We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Matakana, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed for two nights in a one bedroom executive suite. Parking was included in the package and the rate was very good value. All staff were professional, friendly and welcoming, and made check in and checkout very easy. I was impressed with the apartment, which was spotlessly clean, very spacious and the King bed was very comfortable. A personalised welcome note and the fruit platter on the dining table on my arrival were nice touches. It would be helpful to have in- room Wi-Fi but I was happy to hot spot off my mobile.
Many thanks to Louisa and the Amora team. I will be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiversideMatakana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Riverside Matakana,

Thank you for sharing such a delightful feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

Your appreciation of our service is indeed heart-warming. It is our continuous endeavour to provide our guests with highest levels of hospitality and motivation such as yours encourages us to give our best.

I have conveyed your compliments to the entire team, especially Louisa for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We are currently installing Wi-Fi internet across the entire hotel and this should further enhance the guest experience.

We are happy to note that you will return back to Amora Hotel Auckland soon. Should you need assistance with regards to your reservations, please do let me know. It will be my pleasure.

We are grateful for your rating and recommendation of our hotel and look forward to many more opportunities to be of service.

Yours sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    334
    253
    106
    52
See reviews for
113
394
65
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A functional, comfortable CBD hotel but expensive Wi-Fi doesn't reach the rooms (only ground floor and mezzanine). Not acceptable in a modern hotel appealing to business clientele or people who use smartphones and tablets. (There is cable broadband in rooms for laptops). Plumbing and aircon noisy. Bathroom basic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Jeremy L,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

We aim to provide a quality experience at Amora Hotel Auckland and we are currently installing WIFi Internet throughout the property which will enhance your experience in the near future.

We have also begun improving areas such as guest amenities, beds and luxurious linen for bathroom and bedrooms for all our rooms.

Jeremy, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay us and I hope we will see you back at the Amora Hotel Auckland soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Paihia, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Thanks Amora Hotel. We had a lovely stay. It was a great location, just on the edge of the city hub, so close, yet nice and quiet! Lovely rooms, comfy bed. Managed to get a really good rate including breakfast and carpark. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krave123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear krave123,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read your encouraging comments regarding the great location of the hotel as well as the room. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the entire team.

krave123, we intend to continue offering such great accommodation deals and encourage you to book with us at Amora Hotels website.

Thank you once again for providing such encouraging feedback, and I hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back to “Amora Hotel Auckland”.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Checked in and was not given internet passwords etc at the time, had to ring reception later.
Rang restaurant 3 times to reserve a table, not once was the phone answered.
Decided to walk to the restaurant and book, then had a drink in the bar. Service was poor there, bartender had to keep going from the bar to the restaurant to get change, did not appear to have a till in the bar, so that slowed everyone's service down.
Movie channel was not working.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nzredranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Nzredranger,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. We note your comments regarding improving our service standards across both areas the front desk and restaurant.
We take these comments seriously and have discussed this with my respective teams.

Nzredranger, I do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and take all of your feedback on board with an aim to improving our product and service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel Auckland in the near future.

Your Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A friend and I stay for a long weekend. The room was clean and the two queen beds were very comfortable. Located near Karangahape Road we discovered groovy and cheap out of the way places for breakfast, therefore we did not eat at the Amora. It is a bit of a hike back up to the hotel from the waterfront where we spent most of our time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesKay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear JesKay62,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your long weekend away.

We aim to provide a quality experience at Amora Hotel Auckland and are delighted to read your comments regarding the cleanliness and comfort of your room.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel Auckland in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I booked a room on wotif which also came with parking was excellent value. I have stayed here before and last time the room was very noisy but this time much better, we had a 9th floor corner room. Beds very comfy, hot pool was lovely after a hard day shopping. No complaints really except no free wifi but can see from other comments its coming. Close to CBD and bus, overall a pleasant stay, will definitely stay again if price is right.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Robyn H,

Thank you for such an encouraging feedback & for taking the time to share your experience, we are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your room, the hotel facilities and our location.
It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a wonderful time.

I am glad to inform you that, we begin the installation of Wifi internet throughout the property next week which will further enhance the guest experience.

Robyn H, for the best accommodation deals and pricing, please book through our Amora Hotels website.

Thank you once again for your feedback & we look forward to welcoming you back to Amora Hotel Auckland in the near future.

Your Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We got a package deal through Wotif to stay overnight after a wedding. Handy place to stay near the central city. Car parking was included in our pre-booked package - always check if this is included in Auckland hotels, as another $20-25 can make a difference in the overall price!

A cross between a hotel and motel. Mini-bar in room(hotel), but also cooking facilities and a washing machine! Extremely clean, with a large, comfortable bed, heating (to warm the room up from the chilly aircon), toaster, microwave, fridge, TV etc. With such a short stay, we didn't have time to check out the swimming pool.

Unusually, no WIFI at all in our room, and we would have had to pay to access it in the lobby - we expect more these days.

Not sure if short staffed, or if this is their usual, but there was a queue of 12 or 13 people all waiting just before 10 am at Reception to check out, and only one person on the desk...

However, overall very nice - would happily stay again.

Room Tip: The view gets better as you go higher!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRS565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear MRS565,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read your comments regarding the cleanliness and facilities of your room.
I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the entire team.

We are glad to inform you that we are commencing the installation of complimentary WIFi Internet throughout the property which will enhance the guest experience.

Your observation regarding staffing is definitely an exception to the norm as we are committed to providing an appropriate level of service to all our guests.

I hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back to “Amora Hotel Auckland”.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
950 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
546 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.6 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,759 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Property: Amora Hotel Auckland
Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing