, if you would kindly send your contact details to me at dos@auckland.amorahotels.com I would be happy to look into this charge for you and offer you a discount on your next stay with us.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the opportunity to rectify the issues you encountered and ensure a better experience for all future guests.

We look forward to hearing from you,
Kind regards


Judy Lourens - Director of Sales New Zealand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of a holiday. Did not get the room we asked for and was surprised to learn we had to pay for parking as well. They had put us in a standard room instead of a spa suite and just would not help at all. The rooms were OK as is the locality but they need work which is well overdue.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here one night for a concert with another family. Good rooms, could do with a refurb but they were fine. Room service food took forever but was the best we have ever had when it arrived. Good little balcony for checking out what is going on. Had a portable air con unit.

Behind the hotel is a fabulous park for kiddies.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed at the Amora for 4 nights beginning 2/22/12. Had an absolutely wonderful room with a balcony and view of the Sky Tower. A restaurant little known to tourists, but very popular with the locals is a Japanese restaurant called Tanuki's Cave at 319B Queen St., just a 10 min walk from the Amora. It's 2 levels, but make sure you go downstairs to the basement (the Cave). May be a wait, but well worth it.. The front desk staff at the Amora was extremely courteous and helpful, especially Mr. Akash Mirani, one of the assistant managers.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors & view of the Sky Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.2 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,124 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Property: Amora Hotel Auckland
Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing