We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amora hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amora hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

this hotel was super handy, very reasonable, clean and tidy.
it's getting a little old, bathrooms could do with being done up slightly. Towels etc were slightly worn. but all in all for your money it was very clean, comfy beds. Just getting slightly worn.
:o)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Mandy W,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are truly delighted that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, our brand new Sealy Beds as well as the cleanliness of rooms.

Our endeavour remains to continuously engage in service excellence and to provide real value for money. For the best accommodation deals and pricing, please book through our Amora Hotels website.

Mandy, we do take all of your comments on board with an aim to further improving our product and service.

The team and I thank you once again for your time and look forward to welcoming you back to Amora Auckland in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    334
    253
    106
    52
See reviews for
113
394
65
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and i stayed here this past weekend. The hotel was nice, amazing service, especially at reception, close to everywhere and did a good breakfast. We stayed in a penthouse suite which was clean, tidy and roomy. The view of the city and skytower from the window n the balcony was nice and was a five minute walk to aotea square/queen st. Will stay there again in future and fully recommend

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cflutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, General Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Cflutey,

Thank you very much for choosing Amora Hotel Auckland during your visit to Auckland and also for sparing time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Our team is grateful for your wonderful words of appreciation of our product, services and location being convenient.

We are also happy to receive your positive comments on our reception staff and I shall pass that comment onto the team.

Thank you once again for your time and so delighted to know that you would fully recommend us we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paihia, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights, it was a good deal on Wotif. For us, the lacation was very convenient, you can park your car outside the hotel at the roadside, if you find some space, otherwise there is a garage for $20 per night in the hotel. Rooms are ok size, we had 2 queen beds, which were very soft, too soft for us. The bathroom needs to be renovated, the door was badly damaged in one corner, and the bathtub and shower gear was old. But it all worked fine. I think it is not a 4 * hotel, rather 3*. We didn't have breakfast here, which is $20pp, because we tried it once and it was nothing special at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Ikat58,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you found the location of the hotel convenient and car parking easily accessible. We do take note of your comment regarding the damaged bathroom door and which will be fixed by the maintenance team.

Ikat58, we intend to continue offering great accommodation deals and encourage you to book with us at Amora Hotels website which will have the best price available.

I thank you for your time and appreciate your feedback. Because of feedback such as yours, we are able to monitor areas which need improvement and implement solutions, all in an effort to further enhance the guest experience.

We thank you for choosing to stay us and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Thank you amora for your awesome services and unfailing need to impress, the room was warm and had a lot of space, the bed was comfortable, beautiful view from the balcony, loved the swimming pool except for the big towering building of offices that have full view of you relaxing In the pool, which was a little awkward other then that, 10 out of 10

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Jasmin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at the Amora Hotel Auckland with us.

We are delighted to read your encouraging comments and how you found your room to be warm, spacious and comfortable. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the entire team.

I am sure that i will serve as an inspiration for my staff.

Jasmin, we intend to continue offering a great product and service and encourage you to book with us at Amora Hotels website in the future.

Thank you once again for providing such encouraging feedback, and I hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back to “Amora Hotel Auckland”.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms are comfortable enough albeit with some signs of wear and tear. The service at check in was not great and the gym not worth using.

Breakfast was also poor but there seems some cafes up the road I should have gone to.

Probably the main issues is how far from down town it is. Definitely too far to walk for dinner.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank andreww w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Andreww w,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are surprised to read that you found the location of our hotel to be poor and too far to walk for dinner. Being centrally located and right next to the quiet surrounds of Myer's park, the consistent feedback we have received thus far has been very positive.

We aim to provide a quality experience at Amora Hotel Auckland.

I note your comments regarding the level of service at check -in and the breakfast offering to be poor. We do take all of your comments seriously and have discussed this with the respective teams.

Andreww w, I do take all of your feedback on board with an aim to improving our product and service.

Thank you for choosing to stay us and I hope we will see you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Napier, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We got a special price and found the rooms were excellent. Location is very good. Didn't use the restaurant which seemed very expensive. Reception staff were helpful and the decor was first class. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: A room looking over the park would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Ian M,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you believe our accommodation was value for money and found the room and location of the hotel to be very good. Our endeavour remains to continuously engage in service excellence and provide real value for money.

We are also happy to receive your positive comments on our staff being helpful.

I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the entire team.

Ian M, for the best accommodation deals and pricing, please book through our Amora Hotels website as we offer the best price guarantee.

Thank you once again for your feedback & we look forward to welcoming you back to Amora Hotel Auckland in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonee Ponds, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I spent two nights here and on both nights the Grill and bar service were awful. No regard for customers and had disappearing staff. Waited so long for service, I along with the other guests waiting, gave up and left to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mosoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear mosoul,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am very disappointed to read that you did not receive the level of service that is expected of us during your stay at the hotel. We note your comments regarding improving our service standards across both the restaurant and bar areas.
We take these comments seriously and have discussed this with my respective teams.

mosoul, I do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and take all of your feedback on board with an aim to improving our services for the future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope you do give us another chance to show you the true spirit of Amora hospitality the next time you are in Auckland.

Your Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
950 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
546 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.6 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,759 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Property: Amora Hotel Auckland
Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing