We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 12 July 2013

After our stay at the Amora Hotel in Auckland to say we were bitterly disappointed would be an understatement. We opted for the “Penthouse Suite” for a night away from our young son for the first time and the room was appalling. The first room we were in had dirty dishes left in the dishwasher and it was evident that it had been there for a few days. There was also hair on the bathroom floor and not only is this disgusting but very unhygienic and I would definitely expect more from a four star hotel. After complaining to management, we were moved to the room next door however that room had not been cleaned properly either so we were forced to put up with housekeeping in our room for over 1 hour to get that rectified and even that amount of time wasn’t enough as there was still chewing gum stuck to the roof. After paying almost $350 for a night, I would expect a much higher standard and unfortunately the terrible stay at you hotel ruined our entire weekend and a rare opportunity for time to ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Laura,

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland.

Please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of the entire team at the hotel as we failed to service your room before arrival. We have been having problems with our housekeeping system and the status of these room were not updated.

This is not the standard we take pride in and please be assured that our management team has received your comments and they will be shared with our team as a coaching tool.

If you will kindly indulge us, we would like to welcome you back to our hotel and offer you a complimentary Executive Suite room with a personal spa bath. The room has a lounge area leading into your personal balcony facing the Myers park and a private spa bath. This room will be a perfect get away for you and your partner from your young son since you could not enjoy our facilities to the fullest on your last stay.

I ask that you contact the Reservation Manager directly at resmgr@auckland.amorahotels.com to make your booking and I am certain our team will exceed your expectations this time.

Thank you for your feedback, we hope to welcome you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
There are newer reviews for Amora Hotel Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks for work. When I first arrived I noticed that it was a much smaller hotel than the large corporate hotels we usually use. However, this was to be a huge advantage. This hotel is ideally located within 5 minutes walk of Queen Street and the lively square area. There was always parking available for residents underneath the hotel and the parking was secure. There is a usable gym with a cross-trainer and a bike. The rooms are lovely and clean and are well appointed. Mine had a kitchenette area which was useful during the 2 weeks. Most of the rooms have spectacular views across to the Sky Tower which was very impressive. There is Wifi in the reception / bar area and in the rooms Internet is delivered via a LAN cable.

I ate in the restaurant a few times and was also impressed that it was no extra charge to order from the restaurant menu and have room service. They have special deals for 2 courses and 3 courses which were very reasonably priced. The quality of the food was very good. The kumara soup was amazing! The fish of the day was fantastic and the steaks were perfectly cooked.

There is an outdoor pool which was a bit chilly as you'd expect in June but the heated spa was lovely.

The special quality though of this hotel is the staff. The restaurant and waiting staff were so friendly, they welcomed me in like an old friend. There is a maintenance guy there too who was so helpful in finding me a space in the car park and helping me out with a maintenance issue in the room, which he fixed promptly and with a friendly manner.

I would go back and stay in this hotel if I wanted a place in the City to stay. It was excellent!

Room Tip: Just check you have a SkyCity view, I think they all do anyway but the higher the better!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Sarah Jane,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Amora Hotel Auckland, we really appreciate the time our guests give when providing such valuable feedback to both us and our future guests.

I'm delighted that you commented on the friendliness of our restaurant staff and that they made you feel at home, like an old friend. We do look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed with a grabone deal in a deluxe spa room. room was very clean and comfortable. staff were great. Nice cheese platter and drinks. dined at the grill restaurant the food was beautiful and our waitress was brilliant. enjoyed a really nice big cooked breakfast in the morning and check in and out was quick and easy. spa bath amazing even tho one of the settings not working and the funny little aircon unit loud but effective. Spent the day shopping on queen street. nice close location for this.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosscopeekotrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Sue,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Amora Hotel Auckland, we really appreciate the time our guests give when providing such valuable feedback.

I do apologise about the spa bath not working, and not having enough pillows and blanket, I wish you would have contacted our friendly Duty Manager (Reception Staff) and they could have provided you with additional ones as well as have someone to look into the spa bath for you and fix it right away.

We do look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed in the room on my own but actually booked in as possibly 2 people. The weekend was planned as a chance to meet up with family members who live in Auckland. The hotel suited that purpose because the room was spacious and had good food preparation facilities. The park with playground next door was an added bonus. The location was good for family members to come in from suburbs. Being a weekend they were able to find parking and yet we had easy access to downtown Auckland. Evening meal (pork) was delicious but vegetables needed to be ordered additionally. The decor was dated but that didn't worry me. It was still very nice and good value for money. I was just disappointed because the spa bath didn't work and that was something which I was especially looking forward to. I would have expected to find additional pillows and blanket, but I didn't. Service was excellent. I will use this hotel again for the same purpose.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback,

I'm pleased to hear you had a great stay and I'm sorry to read your comment about the spa bath not working. If you had reported this to our friendly Duty Mangers, Im sure this would have been dealt with quickly. We also provide extra pillows and blanket , and our housekeeping team would be happy to deliver to your room.

Thank you for complimenting the service level and Im glad to hear you will stay with us again.

Thanks again for your honest feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Had a Friday night "do" on in the CBD, so got a room on a wotif special. The room was large, had a balcony, a mini kitchen, laundry....more than I needed for just the one night. Had a quiet nights sleep and breakfast in bed the following morning....delightful!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZkitkatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland, I am glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you had a comfortable and good night sleep.

We do look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

The spa jets didn't work and had to call staff at 3am after waking to a party the floor below, staff didn't seem to care. Apart from that Good rooms but we would not stay there again as staff did not care

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clayt0n_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback and we apologise for your experience – this is not the standard of excellence we strive to deliver to our guests.

Our staffs are usually commended on their friendly and accomodating service and I am sorry you didnt get that experience.

All our staff are given regular training so we can actively promote a high standard of service. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Thank you and Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My room was spacious with a balcony overlooking the city. It was nice to have the choice of a bath or a shower. Basic cooking facilities or a restaurant on the ground floor. The "dalek" air conditioning system was unusual, but efficient. Staff were friendly and helpful. Everything was tidy and clean, the hotel is looking a bit tired but is an interesting mix of old and new. They catered well for our group of 40 and the food was varied and very good. I heard a rumour of an in house gym and the pool looked nice and clean. The walk up the hill to the hotel from the city may be a bit of a challenge for some. There is a wide open spaces park area behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Amora Hotel Auckland, we really appreciate the time our guests give when providing such valuable feedback to both us and our future guests.

Yes we do have a gym in the hotel which is on level B1 and also a spa pool which is heated. I am happy to know that you enjoyed and experienced our food in the restaurant and also that our staff were helpful and friendly,as that is what we strive to achieve.

We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 67 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 67 in Auckland Central
710 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,309 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 67 in Auckland Central
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £82 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing