We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We got a special price and found the rooms were excellent. Location is very good. Didn't use the restaurant which seemed very expensive. Reception staff were helpful and the decor was first class. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: A room looking over the park would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Ian M,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you believe our accommodation was value for money and found the room and location of the hotel to be very good. Our endeavour remains to continuously engage in service excellence and provide real value for money.

We are also happy to receive your positive comments on our staff being helpful.

I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the entire team.

Ian M, for the best accommodation deals and pricing, please book through our Amora Hotels website as we offer the best price guarantee.

Thank you once again for your feedback & we look forward to welcoming you back to Amora Hotel Auckland in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    319
    240
    104
    52
See reviews for
112
377
63
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moonee Ponds, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I spent two nights here and on both nights the Grill and bar service were awful. No regard for customers and had disappearing staff. Waited so long for service, I along with the other guests waiting, gave up and left to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mosoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear mosoul,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am very disappointed to read that you did not receive the level of service that is expected of us during your stay at the hotel. We note your comments regarding improving our service standards across both the restaurant and bar areas.
We take these comments seriously and have discussed this with my respective teams.

mosoul, I do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and take all of your feedback on board with an aim to improving our services for the future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope you do give us another chance to show you the true spirit of Amora hospitality the next time you are in Auckland.

Your Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I was quite excited to stay here as I have been to the Wellington Amora and it was great however the Auckland property is a let down. It needs a refurb as the room was shabby, carpet was torn and the clip that holds the shower head was broken so kept falling off. Restaurant is way too overpriced you are better off going to the city. i wouldn't stay here again as I thought it was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxJazzxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Jazz,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel.
We note your comments regarding improving your room being shabby, carpets torn and the broken shower head holder. We take these comments seriously and have discussed this with my respective teams.

Jazz, I do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and take all of your feedback on board with an aim to improving our product and service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel Auckland in the near future.

Your Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I wasn't expecting super luxury but it is time this hotel had a major makeover. Air conditioning unit in the room was an ugly standalone unit with a flexi hose running to a hole in the glass. Made more noise than a jumbo jet and you certainly couldn't sleep with it on. No extra blankets in the room so our night's sleep was cold and uncomfortable. No coffee cups, just tea cups and that made making a sachet coffee rather difficult. Leak in the bathroom vanity meant my wife's toilet bag was soaked in the morning. Paintwork in the bathroom was deteriorating badly. That said the room was reasonably clean apart from dirty finger prints on the doors. Only 1 hour of free wifi so didn't bother with that. And only a few basic Sky channels - poor compared to ,ots of cheaper places I've stayed at. Will never be going back here!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Mike C,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel.
We aim to provide a quality experience at Amora Hotel Auckland and we have clearly failed to meet your expectations. The clear lack of amenities in the room such as the blankets and coffee cups are unacceptable and this will be addressed with the housekeeping team. The current Sky channels are being reviewed with a view to upgrading them.

Mike C, I do thank you for taking the time to write this feedback and we will take this on board with an aim to improving our product and service.

Thank you for choosing to stay us and I hope we will see you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Amora Hotel was promised by a business associate to be a great,value for money stay, and I'm glad we trusted him! We got a great price online for a Deluxe King Spa Room and the location was perfect for a quick walk to our business conference venue at Aotea Square, right in the heart of Auckland. We were mostly happy with our room, however for the price we paid, we were not overly fussy. Parts of the room could use touching up; paint flaking and a slight amount of water damage from the spa bath. The only downside was a very noisy heatpump in the room, and being winter, we needed it on to take the chill off the room. We suspect though that since we got a good deal on the room, we pay have been given a room in the line up for upgrade.
We dined one night at the restaurant and I do feel for the price (high $30's for mains) a lot more effort needs to be put into modernizing and refining the menu and dishes.
I will definitely recommend, if you get the chance, to indulge in a room service breakfast. Our room came with breakfast included and we were able to enjoy Sunday morning with a lovely eggs benedict and pancakes!
To finish, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the hotel has a great atmosphere.
Would love to stay again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexJCoupland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Alex Coupland,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.
We are truly delighted that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the hotel atmosphere.

Our endeavour remains to continuously engage in service excellence and to provide real value for money. For the best accommodation deals and pricing, please book through our Amora Hotels website.

We note your comments regarding the heat pump and water damage in your room as well as dinner menu refinement. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your Sunday morning breakfast of eggs benedict and pancakes. Your positive comments on our staff being friendly and helpful is greatly appreciated.

Alex, we do take all of your comments on board with an aim to further improving our product and service.

The team and I thank you once again for your time, the insightful review and look forward to welcoming you back to Amora Auckland in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Amora on a recent trip to Auckland. We booked through lastminute and had the car park and wifi included in the cost. The room was clean, spacious and a great kitchenette. While the staff was excellent, we were quite disappointed with the bed. The mattress was VERY old, with springs poking through and saggy. When we addressed this at the reception desk, we were offered a piece of cardboard to put under the mattress as the only solution. The beds definitely need updating, a week of sleeping on these mattresses is not great for your back.
All in all we enjoyed our stay, and would recommend if the beds are replaced.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Woodbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Woodbus,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your clean and spacious room and found our staff to be excellant .

It is our aim to provide a quality experience for all our guests at the Amora Hotel Auckland and towards that end we have already deployed a new WI-Fi network throughout the hotel which was included in your accommodation package.

I am aware and appreciate that the current beds are in need of updating and I am glad to inform you that since your stay we have signed up with Sealy NZ to supply us with Hotel Classic Euro Top mattresses and bases sets to be installed in all our 149 rooms and suites. We envisage this project to commence next month and will be completed within three weeks.

Woodbus, I thank you for your time and appreciate your feedback. Because of feedback such as yours, we are able to monitor areas which need improvement and implement solutions, all in an effort to further enhance the guest experience.

I am certain that you will now be able to recommend Amora Auckland with confidence.

We thank you for choosing to stay us and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed at the Amora after getting a really good deal through Laterooms. The hotel is set up a slight hill about a 10 minute walk from Queen Street in what looks like a residential area. I arrived quite late and was met by a friendly welcome at the reception. The room was large and spacious, perfectly adequate for a weekend stay. It had self catering facilities as well as a washer / dryer which would be useful for a longer stay. The breakfast was lovely though there were not many hot cooked options. All the staff I encountered were very friendly, the room was fine with a comfy bed and perfectly clean though I found the location a bit out of the way but that depends on what you want to do and if you have a car or not. I didn't use wi-fi so can't comment about that. It is quite a small hotel, the bar area is tiny and not very inviting. It was fine for a weekend break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonGirl59_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear DevonGirl59_11,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read your encouraging comments regarding the friendliness of the staff, comfort and cleanliness of the room. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the entire team. I note your comments regarding hot cooked breakfast options and will look into it.

DevonGirl59_11, we intend to continue offering such great accommodation deals and encourage you to book with us at Amora Hotels website.

Thank you once again for providing such encouraging feedback, and I hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back to “Amora Hotel Auckland”.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Property: Amora Hotel Auckland
Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing