We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Thanks Amora Hotel. We had a lovely stay. It was a great location, just on the edge of the city hub, so close, yet nice and quiet! Lovely rooms, comfy bed. Managed to get a really good rate including breakfast and carpark. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krave123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear krave123,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read your encouraging comments regarding the great location of the hotel as well as the room. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the entire team.

krave123, we intend to continue offering such great accommodation deals and encourage you to book with us at Amora Hotels website.

Thank you once again for providing such encouraging feedback, and I hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back to “Amora Hotel Auckland”.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Checked in and was not given internet passwords etc at the time, had to ring reception later.
Rang restaurant 3 times to reserve a table, not once was the phone answered.
Decided to walk to the restaurant and book, then had a drink in the bar. Service was poor there, bartender had to keep going from the bar to the restaurant to get change, did not appear to have a till in the bar, so that slowed everyone's service down.
Movie channel was not working.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nzredranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Nzredranger,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. We note your comments regarding improving our service standards across both areas the front desk and restaurant.
We take these comments seriously and have discussed this with my respective teams.

Nzredranger, I do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and take all of your feedback on board with an aim to improving our product and service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel Auckland in the near future.

Your Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A friend and I stay for a long weekend. The room was clean and the two queen beds were very comfortable. Located near Karangahape Road we discovered groovy and cheap out of the way places for breakfast, therefore we did not eat at the Amora. It is a bit of a hike back up to the hotel from the waterfront where we spent most of our time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesKay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear JesKay62,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your long weekend away.

We aim to provide a quality experience at Amora Hotel Auckland and are delighted to read your comments regarding the cleanliness and comfort of your room.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel Auckland in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I booked a room on wotif which also came with parking was excellent value. I have stayed here before and last time the room was very noisy but this time much better, we had a 9th floor corner room. Beds very comfy, hot pool was lovely after a hard day shopping. No complaints really except no free wifi but can see from other comments its coming. Close to CBD and bus, overall a pleasant stay, will definitely stay again if price is right.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Robyn H,

Thank you for such an encouraging feedback & for taking the time to share your experience, we are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your room, the hotel facilities and our location.
It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a wonderful time.

I am glad to inform you that, we begin the installation of Wifi internet throughout the property next week which will further enhance the guest experience.

Robyn H, for the best accommodation deals and pricing, please book through our Amora Hotels website.

Thank you once again for your feedback & we look forward to welcoming you back to Amora Hotel Auckland in the near future.

Your Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We got a package deal through Wotif to stay overnight after a wedding. Handy place to stay near the central city. Car parking was included in our pre-booked package - always check if this is included in Auckland hotels, as another $20-25 can make a difference in the overall price!

A cross between a hotel and motel. Mini-bar in room(hotel), but also cooking facilities and a washing machine! Extremely clean, with a large, comfortable bed, heating (to warm the room up from the chilly aircon), toaster, microwave, fridge, TV etc. With such a short stay, we didn't have time to check out the swimming pool.

Unusually, no WIFI at all in our room, and we would have had to pay to access it in the lobby - we expect more these days.

Not sure if short staffed, or if this is their usual, but there was a queue of 12 or 13 people all waiting just before 10 am at Reception to check out, and only one person on the desk...

However, overall very nice - would happily stay again.

Room Tip: The view gets better as you go higher!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRS565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear MRS565,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read your comments regarding the cleanliness and facilities of your room.
I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the entire team.

We are glad to inform you that we are commencing the installation of complimentary WIFi Internet throughout the property which will enhance the guest experience.

Your observation regarding staffing is definitely an exception to the norm as we are committed to providing an appropriate level of service to all our guests.

I hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back to “Amora Hotel Auckland”.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I really liked the place. It was positioned close to the center of Auckland (10-15 minute walk). The Hop On Hop Off bus stops right in front of the hotel for free pick up. Lots of take out restaurants and convenient stores near by .A quaint park right behind the hotel- Myer's Park. Nice quiet safe area. There's basement parking for $20 a night but try to park early, as they can run out .
The rooms are spacious enough for our family of 4 . And it is the most complete hotel room (not apartment) I have been . Our 2 queen sized bedroom came with a kitchenette complete with pans, plates, and utensils. It had 2 electric oven tops with a hood , microwave , coffee pot, coffee press, toaster, kitchen sink. And it has a washing machine-dryer inside the room. Of course it had the usual air conditioner, LCD TV , hair dryer , iron with ironing board, etc.
Bathroom was clean and modern with a tub- shower set up. Room was great. Beds were great (pillows can be improved but that's a small matter). Each room had a small nice balcony. Service was good and the crew would go out of their way to please.
Can't really complain on anything. Loved it. This is perfect for a traveling family, especially if you want to prepare your meals and need to do the laundry. Bit Pricey but Highly recommended

Tip: Request for a 6th floor or higher room facing the city to have a view of the Tower and other landmarks.

Room Tip: Request for a 6th floor or higher room facing the city to have a view of the Tower and other landmar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRavelBug232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear TRavelBug232323,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read your comments in relation to your stay, it is always such a pleasure to receive positive feedback!

I do hope you get the opportunity to visit us again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We've stayed at the Amora a few times now, even back to when it was the Duxton, and all I can say is its been on a downward sloe now for some time. Getting very shabby , in need despersately of a complete overhall. We had a delux, hmmm, room on the 1st floor. the whole area around the halls and lift stank of cigaret smoke. The place is looking tired and worn. We went to the bar for a couple of cocktails before dinner, not hard ones a manhattan, which Im happy to relay how to make. The bar manager thought dry vermouth was the same as martini rosso, and when I explained the difference he couldnt see why he couldnt make it with the dry. Even saying that they dont get much call for martini people only ever ask for it in "shots", what? Then he mised up the gin and tonic and rum and coke and put rum and gin in thehttps://c1.tacdn.com/img2/x.gif same glass. Not great.
The one saving grace was the waitress at dinner and the meal which we had that was really good. Down side again the same, person that was serving bar was manager of the restaurant for the evening, set our table for starters, which we hadn't ordered and put the cutlery in the wrong places. Now I could forgive that if it was the only mistake of the night, but I think that guy needs to go back to school and learn his job, and he needs to smile once in a while.
So no we wont be back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Alisabinhyde,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

We note and take on board your comments regarding the room and corridors. I am very disappointed to read that your experience regarding the food and beverage services at the hotel was substandard, we aim to provide a quality experience at Amora Hotel Auckland.

I will speak with the staff member concerned and bar training will be provided to the entire food and beverage team.

Alisabinhyde, I would like to personally welcome you back to the property and offer you free (proper manhattan) cocktails when you next decide to stay with us. Please do contact me directly on gm@auckland.amorahotels.com and I will make all the necessary arrangements.

Thank you for choosing to stay us and I hope you will allow us to show the true spirit of Amora hospitality on your next visit to Auckland.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 65 in Auckland Central
970 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,165 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,240 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £92 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing