We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crap customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Crap customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Spa jets didn't work. Staff argued with us when we questioned the pathetic cheeseboard.

Asked for manager to contact me after our stay.. This never happened.

I would NEVER stay here again and strongly suggest you inspect rooms first

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clayt0n_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we apologise for your experience – this is not the standard of excellence we strive to deliver to our guests.

Our staffs are usually commended on their friendly and accomodating service and I am sorry you didnt get that experience.

All our staff are given regular training so we can actively promote a high standard of service. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Thank you and Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    319
    240
    104
    52
See reviews for
112
377
63
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend had stayed at the amora hotel from the 24 May 2013 departed in the 26. The customer service we received on our first night was just unlively and dull upon check in the only thing we were in formed of was the bond we had to pay. I understand this is a sandard procedure but informing your guest of your services and amenities should also be we had to ask all the questions. We did not feel if acknowledge. However the male on checkout was polite and helpful. And the rooms were very clean. Stay could have been a lot better if only the customer service was at a higher standard.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we apologise for your experience – this is not the standard of excellence we strive to deliver to our guests.

Our staffs are usually commended on their friendly and accomodating service and I am sorry you didnt get that experience.

All our staff are given regular training so we can actively promote a high standard of service. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Thank you and Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
229 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

On the plus side, we like the location, and we got a deal for $155 including:
- our favourite type of room (king bed, spa, view over Myers park)
- dinner (2 courses + one house beverage each)
- midday checkout (and parking too but we don't drive)

On the down side,
- spa bath was very loud;
- sound was unlistenable on the Sky Movies channel;
- TV remote would only consistently work from a very strange angle. From the bed you might try 15 times to make it work once, and it wasn't the batteries;
- We heard quite a bit of noise, doors slamming, thumps through the building... not sure how much was the other guests and how much is deficiency with the construction and/or staff;
- the cheeseboard at dinner, which we ordered additional to the deal we had, is listed as including "... nuts, fruit chutney, and quince paste". Which turned out to be sunflower seeds (which is OK I guess), a raspberry sauce/jus, and no quince at all. Like most cheeseboards and antipasto platters in this country, there weren't enough crackers/bread. I don't know what the problem is with New Zealand and not giving enough crackers or bread for platters.

We will stay again late this year but hope things might be a bit better.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you very much for your honest feedback, we always appreciate this.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed our spa room and Grill dinner.

I do aplogise for the maintanence issues that you experienced. We do try our best to check all rooms before arrival, but we are not exempted from the occasinal breakdowns.

I have taken all your comments on board and passed these onto the relevant head of department to action.

I do hope the negative aspects of your stay did not impede on your time in Auckland and we do hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay of Islands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

First impressions and attention to detail make a difference, particularly when you are listed as a 4* hotel.
The Amora in Auckland fails miserably on both counts.

I used a 'Wotif' mystery hotel offer to enable this booking at $99 & the chance to "upgrade on arrival" seemed a good offer for a 4* hotel in the CBD.
Other mystery offers I'd used had been well worth the punt of not knowing which establishment you were booking until the fee was paid.
This must be the exception.
The chance to upgrade was no-chance. Even though it was late on Sunday night, the receptionist said there were no rooms to upgrade to, although the restaurant and car-park appeared to be empty.
When I eventually found the room, the number had been warn away as if taped over (see photo) What 4* hotel can't afford to clearly label its rooms? I entered to find a window wide open and the room freezing.
I needed to use the toilet. It seemed to be on constant flush. I took the lid off the cistern and dislodged the plunger which had stuck. The cistern began to fill with water and hence the toilet became usable...I wondered when the room had last been serviced?
Luckily the heaters in bedroom and bathroom worked very well and after closing the window the room began to heat up.
My first impressions were pretty damning. No upgrade as advertised. Room freezing cold and you had to be a plumber to use the toilet!
As time went on things didn't improve. Internet connection can only be made via cable at $15 minimum for 24hrs. wi-fi was available in reception only. How come a café around the corner can offer free wi-fi when a place geared for business-men can't?
Plus, when I tried to gain wi-fi in reception/lobby an hour after I'd checked out, no connection was available despite at least 12 hours residue left on my internet account from the 24 hrs I was compelled to purchase. Receptionist told me the account closes when check out is made.
Staff were polite but insipid & nonchalant, reflecting the standard of the Amora.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Opua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your comments, and we are sorry you were disappointed with your room. It is clearly stated on our mystery deals that upgrade is will be offered on availability. Im sure if we had a room for upgrade, the staff would have been happy to offered it to you.

We are in the midst of wiring the hotel for wi-fi as this building was not equipped for this.The password for the lobby wi-fi will expire when the guest is checked out of the sytem, Im sorry for the inconvience caused.

Just for future reference if you had asked to speak to our Duty Manager at any point if you are unhappy with your room, or any aspect of the service you have received. It is our intention that all our guests have a pleasant stay, and if there are any issues, we welcome the opportunity to resolve them.

Thank you again for your time and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Chose it for the location but regreting it. Room look tired and old fashioned. Shower had a mind of its own and was changing from hot to cold and back. Ironing board broken and all that for $150. Will not be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you very much for your honest feedback, we always appreciate this.

I have taken all your comments on board and passed these onto the relevant head of departments to action. We do apologise for the faulty shower, Im sure if you had contacted our maintanence team , its easily fixed.

I do hope the negative aspects of your stay did not impede on your time in Auckland and we do hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We had two single night stays here whilst visiting New Zealand. We had a great view from the first room of the Skytower. Can't say that the staff on the desk did anything apart from what was necessary. There was certainly no enthusiasm ! The Myers Park behind is worth a walk through and you are right by the Skytower with only a 10 minute walk. We arranged for our hire car to be dropped off at the hotel. We used Go Rentals. Can't recommend them enough - great service from start to finish. The booking process, speed at responding to emails and queries. The car was a few years old. We needed an estate car for the luggage and one that wouldn't stand out like a rental so was more than pleased. Anyway back to the hotel. The location is its best part.

Room Tip: High floor for good view of the Skytower
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheArcticHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we apologise for lack of enthusiasm of the front office staff– this is not the standard of excellence we strive to deliver to our guests.

Our staffs are usually commended on their friendly and accomodating service and I am sorry you didnt get that experience. Im glad that you have however enjoiyed our central location.

All our staff are given regular training so we can actively promote a high standard of service. We do hope you to welcome you back.

Thank you and Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

The location of the Amora is walking distance to Auckland's CBD. It is a tired hotel and would benefit from a refurbishment. I was travelling for work and if I had the option, I wouldn't chose to stay at the Amora.

The greeting from the front desk was efficient but not overly helpful. We arrived with a car and couldn't get into the car park. We were we had to check in first and to just give them our key and they would park it. This means you get stuck with a valet parking fee of $30. Self park is $20 but that option wasn't communicated at the time.

The room was okay, but smelt overpoweringly of room freshener. The bathroom has seen better days with mould in the grouting between tiles. My air conditioning unit was incredibly loud. Thankfully it wasn't summer and didn't need to leave it on during the night.

There is a fitness room, but as a business traveller it isn't overly helpful that it only opens at 7am - most people would need to be working out well before this time. There is an outside swimming pool which appeared to be open, but I didn't use.

Stayed for two nights and the servicing of the room was pretty rudimentary. The bed was made, but that was all that appeared to be done as part of the 'clean'.

The plus side to this hotel is that the bed was comfortable and there was a small kitchenette with a fridge, hot plates, microwave and crockery. There was a coffee plunger in the room but the coffee to use was in the mini-bar and cost $6. That does not impress me. Most other hotels I have stayed have given one complimentary portion of plunger coffee.

All in all it was very average experience and only just deserves the rating I have given it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wazmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Property: Amora Hotel Auckland
Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing