We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel has a central location. I had a spacious sunny room and enjoyed the additional benefit of kitchen facilities. The bathroom has a bath as well as shower. Another feature I really appreciated was good lighting as this is often missing, even in much more expensive hotels. Linen and towels were a bit tired but overall, I found it very comfortable and good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Judith M,

Thank you very much for choosing Amora Hotel Auckland during your visit to Auckland and also for sparing time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are grateful for your wonderful words of appreciation of our product and location.
Our endeavour remains to continuously engage in service excellence and provide real value for money.

The team and I thank you once again for your time, the wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
There are newer reviews for Amora Hotel Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

stayed 3 nights ,stayed on the 7th floor, good view of the city , room was very clean and staff were great. easy walk down hill to queen st ,taxi at the door if needed. was very happy with what i paid , value for money.

Room Tip: front of building 7th floor, good view of the city
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank betty e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, General Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Bettye,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you believe our accommodation was value for money and enjoyed the view of the city from your balcony.

It gives us great encouragement when we receive such comments with regards to excellent staff and that you received the level of service we strive for each day.

Our endeavour remains to continuously engage in service excellence and provide real value for money.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I was booked a penthouse suite for my stay in August. Arrived to room 8 on the 10th floor at 7pm on a very wet cold night to fine 2 windows wide open, so room was very cold. The AC/heater unit is ceiling mounted up by the mezzanine bed room, which meant it was hard to heat the lounge area.
The curtains didn't close properly, there was main light bulb missing from the bed room and the fridge was warm and didn't seem to chill at all.
The only thing this room had going for it was the view, though was otherwise clean and tidy. For the money, i'm not sure if i'd stay again in this room

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ricky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Ricky S,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to read that there was a clear lack of attention to detail from the housekeeping team leaving the two windows open after they finished cleaning the room. The curtains and the missing light bulb issues have been addressed with the housekeeping and maintenance teams alike.

Ricky S, I do thank you for taking the time to write this feedback and we will take this on board with an aim to improving our product and service.

Thank you for choosing to stay us and I hope we will see you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Though in a good location, our stay was disappointing. The hotel is old and really run down, overdue for a refurbishment by about 3 years at least. Not what one would expect from what was formerly the Duxton.
The bed was hard, pillows lumpy and in-room wall heater was broken. The stand-up air cooler was attached unceremoniously to the glass panels on the balcony and was extremely noisy when run. As it was not a perfect fit, cold air from outside filled the room all night. The washing machine/dryer was struggling to function and not all features were available (not to mention the instructions are confusing). We had to air dry our laundry in the bathroom while running the heater (which I presumed doubled as the hair dryer too since there was none to be found.)
Breakfast was one of the most abysmal I've come across for a hotel which claims it's 4-star and also expensive for the lack of selections offered.
However, credit needs to be given to Andrei (of Front Office) - he was extremely personable and changed rooms for us immediately after we complained the first Studio reeked of cigarette smoke and cheap sanitizer spray (looks like Housekeeping was hiding something!) He also tried his best to show us how to work the washing machine and also to get the heater to work, and helped to arrange pickup to the airport.
Left the hotel after 3 nights with a very sore back and stiff neck. If Amora does not buck up and refurbish, we will not be returning.
Not worthy of the 4-stars it claims to be.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Lynn L,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel.

We aim to provide a quality experience at Amora Hotel Auckland and we have clearly failed to meet your expectations. I note your comments regarding the broken in room wall heater, noisy stand up air cooler and the missing hairdryer. All these issues have been addressed with the maintenance and housekeeping teams. I am glad to inform you that since your stay, we have replaced all our bedsets with the Sealy NZ "Hotel Classic Euro Top" beds and also replaced the old pillows.

I am glad to hear that Andre was personable and helpful. I will ensure that his efforts are acknowledged in the presence of his colleagues and piers.

Lynn L, I do thank you for taking the time to write this feedback and we will take this on board with an aim to improving our product and service.

Thank you for choosing to stay us and I hope we will see you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

this hotel was super handy, very reasonable, clean and tidy.
it's getting a little old, bathrooms could do with being done up slightly. Towels etc were slightly worn. but all in all for your money it was very clean, comfy beds. Just getting slightly worn.
:o)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mandy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Mandy W,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are truly delighted that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, our brand new Sealy Beds as well as the cleanliness of rooms.

Our endeavour remains to continuously engage in service excellence and to provide real value for money. For the best accommodation deals and pricing, please book through our Amora Hotels website.

Mandy, we do take all of your comments on board with an aim to further improving our product and service.

The team and I thank you once again for your time and look forward to welcoming you back to Amora Auckland in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and i stayed here this past weekend. The hotel was nice, amazing service, especially at reception, close to everywhere and did a good breakfast. We stayed in a penthouse suite which was clean, tidy and roomy. The view of the city and skytower from the window n the balcony was nice and was a five minute walk to aotea square/queen st. Will stay there again in future and fully recommend

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank cflutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, General Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Cflutey,

Thank you very much for choosing Amora Hotel Auckland during your visit to Auckland and also for sparing time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Our team is grateful for your wonderful words of appreciation of our product, services and location being convenient.

We are also happy to receive your positive comments on our reception staff and I shall pass that comment onto the team.

Thank you once again for your time and so delighted to know that you would fully recommend us we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights, it was a good deal on Wotif. For us, the lacation was very convenient, you can park your car outside the hotel at the roadside, if you find some space, otherwise there is a garage for $20 per night in the hotel. Rooms are ok size, we had 2 queen beds, which were very soft, too soft for us. The bathroom needs to be renovated, the door was badly damaged in one corner, and the bathtub and shower gear was old. But it all worked fine. I think it is not a 4 * hotel, rather 3*. We didn't have breakfast here, which is $20pp, because we tried it once and it was nothing special at all.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ikat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Ikat58,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you found the location of the hotel convenient and car parking easily accessible. We do take note of your comment regarding the damaged bathroom door and which will be fixed by the maintenance team.

Ikat58, we intend to continue offering great accommodation deals and encourage you to book with us at Amora Hotels website which will have the best price available.

I thank you for your time and appreciate your feedback. Because of feedback such as yours, we are able to monitor areas which need improvement and implement solutions, all in an effort to further enhance the guest experience.

We thank you for choosing to stay us and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
712 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,310 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £82 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing