We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The location is ok, just minutes from downtown Auckland. Nothing flash about the place but it has nice views if you are facing the park. The car park is a real squeeze so don’t try parking a larger vehicle.

The room was fine so long as you don’t want the air-conditioning unit on. The place was built without it and they have retrofitted an extremely noisy free standing unit in the room that was a real turn off when the room got hot.

Room Tip: Choose one with plently of opening windows so you don't have to turn the aircon unit on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artmcleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

I stayed here for three nights while on a training course for work.

I was pleased to have a kitchenette which was a bonus and meant I could get a few groceries in and at least have breakfast in the room.

The room was comfortable with a king bed - and no split! Always good. I liked the balcony but the aircon unit sitting on the floor was so noisy, I couldn't relax and hear tv over it.

My biggest complaint was that the hotel does not offer wifi. Please...! The only internet you could access was in the lobby and they had two computer terminals down there. There's no way these days that anyone wants to do that. Most hotels offer wifi in your room at least and many free - even if it's a small amount.

Also, staffing of the reception area was light at check in and check out times.

Just a wee housekeeping note too. When cleaning the bath/shower, please look around the corner inside the bath and clean the mould off - it's not that hard to make that little effort surely? And if the hotel offers (as most do), to leave your towels for re-use then please do so. We're currently under drought conditions. I dutifully hung up my towel and bathmat in the morning to come back and find them replaced. What a waste of resources!

Overall, despite my comments on some small matters, I liked my room and the location of the hotel. Easy walking distance to some good restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuesliNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

On a group tour, and was very convenient to the city, but quiet street and good outlook. Had stayed before and enjoyed, is a little tied but still pleasant enough. Only complaint was the bar could not accommodate a large touring group.

Room Tip: Spa room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I happened to stay in this hotel twice in a space of one week in February during my travel in New Zealand. While researching for a hotel accommodation in Auckland, I came across certain reviews of this hotel and was quite impressed with what I read. Additionally, there were some online deals running, which helped me procure great discounts. Overall, my stay was quite satisfying as it had clean, decently sized rooms with good bathing facilities. The location of the hotel is also very good, as the CBD, queens street and K-street are all within walking distance from the hotel. While during my first visit, I was given a room with a sky tower view, during my second stint, I was given a room overlooking the Auckland Hebrew Congregation. It can get noisy during the day. The hotel has guest parking on chargeable basis of 20 dollars for a night. But I found public parking across the street more inexpensive and hence used that. Did not try the food here, so will not comment. Providing limited complementary wi-fi internet to its guests, is something that the management could consider.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing grey street for sky tower view. Avoid the rooms ending with 01 or 02
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subhojit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed here for three nights in March 2013. I found the room a bit tired. The paint in the bathroom was a bit tatty, Having said that, the bed was very comfortable and I had a good sleep. My balcony room overlooked Myers Park so it was lovely and quiet. Part way through the night I had to open the ranchslider because the room got so hot, and the bulky Air Con would have woken the whole floor I am sure, had I turned it on. I had breakfast here every morning and found it a pleasant experience, One evening meal was also very pleasant and surprisingly affordable. I agree with earlier comments that I preferred this hotel when it was the DUXTON.

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony room facing Myers Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian-NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

If you like nice lobbies, good restaurants in the hotel, and not having to pay for your internet - DO NOT stay here. We had read great reviews in Frommer's but were disappointed in the whole experience. In fact as an aside, Frommer's New Zealand book, is one of their worst efforts based on our now 2+ weeks in the country.

We arrived early from an overseas flight and the room wasn't ready - no big deal. Stored our luggage and waled about the city. The Fringe was on which was fun. Went back around 1PM, the room wasn't ready. Still abit early went for lunch. Came back after 2 - room wasn't ready yet. When we asked if we could get a wifi code we were told no - we would have to pay for it and since our room wasn't ready they couldn't sell it to us - unbelievable.

The room itself was okay - we asked for a view of the park but did not get one. The city view was also nice. They could definitely stand to update the rooms. ON leaving we asked if we could arrange a shuttle to get to the airport. They connected us to the company and then charged us for the phone call. Not a big deal but petty things that leave a bad impression.

Stayed: February 2013
1  Thank OnTheGoCFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We enjoyed our first stay at the Amora Hotel, so mush so that we re-booked and returned another night. The rooms had everything we needed, beds were comfortable, bath was roomy. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast in the morning was filling and yummy :) Staff allowed us to leave our car in their carparking while we explored Auckland City.
We had a peaceful sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
994 reviews
1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,442 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £86 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing