We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel on the edge of the CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed at the Amora Hotel for two nights upon arrival in Auckland from LA and for four nights later in our trip after returning from the South Island. The hotel is on a beautiful leafy street at the edge of the CBD giving you a wonderful view of the skyline and harbor from either side of the hotel. The first two nights were in standard room which was certainly large enough compared to other CBD hotels we have stayed in when visiting Aukland, Sydney, Melbourne. The room overlooked Myers Parks which meant the only sounds we heard at night were birds and cicadas. The four nights spent later in the trip were on the top floor in a room with a second story bedroom and second bathroom. Room was certainly worth the extra money for vacationing with two people. Both rooms had complete kitchens and the second room had washer/ dryer. A couple blocks from K Road but you would never know it by the peace and quiet. Easy 5-7 minute walk to restaurants in Ponsonby and from the harbor. The only slight complaint is that like so many hotels these days, housekeeping seems to be understaffed and if you return to your room before 5 or 6 it may not have been made up. We let the hotel know when we would be returning after the first instance and there were no further problems. A great hotel choice if you do not need to be in the heart of the CBD.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking Myers Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dsbrown93446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

I am so angry. This hotel, while in dire need of a revamp, was our favourite. But since it became Amora, standards have really dropped. This is the last time I will ever stay in this hotel. Staff are appallingly rude (odd seeing as we were polite is asking for a different room... which we were not accommodated with after waiting for ages. Room freestanding air conditioners do not work, bed was completely shot with the mattress bending so badly and the bathroom was NOT clean or replenished on check in. Room was opposite some sort of lift that was used all night so was loud. But, by far the biggest turn if of this sorry excuse for a hotel was how rudely my wife was treated when she asked for new soap. Unacceptable.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere or check the room and bed before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Parisiandreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback and we apologise for your experience – this is not the standard of excellence we strive to deliver to our guests.

Our staffs are usually commended on their friendly and accomodating service and I am sorry you didnt get that experience. The hotel is running a full accupancy and it is difficult for us to accomodate rooms changes at this time, however I do apologise for the stress that this caused you both. Cleanliness of our rooms is something we take seriously and your feedback has been passed on to the housekeeping team.

All our staff are given regular training so we can actively promote a high standard of service. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Thank you and Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We recently spend 5 nights at the Amora it is located close to city centre, easy access to the motorway to get around city. Front deck 24hrs clean and modern, dinning and bar areas looked ok we did not use. The two pools out the back one cold and the other very hot good fun. Parking $20 a night space very tight. Our room would have been good about 5 or 6 years ago, it needs to be repainted, several things did not work. We paid extra for a room with spa bath, it was so loud you could not use it and not to many bubbles. The fan in the kitchen area did not work, so we could not cook anything as making toast set the fire alarm of. The washing machine takes about 3hr to do a wash and then it does not spin. The cover at the end of the bed had a big cig burn in it. The toilet seat needs to be fixed. The hotel is close to the police station lots of sirens Friday and Saturday nights but most of the time it was quiet. I did not find the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for your review on The Amora Auckland, I apologise for the inconvenience caused by a faulty washing machine and kitchen fan in your room and the other matters that you have raised. I make no excuses for the lack of maintanence that you found in your room. Please accept my sincere apology. The maintanence department have been informed of this matter and I assure you that these matters are being looked into seriously.
I would like to apologise for your disappointment with the service , this is not the kind of service we usually pride ourselves as you might have noted from other reviews.

Once again and on behalf of the team we extend to you our sincerest apologies.

Thank again for you time in writting a review.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We have just spent a week at the Amora, and found it comfortable and convenient. We needed a wheelchair accessible room, and had no trouble booking one. It was very spacious, with a really well set-out bathroom, and the kitchen was very useful. We slept well in the comfy bed, despite the frequent sirens from the fire station next door! Our room had a small balcony, which like the spa and swimming pool wasn't accessible in a wheelchair, however our room was comfortable, and the CBD location made up for any small inadequacies, including the rather interesting and very noisy air-con. The staff were quietly friendly, and we'll certainly stay again on our next trip to Auckland. I think this was the best accessible room we've ever stayed in, and I certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Westerly facing rooms are pretty hot by the time you get back from a hard days shopping in Queen Str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inapinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed here for my birthday in January and we got the Deluxe Room- I would highly recommend staying in these rooms as it was a two story hotel room with two bedrooms, full kitchen, spacious lounge and 2 fantastic bathrooms. We felt like we were in a penthouse! The check in staff were great and the next day we had breakfast in the restaurant. I really liked how they did breakfast as they had the cereals and wide variety of fruits and breads etc as a buffet but it was nice that we got to order our hot meal so we knew our eggs and tomatoes, mushrooms etc were fresh off the grill rather than sitting in a buffet area. I thought this was different and a nice touch.
It was only a 10min walk down Queenstreet to the shops, bars and nightlife so very accessible to everything.
Would definitely recommend this place to anyone. Even Aucklanders wanting a nite out!

Room Tip: Get the Deluxe room for something special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I recently had a one night stay and was pleasantly surprised. Clean, modern, bright and quiet room.

Very central to K road, Queen street and an easy stroll down the hill to the Viaduct.

Only problem was the portable air-con which was extremely noisy. I needed it as the room got full sun and had warmed up by the evening.

Otherwise lovely accommodation and I would stay again definitely!

Room Tip: I had a room on the 8th floor looking down toward the water. Just gorgeous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Some of the positives were a good sized room, a half hour walk from the water front, very good breakfast buffet and a decent dinning room if you want to eat dinner in. The negative was that our room had a broken vent from the portable air conditioner which we didn't think too much about as the large sliding door let in plenty of air. Worked well the first night. The second night there were loud people (drunk) walking in front of the hotel until early morning, making it impossible to sleep. I would really suggest a room as high up as possible and towards the rear of the building. The room was a bit dated but clean.

Room Tip: Take room in high floors away from the noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 65 in Auckland Central
972 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 65 in Auckland Central
558 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £93 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing