We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Chicago
Level Contributor
271 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I agree with several other reviews---hotel is reasonably priced, well-located, with friendly staff who strive to help you out, but they are understaffed. The portable air-conditioning unit in our room was very noisy and spit water out onto the upholstered chair next to it. Room was on the sunny side in February so we definitely needed the air-conditioning. Glad we only stayed two nights. Was very disappointed by the charge for the internet. Even the free 30 minutes allotted to guests in the lobby was poor, connection kept dropping out. The couple of laptops available in the lobby were not functional either. Most hotels do much better than this. Had one dinner and one breakfast in the hotel restaurant---nothing special, slow service. I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank activenretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to know that the air conditioning gave you a bit of trouble, if you had called the reception they would have sent the maintenance person to have a look into it and fix it for you. Perhaps when you must be around one of our staff members must have gone on a break, as we always have 2-3 members in one shift.

The internet charge is $15 per day, however we are looking into getting WIFI in the hotel. I shall address the Food & Beverage staff about the slow service, however please note that this was a one off occasion, our staff are very efficient and on top of things.

Once again thank you for the time taken and we shall be looking into improving our facilities. hope to have you stay with us shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    318
    239
    104
    52
See reviews for
112
375
62
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 days at the end of our 7 week trip. Mainly due to how good the sister hotel was in Wellington. Well, no where near. The staff all very friendly and did their best.. it seemed very short staffed and the team were there for long hours it seemed. The rooms are very tired. My biggest gripe no WiFi and charges for in room internet for only 1 PC.. REALLY in the 21st century? You get free WiFi at most places these days.. come on Amora Auckland. Shame as it clearly is not in the same league as it sister hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Sorry that you were disappointment with Amora in Auckland. We are working on the WIFI facility as we are aware that it is a MUST in today's day and age.

As for the staff, none of our staff members work more than 8 hours shift, and perhaps it could have been one of them was on a break when you came around, as we always have 2-3 staff working at any given time/ shift.

We appreciate your feedback and shall definitely try and look into improving our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
423 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Spent two nights at this property. It feels and looks like a hotel on a downhill slide. The reception area is dull and dated. The restaurant and pool area is in reasonable knick. We had a spa bath room on one of the higher floors with a small deck and nice views overlooking Myers Park. The room was very tired with split and cracked gib around the bath. The air conditioning unit was a bit of a joke. It is very noisy and broke down twice during our stay. The washer dryer didn't work as per the instructions. On the second day we came back to the room during the afternoon after it had been serviced to find wee had no towels. We enquired with housekeeping about this and found out that they were being washed. Surely they have more towels than this although they do appear to have been washed almost out of existence. One good thing in the room was the large spa bath. Having stayed at the Amora in Wellington it is like chalk and cheese. The staff try hard but the owners need to back them up by spending some money on this place to make it the 4star place it is advertised as.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Warnervale, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Booked 3 nights through Wotif in late February. Price was most competitive, handy location within easy walking distance to the Skytower and then downhill to the ferry terminal. Room service was great, meals very tasty and so handy being able to cook, wash and dry clothes in room when away from home. Would not hesitate in going back to the Amora.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel itself is nicely located and pretty with all the trees around but the service was terrible. We stayed on the Sunday night of the Bruce Springsteen concert and naturally, the hotel was very busy. However the check in time was 2.00pm and along with a large number of other guests we has to wait nearly 2 hours for our room to be ready to be occupied. Surely the number of guests was not a surprise and more staff maybe would have stopped this long delay with the rooms.
The room was adequate and clean and tidy and very quiet although there was no hair dryer available and the door out to the balcony could not be locked. They do mention that the car parking was on a "first in" basis which is not really acceptable for a hotel and the car parks that were available were very poorly signed. As with one of the other reviews, the floor also flooded when we showered due to the shower door not fitting snugly against the bath tub.
All in all, the service and amenities let this hotel down and we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

After emailing and phoning prior to our booking about a potential early check-in to which I had responses back confirming, not only could we not check in early, we were unable to check in at 2pm either because house keeping had not made our room up. We were told to wait 15 to 20 minutes for this to happen then we would be able to check in to our rooms.
We were just 2 of many in this situation unfortunately waiting at the hotel in excess of an hour for house keeping to clean our allocated rooms. To "compensate" we were all given one hotel bar token which allowed us a complimentary tea, coffee, fruit juice or soft drink which seemed a bit of a kick in the face after waiting so long, we weren't even able to get a decent drink!
We understand that the weekend was particularly busy for the Hotel and Auckland generally due to the concert we were all trying to attend but if you cant accommodate us properly don't accept our bookings and most certainly don't offer an early check-in option if it is unreasonable! As a result we along with many others missed transport bookings made prior and got to the concert much later than anticipated. It was just as well the concert was as amazing as it was other wise it would have been a very expensive and infuriating weekend in Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjpowdrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this Hotel with Grabone voucher which included evening dinner. The hotel is nicely located in the city centre away from the hussle and bussle. We had room over looking Myers Park which was nice and clean. The sir conditioning unit as mentioned on here is loud so had to be turned off at night. We went to the bar for a drink and waited ten minutes to be served eventually I had to go and ask at reception if anyone was working in the bar area. The meal was a great disappointment. It was the smallest piece of steak I have ever had and about 4 vegetables and I mean only four. I took a pictures as I couldn't believe it. I ended up leaving feeling more hungry than when I went in. Breakfast wasn't included and to be honest I was pleased it wasn't. I would stay at the hotel again but as for food and staffing it needs to improve

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TVNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Sorry about your experience with the food and restaurant. I shall look personally into this and have a word with our chef and food & beverage staff.

We do hope you would consider staying with us in the near future, and thank you for the time taken for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 66 in Auckland
523 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 66 in Auckland
917 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,186 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Property: Amora Hotel Auckland
Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing