We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our week here. Cheap, functional with added luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our week here. Cheap, functional with added luxury!”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had a week here before we set off on our tour around New Zealand in a camper van.
We were very lucky to get a very special offer rate of around 120NZD via the hotels website.

We looked at other hotels in the area (knowing the waterfront pumps the price up) for around the same money and they were ex-backpaker affairs (PUKE!). We factored in that we would save a bit of money with the kitchenette cooking lunch & breakfast for ourselves and it we booked it instantly.

Upon arrival I was surprised how good it was, the bed was wonderful and the room much larger than expcted! Yes the shower leaked a bit and the view is not of the harbour but it served a purpose. (We purchased very cheap wifi from the router across the road -YHA)

That week we sourced a van and started our NZ tour, we would stay here again. But maybe not for the full price.

But I could hardly knock it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidp20v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    336
    256
    106
    52
See reviews for
114
396
65
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed for 1 night in a King Spa Room , overall appearance of room , was it looked a little tired.
Bathroom nice size but needed attention to decoration , towels not bath size and all of different quality,and the bathrobes sizing was ridiculously small and made to fit a "Munchkin"
To say that this room is marketed as a Spa room , i would have thought these items were essential.
The amenities in bathroom were very basic also
The room was clean , apart from the balcony of hotel , which needed a good broom taken to it, reminants of cigarette ash , embeded in the balcony tiles, also no tables or chairs available for use on balcony ,
Breakfast was very enjoyable , and served by pleasant , attentive staff.
Overall an enjoyable stay , but i dont think i will be revisiting this property.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manchester45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed overnight after a night out on the town. Room was really clean and fresh feeling. Staff were very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Very nice weekend away here! Staff helpful and overall we had a very good overdue weekend away and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Great location too!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casey a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The staff members at this hotel were very rude and gave us no acknowledgement when we entered the hotel.
We stayed in the room with the spa bath. The room was very nice although the interior was outdated and the bed was quite uncomfortable.
I would not recommend getting the breakfast here it was low quality.
When we checked out the staff member attempted to charge us for a room service fee we did not incur. When I contested this charge the staff member did not believe me even though there was no charge for any food or anything which would have been delivered to our room only the delivery charge. The staff member reluctantly let us off the charge and noted on the invoice that we refused to pay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank amy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place a feedback.I appreciate your comments I have noted your comments in relation to the level of service and the quality of breakfast. will review this area with my team. I hope you have the opportunity to visit the Amora Hotel again in the near future.
Regards, Shanmu Sundram. Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Appeared to be a okplace to stay with friendly staff until it turned sour, show bath leaked all over the bathroom floor and after spending over $500 for two nights, over $100 in their restaurant/ bar and cleaning up our room before departure we were told we had " soiled" a towel. As any female would know, make up tends to get places you don't want it to. We were Amazed that they believed it couldn't be removed and expected us to pay 17 dollars to replace it. We said we would come back in a few hours once it was washed to prove it would come out and not have to pay the ridiculous 17 dollars. When we came back they said it hadn't come out, we requested to see it and they declined. We left paying the 17 dollars and beer going back. After spending over $600 they were so pathetic and rude to make us pay for a single towel. Beyond rediculous in my opinion and Auckland offers much better quality accommodation to stay somewhere like this.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lynda999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

In many respects, the Amora is a typical business hotel. The rooms were clean, the staff was fine, the services at the hotel are keeping with what you would expect from this hotel. We knew both parking and Internet/WiFi would come at a cost, so there was no surprise. [If you are travelling with multiple computers, you can save yourself some $$ buy bringing a crossover cable (if it is just one other computer) or a cable and an inexpensive router to provide service to the other computers.] The parking lot was a tight fit for our vehicle (a large [for NZ] SUV, since we were travelling with the family and for an extended period. If you are going to be spending a good amount of time in the CBD, expect a workout walking back and forth. We didn't mind it, but others might.

The one advantage the Amora has over every other hotel (except the Chatham) is it is (literally!) next door to the Auckland Hebrew Congregation. For those who are observant Jews, this makes the Amora an excellent choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dg01776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
952 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.6 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,773 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Property: Amora Hotel Auckland
Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing