We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mercure auckland”
Review of Mercure Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Auckland
Ranked #38 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“mercure auckland”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

great service' very helpful staff , checked in early the staff took our luggage and stored it also took our car. serviced our room early which allowed us to rest before going out. beautiful views in the restaurant. All in all a very pleasant stay!



  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank peakys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    691
    729
    310
    166
See reviews for
313
847
256
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
127 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

I was travelling from Australia via Auckland to Hong Kong and back to Europe, so I stopped for 2 days in the capital between flights.
I couldn't find a decent hotel at that time so decided for this one as the price was not so bad (it was not cheap either)
Apart from location which was excellent, I cannot say anything good about this place.
My room was very very small and claustrophobic, with even smaller TV, the common areas were almost not existent and the staff were the people who charged and gave keys.
I am more into Sofitel and Novotel but as sometimes these are not available, I have to choose Mercure. But after my last stays in oher 2 Mercuries in Sydney and Melbourne...I would never go back even for free!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ludwig70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

By all standards you get what you pay for in the accomodation business, so this place rates about one star. for value but in defence it is a good location.

Airconditioning that did not work in a very small ans stuffy room and front end staff that simply do not follow up on getting things fixed.

Broken aircon was meet with, "why dont you just open up the window"... pity but the hotel fronted onto a busy road and not everyone wants to sleep with ear pugs in just to get to good night rest.

Broken shower fittings....not worth even reporting that issue and despite requesting not to be next to the lift, my room was part of the lift and it sounded like a 150 ks wind every time the lift when up and down.

Requested a simple orange juice and a bowl of cerial at breakfast and adised it would be $29.00 as this was considered the basic breakfast. No wonder a heap of coffee and breakfast shops tend to open up around city hotels.

The rooms were very tired and run down and the place needs a very good refit, but with the bus loads of elderly people filling the hotel (at probably heaviely discounted rates), then why would you spend money trying to attract the business people when you can fill the place with retired bus tours.

Next time I would rather spend the money and get a good nights rest.

Room Tip: stay away from the lift it is very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megs7127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed for one night while on business. It is central, in a great location next to the Britomart precinct. The check in was friendly and professional. If I was to only focus on the positive my review would pretty much end here.

Parking the car is difficult. Your only option, when you arrive, is valet. There are no signs detailing how you can self-park. I handed my keys in at reception. Upon checkout I was charged $40. This is the most expensive parking I have experienced in NZ.

Check in was swift. To get to my room on the 9th floor I needed the elevator. There are three, one of which was 'out of order'. The wait for one of the two which were working was extremely long. I later found out, from a very nervous looking woman, that a group of tourists had been stuck in one of the 'working' elevators for 10 minutes! Each time I used the elevators the doors would open a good few inches below the floor I was exiting - it didn't instil confidence.

My room was very tired. The paintwork was chipped, the grout in the bathroom was mouldy and the bottom of the bathroom door looked like it had expanded with water damage. I don't think my window was double glazed and even though it was a week night the noise from the street was loud.

I have stayed in many hotels in Auckland and I believe this is one of the worst experiences I've had. There are cheaper deals, with better parking and tidier rooms. It may be close to Britomart and the ferries, but there are others within an easy, short walk. Even if this room was on a cheap internet deal, I don't believe it would be good value.

Room Tip: If there are refurbished rooms, definitely request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wazmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uberlandia, MG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I've been in this hotel for two days after a long time traveling in New Zeland, and this hotel was suposed to be the best one, because of its price and brand. When i got there i was surprised that the hotel does not have wifi internet connection in all hotel (only in the looby for 20mins, once a day) Its terrible a hotel like this one u do not have a way to get your cell, tablets conected to the internet. Beside this, the room was huge for only one person. It was nice and good. Kinda old, but ok. Not fancy either. But clean. It is a good place for sure. But when you pay for a Mercure hotel, u want something better then usual, so it is not worth it for what you pay. Botton line. Expensive, u can find many other cheaper options at the same conditions, and with WIFI.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.3 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Auckland

Property: Mercure Auckland
Address: 8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Waitemata Harbour in the heart of Auckland city and located adjacent to Britomart transport centre, the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and the best shopping, restaurant and nightlife districts in Auckland. Mercure Hotel Auckland has conference facilities for up to 300 delegates, the Vertigo Restaurant and Bar located on the top floor offering magnificent views of the city and harbour as well as a gym and valet parking. All rooms come with broadband Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Accor Hotel Auckland
Mercure Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing