We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!! Better value for money elsewhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 26 February 2013

For a 4 star hotel.. There is no customer service! Front desk staff are rude and unhelpful! Some ancient room cooler stuck in the corner of the room "air conditioning". Advertised 3 hours free Internet each day and then said that offer no longer valid. Wouldn't get off the phone while checking us in! Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razlup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

I do apologise that your stay was not up to your expectation. I can assure you that my team here are not rude and I'm sorry that you feel that way.

We absolutely do not have any advertisement anywhere with regards to 3 hour free internet, Im sorry that you have been mislead. We are also looking into replacing our air-con unit soon.

I thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 971 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel is in desperate need of a renovation and very quickly indeed. The staff are pleasant enough although the reception staff find it hard to follow basic instructions. We had an early morning call at 7.30am booked for the first morning , but this continued for a further day which was not well received being a Saturday. i was conducting interviews at the hotel on the Friday so I asked the girl on reception to ask the candidate to wait in reception whilst i had a quick sandwich in the restaurant,....... the candidate was sent into the restaurant causing me to only eat half of my lunch and the candidate to feel very embarrassed.
The rooms whilst a reasonable size, do not have air con or heating so there are portable units in the bedroom and living area , but they are so loud you cannot hear the TV let alone try and sleep with them on. The hotel also backs onto a very nice park which unfortunately is home to late night drinkers screaming all through the night on all three nights we stayed at the hotel.
Choose another hotel in Auckland for business or pleasure as there are plenty better than this at similar prices.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpeedoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on seventh floor. Good news: kitchen practical, room spacious, balcony small but provided pleasant view of trees and neighbourhood. Not so good: no wi-fi above 1st floor, internet expensive ($30 for 3 days) but slow on a wired connection, air-conditioning was a small portable unit with hot air exhausted via a taped together connection through the window - very noisy and inefficient, charged for a water bottle I didn't consume, staff lacked knowledge of events in the vicinity and provided indifferent service. For this price, try elsewhere first.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John999_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I stayed for one night on a business trip, in a one bedroom duplex apartment on the 10th floor. The room as plenty big enough, with a good range of modern fittings, and a nice bedroom and bathroom on a second level.

The room had a great view and a small balcony to enjoy it from.

Service from all staff was very courteous, only slight issue was a major delay when checking out due to the sheer number of people trying to do it at the same time.

Great location - close enough to the city centre to be within easy walking distance, but far enough away to be quiet.

I will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulrproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

It's sadly slipped in terms of standard when it moved to the Amora group, it's in dire need of a revamp, the staff are rude and I would say, less than accomodating. The pool needs some work and the room in general need a refurb.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WELLYFOODIE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed at the Amora Hotel for two nights upon arrival in Auckland from LA and for four nights later in our trip after returning from the South Island. The hotel is on a beautiful leafy street at the edge of the CBD giving you a wonderful view of the skyline and harbor from either side of the hotel. The first two nights were in standard room which was certainly large enough compared to other CBD hotels we have stayed in when visiting Aukland, Sydney, Melbourne. The room overlooked Myers Parks which meant the only sounds we heard at night were birds and cicadas. The four nights spent later in the trip were on the top floor in a room with a second story bedroom and second bathroom. Room was certainly worth the extra money for vacationing with two people. Both rooms had complete kitchens and the second room had washer/ dryer. A couple blocks from K Road but you would never know it by the peace and quiet. Easy 5-7 minute walk to restaurants in Ponsonby and from the harbor. The only slight complaint is that like so many hotels these days, housekeeping seems to be understaffed and if you return to your room before 5 or 6 it may not have been made up. We let the hotel know when we would be returning after the first instance and there were no further problems. A great hotel choice if you do not need to be in the heart of the CBD.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking Myers Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dsbrown93446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I am so angry. This hotel, while in dire need of a revamp, was our favourite. But since it became Amora, standards have really dropped. This is the last time I will ever stay in this hotel. Staff are appallingly rude (odd seeing as we were polite is asking for a different room... which we were not accommodated with after waiting for ages. Room freestanding air conditioners do not work, bed was completely shot with the mattress bending so badly and the bathroom was NOT clean or replenished on check in. Room was opposite some sort of lift that was used all night so was loud. But, by far the biggest turn if of this sorry excuse for a hotel was how rudely my wife was treated when she asked for new soap. Unacceptable.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere or check the room and bed before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Parisiandreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback and we apologise for your experience – this is not the standard of excellence we strive to deliver to our guests.

Our staffs are usually commended on their friendly and accomodating service and I am sorry you didnt get that experience. The hotel is running a full accupancy and it is difficult for us to accomodate rooms changes at this time, however I do apologise for the stress that this caused you both. Cleanliness of our rooms is something we take seriously and your feedback has been passed on to the housekeeping team.

All our staff are given regular training so we can actively promote a high standard of service. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Thank you and Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
985 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
795 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,200 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £90 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing