We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LITTLE ATTENTION NEEDED” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amora Hotel Auckland

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
181 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“LITTLE ATTENTION NEEDED”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Got a good rate on Wotif , great location easy access to all things
Welcoming check in staff
Room large enough , but a little attention is needed to housekeeping standards nagement needs to address
Obviously laundry is done in house not up to other hotels standardss of being pressed and starched, this laundry showing signs of wear , towels not white , rather drab in colour ... greyish, felt very unclean
The Bed cover that was on the end of the bed needs immediate cleaning was grubby
But to be fair how many minutes do you allow cleaning staff per room ??But size of room for a weekend is great and a reasonable view from outside decks
Didnt dine in house but saw very good meal deals on the advertised menu
Parking that you paid extra for was very limited and had to go back to reception to get a staff car moved so carpark was available
Walls in need of repaint showing large amounts of wear and tear
Air Conditioning / heating system very noisy

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johntoddl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear rambo1950,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found our staff welcoming.

It is our aim to provide a quality experience for all our guests at the Amora Hotel Auckland and towards that end we have already deployed a new WI-Fi network throughout the hotel along with a complementary access for the first 60 mins.

I understand and appreciate that the room linen is showing signs of wear and I am glad to inform you that since your stay we have already begun replacing all our hotel linen for bathroom and bathrooms alike.

rambo 1950, I thank you for your time and appreciate your feedback. Because of feedback such as yours, we are able to monitor areas which need improvement and implement solutions, all in an effort to further enhance the guest experience.

I note your comment regarding car parking and this will be addressed with the team.

We thank you for choosing to stay us and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    314
    235
    103
    52
See reviews for
110
372
60
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a standard double room with two double beds - for 2 adults and two children. The room was small but comfortable.
The rooms are a little dated, but they are clean and have everything we needed for a 1 night stay in the city. Not that we used it, but great that the rooms have a small kitchen, and a washing machine :)
Nice little balcony off the room with fantastic views of the Sky Tower.
The location is excellent. Parking is extra unless you score it in a deal. But we got a pretty good deal on the room so we were happy to pay for our secure carpark. Once you park up you can walk everywhere in the city.
My husband made use of the gym which is small but has good equipment. Unusual shaped room though and not for anyone who might suffer from claustrophobia as its tiny!
Overall we were more than happy with our stay and would definitely pick Amora Hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPwhanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear KPwhanau,

Thank you for posting a review of Amora Hotel Auckland on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read your comments regarding the location of the hotel, cleanliness of the room and amenities provided. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the entire team.

KPwhanau, thank you for choosing to stay us and look forward to welcoming you back to “Amora Hotel Auckland” in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our booking had been for two adults and two children. This had been booked long before our visit yet there were only two cups, two glasses, two towels you get the jist of it. The hot tub was great but the pool was cold. It would have been better if the pool was around the 30 degree temp. The place was clean and user friendly. Good TV and Movie selection.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Walter M,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

Whilst I am disappointed to read that your room did not have sufficient crockery or glassware for a family of four.

We are glad that you enjoyed the use of the hot tub, swimming pool and movies on demand.

Walter, we do take all of your comments on board with an aim to further improving our product and service.

Thank you for choosing to stay us and I hope we will see you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matakana, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed for two nights in a one bedroom executive suite. Parking was included in the package and the rate was very good value. All staff were professional, friendly and welcoming, and made check in and checkout very easy. I was impressed with the apartment, which was spotlessly clean, very spacious and the King bed was very comfortable. A personalised welcome note and the fruit platter on the dining table on my arrival were nice touches. It would be helpful to have in- room Wi-Fi but I was happy to hot spot off my mobile.
Many thanks to Louisa and the Amora team. I will be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RiversideMatakana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Riverside Matakana,

Thank you for sharing such a delightful feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

Your appreciation of our service is indeed heart-warming. It is our continuous endeavour to provide our guests with highest levels of hospitality and motivation such as yours encourages us to give our best.

I have conveyed your compliments to the entire team, especially Louisa for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We are currently installing Wi-Fi internet across the entire hotel and this should further enhance the guest experience.

We are happy to note that you will return back to Amora Hotel Auckland soon. Should you need assistance with regards to your reservations, please do let me know. It will be my pleasure.

We are grateful for your rating and recommendation of our hotel and look forward to many more opportunities to be of service.

Yours sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

A functional, comfortable CBD hotel but expensive Wi-Fi doesn't reach the rooms (only ground floor and mezzanine). Not acceptable in a modern hotel appealing to business clientele or people who use smartphones and tablets. (There is cable broadband in rooms for laptops). Plumbing and aircon noisy. Bathroom basic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Jeremy L,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

We aim to provide a quality experience at Amora Hotel Auckland and we are currently installing WIFi Internet throughout the property which will enhance your experience in the near future.

We have also begun improving areas such as guest amenities, beds and luxurious linen for bathroom and bedrooms for all our rooms.

Jeremy, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay us and I hope we will see you back at the Amora Hotel Auckland soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Thanks Amora Hotel. We had a lovely stay. It was a great location, just on the edge of the city hub, so close, yet nice and quiet! Lovely rooms, comfy bed. Managed to get a really good rate including breakfast and carpark. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krave123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear krave123,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read your encouraging comments regarding the great location of the hotel as well as the room. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the entire team.

krave123, we intend to continue offering such great accommodation deals and encourage you to book with us at Amora Hotels website.

Thank you once again for providing such encouraging feedback, and I hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back to “Amora Hotel Auckland”.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Checked in and was not given internet passwords etc at the time, had to ring reception later.
Rang restaurant 3 times to reserve a table, not once was the phone answered.
Decided to walk to the restaurant and book, then had a drink in the bar. Service was poor there, bartender had to keep going from the bar to the restaurant to get change, did not appear to have a till in the bar, so that slowed everyone's service down.
Movie channel was not working.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nzredranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Nzredranger,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. We note your comments regarding improving our service standards across both areas the front desk and restaurant.
We take these comments seriously and have discussed this with my respective teams.

Nzredranger, I do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and take all of your feedback on board with an aim to improving our product and service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel Auckland in the near future.

Your Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Property: Amora Hotel Auckland
Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda and Travelbag so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing