We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, so-so room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Hotel is located right next to a city park and on a quiet street. It is one block over from Queen Street, the main drag in downtown Auckland where there are plenty of shops and restaurants. It is about 1 mile from the ferry terminal, and an easy walk.
The room was clean, the bed was comfortable but nothing special beyond that. We did have a small balcony that overlooked the city.
The biggest problem was the air conditioner. It was a stand alone unit that was extremely loud. Since it shuts off when you leave, the room is warm when you return so you have to have it on during the summer. It was also not very efficient so it banged away all night. It was hard to hear the TV over the noise.
The shower door also did not fit snuggly against the top of the tub, so the floor flooded whenever we showered.
Common with most other hotels in New Zealand, Internet access was expensive - $30 a day from the room- or you could get access for 30 min in the lobby but it was very slow. The breakfast was not included in our room rate and it was expensive, around $24, so we picked stuff up from the grocery to keep in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to know that the air conditioning and shower gave you a bit of trouble, if you had called the reception they would have sent the maintenance person to have a look into it and fix it for you.
The internet charge is $15 per day, however we are looking into getting WIFI in the hotel. We do offer special breakfast vouchers at the reception, our staff do ask the guest if they would like to avail of this and you can have a full breakfast for only $20 per head.

Once again thank you for the time taken and we shall be looking into improving our facilities. hope to have you stay with us shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
There are newer reviews for Amora Hotel Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

582 - 588 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

An average hotel, average room, average service - just average.

The closeness to K road is an advantage, but the distance to downtown evens it out so the location, too, is average.

I realise this sounds negative, I didn't have a bad time here, there was just nothing outstanding or memorable about the Amora Hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank thatkiwiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your time. Not sure if you were aware there is the Red bus facility which costs only 50c and drops you off just by the hill which is 2 minutes walk to the hotel from the CBD.

We hope you would consider us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This new modern hotel offers good value quality rooms and friendly service.
The location is ideal if you are into the arts scene. Close to good music venues and
restaurants in queen St. The restaurant offers special rates for guests and well priced breakfast vouchers.The location is in a leafy but hilly part of Auckland and backs onto a lovely large park.

Room Tip: All rooms have small balconies and views
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenzo249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for all your positive feedback, we value the time you have taken.

Look forward to welcoming you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived early but were checked in straight away. We were upgraded to a king spa suite with an awesome view over myers park. Our room was clean and fresh. Loved that we were very close to everything espacially the CBD. Yummy breakfast with discount vouchers which we were given upon arrival. Awesome Hotel Great staff Outstanding Room all that we could ask for and more. We will definitly be back to stay at Amora again ! Thanks for making our stay one of the best.

Marie

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Marie,

Delighted to know that you got an early check in and had a wonderful stay with us.

We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at the Amora for two nights in late January.

I asked for a room as high as possible away from the elevator and we did get this.

The major problem with the hotel was the air conditioning (pictured). The unit sat in the corner and had a pipe going out of the window. When we turned it on, it was loud, very very loud. Unfortunately it was so hot we had to keep the air conditioning on, and subsequently it kept us awake most of the night.

The bathroom had no ventilation(or very weak ventilation) and the shower was terrible, low water pressure and the temperature kept fluctuating. The bathroom also showed signs of water damage and is clearly in need of some repairs.

We ate breakfast at the hotel one morning and it was expensive for a very small portion, a waste of money.

I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzxnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

So sorry to hear about your experience. If you had informed us about your air conditioning or the bathroom our reception team could have asked the maintenance to have a look into it and fix it.

As for the breakfast at the check in our staff do offer vouchers which are for $20 per head for a full breakfast to enjoy and I can assure you that is good value for money.

We are looking into improving our facilities and hope you would consider staying with us sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Good Points;
* Quite central to city. If you find the walk back to the hotel too steep, catch the red link bus. Only 50c per person, and it drops you off at the top of the hill.
* Great view from balcony of Sky Tower. We were on the street side.
* Had kitchenette and washing machine. We were not expecting that.

Average Points;
* Strict check in policy. At least they allow you to hold your luggage for free
* Unfortunate the fire and St. John (ambulance) stations were so close.
* The reception staff were ok. They did their jobs, and listen to our criticisms, but were not very enthused to being there.
* Walls to other rooms are thin and not sound-proof. Our neighbor had a good night.

Bad Points;
* In our room the shower head falls out of it's holder when you turn the water off. I was smacked in the head and also the foot.
* Bathroom was filthy. We stayed 3 nights and the shower screen was never cleaned. We thought about buying cleaning products and doing it ourselves.
* To stop the fridge from overheating and leaking, we had to keep the cupboard door open that hid the fridge.
* The air con unit was a waste of time. Had to sleep with the windows and door open.

Didn't Try;
* Didn't use the restaurant as the prices seemed too high, and it always looked empty.
* Didn't use the pool as when we thought about it, the pool was in shadow.
* Didn't use Wi-Fi, as we have our own, but did hear a lot of people complain about it to staff.

Room Tip: Just watch the shower heads, they jump out of their holders when you turn the water off, causing inj...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and happy to know that you enjoyed the view from your room.

We apologise for the shower head, and air-conditioning however if you had informed our reception team they would have sent the maintenance person to have a look and fix it while you were staying with us.
I shall take the issue up with the house keeping department regarding the cleaning of your bathroom, but please note that this was a one off incident, our housekeeping staff are very efficient and diligent.

Once again thank you for the time you have taken, and we shall definitely look into it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The hotel was very quiet although we were there at the weekend and the hotel dining area was deserted both evenings we were there so we chose to eat elsewhere. The room was pretty basic with a stand alone air conditioning unit sitting in the corner of the room with an extractor pipe cut through the glass on the balcony window ! When we turned the air con on it was incredibly noisy so we had to turn it off at night. Although the hotel is conveniently located it has limited car parking so try and book in advance. The swimming pool is tiny and in shadow most of the afternoon and the bar area was closed on the only occasion we tried to visit it around 9.30 in the evening. Probably won't revisit. Simply too quiet unlike the Amora in Wellington that is truly superb!

Room Tip: If you need a car parking space try and book in advance otherwise you may have trouble parking.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.

So sorry to hear that you found our hotel to quite, the reason why the hotel was quite as there was a show in CBD, Dolly Parton was performing and hence most guest were attending that.
As for the air-conditioning, we apologise for that, however if you had informed the reception staff perhaps they could have looked into this for you.

We do hope you would consider visiting us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 67 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 67 in Auckland Central
710 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 67 in Auckland Central
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £82 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing