We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, average hotel, lousy service - you can find better for the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good location, average hotel, lousy service - you can find better for the money.”
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

If you like nice lobbies, good restaurants in the hotel, and not having to pay for your internet - DO NOT stay here. We had read great reviews in Frommer's but were disappointed in the whole experience. In fact as an aside, Frommer's New Zealand book, is one of their worst efforts based on our now 2+ weeks in the country.

We arrived early from an overseas flight and the room wasn't ready - no big deal. Stored our luggage and waled about the city. The Fringe was on which was fun. Went back around 1PM, the room wasn't ready. Still abit early went for lunch. Came back after 2 - room wasn't ready yet. When we asked if we could get a wifi code we were told no - we would have to pay for it and since our room wasn't ready they couldn't sell it to us - unbelievable.

The room itself was okay - we asked for a view of the park but did not get one. The city view was also nice. They could definitely stand to update the rooms. ON leaving we asked if we could arrange a shuttle to get to the airport. They connected us to the company and then charged us for the phone call. Not a big deal but petty things that leave a bad impression.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheGoCFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    323
    244
    106
    52
See reviews for
113
380
64
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We enjoyed our first stay at the Amora Hotel, so mush so that we re-booked and returned another night. The rooms had everything we needed, beds were comfortable, bath was roomy. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast in the morning was filling and yummy :) Staff allowed us to leave our car in their carparking while we explored Auckland City.
We had a peaceful sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
258 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I booked this hotel through Wotif, one of their mystery hotels. After I read Tripadvisor reviews I got a bit worried, but having stayed here for 2 nights, I would be happy to stay here again.

Check-in was friendly, efficient and fast, as was check-out. Reception was always happy to answer my questions. One night I had room service, and I was very happy with that too.

The room was spacious, clean and well-presented, but a bit lacking in ambience. If you go looking, you can see the odd scuff mark or worn patch, but I find the descriptions of run-down rooms so different to the one I had (601). The bed was very comfortable. The kitchen equipment was basic, but enough to do simple meal preparation. The toiletries in the bathroom were good quality with a pleasant, soft scent. The room was very light and sunny, and had a decent sized balcony, although this may have been bigger than some of the other rooms I think.

My room was at the side of the building, not overlooking the park or the street. Instead it overlooked the synagogue next door, which has a primary school attached to it, and the central fire station on the other side of the synagogue. There were occasional sirens from the fire station, but I'm used to city noises. The school was relatively quiet, even when the children were outside. I don't think it is a big school. There is also a nice deli at the synagogue, which does good coffee.

Finally, there is the location. The Amora is convenient to the Aotea Centre, which was one of the places I was going on this trip. It is also very convenient to the airport bus, and to the red city link bus. The Amora is also within easy walking distance of Karangahape Rd, where there is a stop for the green inner link bus which goes to the Auckland Museum, Newmarket, Parnell and Ponsonby.

I felt like I got a real bargain here. If I had paid full price, then the rather ordinary and functional appearance of the rooms would have disappointed me. If you can get a discounted rate, then it is an excellent base for exploring Auckland.

Room Tip: For a quiet night, remove the battery from the wall clock to stop it ticking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We would never go there again. Firstly we were given a non spa room when we paid for a spa room.Complained and then were shifted to a spa room. Food at dinner and breakfast was terrible, very over cooked both times. Rooms were tired and needed some love eg; cartpet, paint, bathroom, bed, and the big bulky noisy airconditioner still stuck in the corner. Same furnishings as when The Duxton opened many years ago. We stayed there many times when it was the Duxton as we enjoyed it. Great disappointment.

Room Tip: Just don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJBRSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Hotel is overall good the rooms have a lot of extras ours had a small kitchenette, balcony and a washer/dryer. Beds are comfortable linens are clean and white but appeared worn and ready to be replaced. We made the mistake of trying to use the washer/dryer it washed ok but never dried the clothing we ended up hanging the wash in the balcony (FYI we were not the only room who ended up doing this). Check in / out was fast and efficient and they will store your luggage for free when checking out this was nice since we were not able to get a late check out at the end of our stay. Bar has nice outside terrace area drinks are expensive but not unreasonable for a hotel bar didn't dine at the hotel but the dinning area look nice.

If its going to be hot the A/C might be a concern it a free standing unit in room kind of odd and did not appear very capable but we did not use it so can't say for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and make sure you get it for the best view, let will try to put you on a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The Amora is situated in a really convenient location, around the corner from the main roads of Queen Street and K Road, and a ten minute walk to the harbour. The reception was well presented, with comfortable furniture to relax in while waiting downstairs, along with a very nice restaurant and bar overlooking Myers Park. We weren't very impressed by the service at the reception, which was friendly enough but often inefficient, but the service of everyone else working there was fantastic. They couldn't have been more helpful, warm, and friendly. The restaurant prices ranged from fair to slightly pricey, but the food was always beautifully presented and of a very good standard. They also do weekday lunch specials, which is good if you plan on staying there for a while and don't feel like going into the city to eat.

Our room was on the third level, and was spacious, with a balcony overlooking Greys Avenue. The room had all the facilities we needed for a week's long stay, with a great kitchenette, if you want to cook for yourself. There is a bit of noise from the road, but at night everything is quiet and we never had a problem. As others have said, the air conditioning unit does look old and happened to stop working while we were there. But we notified the reception and they had it fixed while we were out. The internet rates are also very pricey, especially if you plan on being there for more than a few days. Otherwise, we were really comfortable in the room and didn't feel we needed anything else.

Other facilities include newspaper delivery each morning, at your request, and there is a small gym if you need to blow off some steam. It's a small range of equipment, but has the most popular: treadmill, spinning bike, weights. Towels and water are also provided, which was nice, and the gym overlooks the park, which makes running on the treadmill a lot better!

I would really recommend staying here. Overall, I was very pleased with the service and don't think you could get a better location, unless you're willing to pay for the price of being right next to the harbour.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room on the park side, rather than the road side, if noise is a big problem for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NtrepidTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

For a 4 star hotel.. There is no customer service! Front desk staff are rude and unhelpful! Some ancient room cooler stuck in the corner of the room "air conditioning". Advertised 3 hours free Internet each day and then said that offer no longer valid. Wouldn't get off the phone while checking us in! Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razlup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I do apologise that your stay was not up to your expectation. I can assure you that my team here are not rude and I'm sorry that you feel that way.

We absolutely do not have any advertisement anywhere with regards to 3 hour free internet, Im sorry that you have been mislead. We are also looking into replacing our air-con unit soon.

I thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#19 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Property: Amora Hotel Auckland
Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing