We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay - noisy air conditioning! beware!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible stay - noisy air conditioning! beware!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at the Amora for two nights in late January.

I asked for a room as high as possible away from the elevator and we did get this.

The major problem with the hotel was the air conditioning (pictured). The unit sat in the corner and had a pipe going out of the window. When we turned it on, it was loud, very very loud. Unfortunately it was so hot we had to keep the air conditioning on, and subsequently it kept us awake most of the night.

The bathroom had no ventilation(or very weak ventilation) and the shower was terrible, low water pressure and the temperature kept fluctuating. The bathroom also showed signs of water damage and is clearly in need of some repairs.

We ate breakfast at the hotel one morning and it was expensive for a very small portion, a waste of money.

I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzxnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

So sorry to hear about your experience. If you had informed us about your air conditioning or the bathroom our reception team could have asked the maintenance to have a look into it and fix it.

As for the breakfast at the check in our staff do offer vouchers which are for $20 per head for a full breakfast to enjoy and I can assure you that is good value for money.

We are looking into improving our facilities and hope you would consider staying with us sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    323
    243
    106
    52
See reviews for
113
380
64
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Good Points;
* Quite central to city. If you find the walk back to the hotel too steep, catch the red link bus. Only 50c per person, and it drops you off at the top of the hill.
* Great view from balcony of Sky Tower. We were on the street side.
* Had kitchenette and washing machine. We were not expecting that.

Average Points;
* Strict check in policy. At least they allow you to hold your luggage for free
* Unfortunate the fire and St. John (ambulance) stations were so close.
* The reception staff were ok. They did their jobs, and listen to our criticisms, but were not very enthused to being there.
* Walls to other rooms are thin and not sound-proof. Our neighbor had a good night.

Bad Points;
* In our room the shower head falls out of it's holder when you turn the water off. I was smacked in the head and also the foot.
* Bathroom was filthy. We stayed 3 nights and the shower screen was never cleaned. We thought about buying cleaning products and doing it ourselves.
* To stop the fridge from overheating and leaking, we had to keep the cupboard door open that hid the fridge.
* The air con unit was a waste of time. Had to sleep with the windows and door open.

Didn't Try;
* Didn't use the restaurant as the prices seemed too high, and it always looked empty.
* Didn't use the pool as when we thought about it, the pool was in shadow.
* Didn't use Wi-Fi, as we have our own, but did hear a lot of people complain about it to staff.

Room Tip: Just watch the shower heads, they jump out of their holders when you turn the water off, causing inj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and happy to know that you enjoyed the view from your room.

We apologise for the shower head, and air-conditioning however if you had informed our reception team they would have sent the maintenance person to have a look and fix it while you were staying with us.
I shall take the issue up with the house keeping department regarding the cleaning of your bathroom, but please note that this was a one off incident, our housekeeping staff are very efficient and diligent.

Once again thank you for the time you have taken, and we shall definitely look into it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The hotel was very quiet although we were there at the weekend and the hotel dining area was deserted both evenings we were there so we chose to eat elsewhere. The room was pretty basic with a stand alone air conditioning unit sitting in the corner of the room with an extractor pipe cut through the glass on the balcony window ! When we turned the air con on it was incredibly noisy so we had to turn it off at night. Although the hotel is conveniently located it has limited car parking so try and book in advance. The swimming pool is tiny and in shadow most of the afternoon and the bar area was closed on the only occasion we tried to visit it around 9.30 in the evening. Probably won't revisit. Simply too quiet unlike the Amora in Wellington that is truly superb!

Room Tip: If you need a car parking space try and book in advance otherwise you may have trouble parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.

So sorry to hear that you found our hotel to quite, the reason why the hotel was quite as there was a show in CBD, Dolly Parton was performing and hence most guest were attending that.
As for the air-conditioning, we apologise for that, however if you had informed the reception staff perhaps they could have looked into this for you.

We do hope you would consider visiting us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

we stayed for my wifes birthday and found the hotel in good central location . our room was very good with a balcony and a park view. we had booked with a voucher with a bottle of wine & chocolates and also a very nice breakfast with late check out / all very nice and will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.
We are so delighted to hear that you and wife had a wonderful stay with us and a great way to celebrate her special day.

We look forward to having you stay with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at the Amora for three nights. We found the hotel's location to the city centre and water front good , although it's quite a steep walk back from the centre for any one who has difficulty walking. We had a spar room which over looked the park with a lovely balcony. The facilities were good , the room contained a washer, dryer and a small kitchen area. The only down side was there is no wi fi in the bed rooms, it's available in the hotel lobby only and there is a charge . The hotel also charges for car parking.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KKgatrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.
glad to know that you found our location very handy and convenient. We are working on the WIFI, however it will take a few months till we have that installed.
As for the car park as you know to park in the city can be quite expensive, we do have a safe, secured underground car park which is hard to find in the CBD and we do charge a reasonable amount considering all the above.

We look forward to having you stay with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Very happy with my stay at the Amora Auckland. Had to make a quick unexpected trip to Auckland and my usual hotel was fully booked so I came across the Amora. Very happy with the location and price of my stay. Was only there for a short time so didn't have time to see all of the facilities. The restaurant although quiet was very nice. Reasonably priced and a good selection on the menu. Great if you are in Auckland for a quick trip and need something central. Will definitely be staying here again in the near future.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JRD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback, I am glad that you found our price reasonable. We would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Booked for 3, only set up for 2 on arrival. Whilst staff were very professional , did not find them friendly or outgoing at all. Air conditioning a joke consists of one noisy freestanding unit in the corner, had to sleep with the patio door open for ventilation. Spa pool out of order. On a positive note very clean and well located to City centre and motorway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, General Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Ruth K,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review.

I am delighted to read that you found the Amora Auckland to be clean and well located.

I do apologise for the out of order spa pool. Rest assured that we are doing all we can to get it fixed.

I hope you will continue to stay with us during many more visits to Auckland in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Property: Amora Hotel Auckland
Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing