We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amora Hotel Auckland
Nearby Hotels
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$184
US$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$244
US$223
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
VR Auckland City(Auckland Central)
US$136
US$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
US$151
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
US$198
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$168
US$158
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,053)
Filter reviews
1,053 results
Traveller rating
209
395
281
112
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
395
281
112
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathmyers parkgreys avetree lined streetwashing machineaotea centrek roadsky towerqueen streetsmall balconyquiet locationcentral citydeluxe roomnice roomwould stay againnew zealandfull kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
663 - 668 of 1,053 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Purchased a deal for a spa suite + two dinner mains + carpark + internet for less than NZ$180/night
Room space is generous consider its location and it has all the necessities however having a stand alone air condition unit by the balcony door seem a little cruel.
room divider that separates spa/bath room and the rest of the room clearly show sign of its age
also have a kitchenette and a all in one laundry machine in the room
If you can turn a blind eye on small defects or not so perfect facility this is a great place to stay

both steak and chicken we ordered taste great. would not mind going back just for the food in the future.

Internet is a bit of pain as the included internet only work via a Ethernet cable. I ended up using my mobile internet at the end.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griffin256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Griffin256,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at the Amora Hotel Auckland with us.

We note and take on board your comments regarding the room.
Your compliments have been shared with our food and beverage team who are delighted to note that you enjoyed your dining experience.

We are currently looking at installing Wifi internet throughout all the rooms within the hotel.

We appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Amora Auckland in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed 1 night, very large Studio unit that was fully appointed, great kitchen and very well presented. Couldn't believe that we could get such a great room in the middle of Auckland for under $90 NZ, we had a corner room with a double aspect view. Staff were very professional and nothing was a problem. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandmaitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Sandmaitken,

Thank you for posting such an encouraging review of your stay!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and I hope to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel Auckland in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

What a very good place. We were attending a concert (Doobie Brothers) at the Civic Theatre and this was almost the closest accommodation - only a ten minte downhill walk.
Its a very clean place and with a generous variety of amenities including a kitchenette, mini bar, super pressure in the shower, TV with Sky Sports and a comfy king size bed. It also had a combination washing machine/clothes drier in a cupboard. We didn't need the a/c but I tried it out and it is very noisy.
We were able to check in at noon despite being told it was normally 2pm. We used the place primarily as a base from which to visit and shop. Parking costs $20 per night and their basement is tight. If you've got a large 4x4 then look to park somewhere else. We went out for dinner so can't comment on the meals other than breakfast. It was ok with a good variety of cereals, hot drinks and other things for the Contential. I was surprised that the cooked portion was made to order rather than a line up of options. Given the size of the restuarant and not too many in for bearkfast I guess it makes sense. There were three of us in our group for breaky and we all came away feeling ready to take on the day.
All in all we had a good experince here. All of the the staff we interacted with were helpful and curtiest.
The cost to stay was ok, not cheap but for what was on offer the price was about right. I'd certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors because of the views.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElectricalInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed here for one night while in Auckland for work. Everything about this hotel is fine. The desk assistant was pleasant and my room was ready when I checked in. The room was clean and had everything I needed. The location is pretty central, as long as you don't mind a wee bit of a walk. The whole place is just a bit tired and in need of a spruce. However, I'd stay again if the price was right and I didn't plan on being there long.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Lauren,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Glad you found our hotel value for money, and that we would see more of you.

We are looking into a few changes and we anticipate sometimes soon.

Once again appreciate the time you taken.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Been here three times and the service and cleanliness is close to excellent for the price.
The suites are a good size, good decor, great views from up high.
Recently discovered their pool, one cool, one heated, lovely way to unwind at the end of a long day.
Short walk from Aotea Centre, right next to Myer Park, Queen St and K Rd about 3 mins walk away and for good souvlaki etc go to K Rd and turn right, yum!
I don't often write reviews but I love staying at the Amora, I'm treated with respect and I'm sure everyone else is also, as have those who've stayed with me.
The lunch specials are small but nice, breakfast is about the only non-appealing feature, would prefer cheaper options with greater range.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertWoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We appreciate the time you have taken.

Yes we are in a very handy location and that makes everything so much easier. With the breakfast we shall discuss this with the chef, and see what best we can do to improve the variety as well as keep the cost in mind.

We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews