We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fleeting Visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercure Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Auckland
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
“Fleeting Visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Good location if business is in Central City. Staff pleasant, only drawback problems with the door swipe cards requiring on going trips in the elevator between reception and accommodation floor to gain access to my room

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Geoff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Geoff A

Thank you for the recent feedback relating to The Mercure Auckland Hotel. I am sorry you had some intial problems with the key card, we are pleased you found the team at the hotel pleasant.
Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    886
    848
    350
    208
See reviews for
386
1,075
296
543
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Why does Accor continue to be so mean with their internet policy. Cafes across the road from this hotel offer free wifi with the purchase of a coffee. Mecure is about 20mins once per day unless you pay the premium internet fee.
This is a sting everytime I stay at Accor in Australia and NZ.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank mmick6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Mmick 6

Thank you for the recent feedback about The Mercure Auckand Hotel. I acknowledge and accept your feedback relating to the Internet. This is an area we are looking to work at with our current internet providers in order to give better solutions to our guests. Thank you again.

Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
378 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here two nights in a two double beds harbour view room - room 920. The location is great being only a couple of minutes walk from the railway station and only a block from the ferry terminal. The view of the harbour between other buildings was pretty good. We had a drink in the top floor bar during Happy Hour and the views were excellent and the area was very new. However they have not spent the same amount on the bedrooms. The floor in our room was very uneven and lumpy and we joked that it may have been earthquake damage. There was a hole in the door frame where the security lock probably used to be. The style of the bathroom is very aged although everything worked satisfactorily. TV is very small and mattress would seem to be quite old. 30 mins wifi access per day is pathetic. I don't believe this hotel is anywhere near the standard of other Mercures I have stayed in although I do not have any complaints about the staff

Room Tip: Go for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear David S

Thank you for your recent posting on The Mercure Auckland Hotel. I acknowledge and accept your feedback in relation to the rooms, this is an area that the Hotel is potentially looking at in terms of an area of improvement. Thank you again.

Kind Regards
Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The hotel wasn't anything exceptional, but the staff was friendly and allowed us to store our bags since we arrived before check in. Our room was clean and had a great view of the harbor. We loved the location it, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floors with harbor views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Megan A

Thank you for your recent feedback about The Mercure Auckland Hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel and just as delighted you commented on our friendly service. Thank you again.

Kind Regards
Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here on Thursday night the 3rd April. Check In was extremely slow, no valet available to park our car and absolute kaos with car parking. We left our keys at checkin to park our car, but when we collected our car on Friday morning, the side of it was stoved in, and I possible to get any body to take responsibility. No one returns your calls, and no staff appear to be able to make any decisions what so ever! Extremely disappointing, absolutely disorganized and only 1 counter open for checkout at 9am. Rooms very substandard, and lifts not working, and don't work to take you to reception, you need to get off at level 1 and walk down the stairs to get to reception!!! I can't believe that this Hotel is still in the Accor Group! The only redeeming feature is the restaurant on the top floor is amazing! Great food and service. I would dine their again, but never stay and definitely never park your car there.
Note to Accor Group, drop this Hotel from your group, it is damaging to your otherwise high standard of Service. If you don't care about your car and don't mind it being severely damaged while paying $40 a day to have it parked use their valet service, otherwise stay well away from this place. Phoned 3 times and still No response. Worst service ever!!!

Room Tip: My best travelers trip is don't stay here. Even the back packers would be better than this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rossange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Rossange

Thank you for your feedback relating to the Mercure Auckland Hotel. I am disappointed to hear the overall feedback in a number areas of the Hotel. May I kindly ask for you to call me on a landline, +64 9 377 8920 in order I may discuss this with you further and provide a more direct & personal apology. Thank you Rossange.

Kind Regards
Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Received from attention on my arrival and was upgraded with their compliments to a room looking over the Harbour on the 11th floor - the location was perfect and the reason why I selected the Hotel.
Their service during my two days stay met all my requirements

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Charleswilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Charleswilliam

Thank you for your recent posting for The Mercure Auckland Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed the service we offer as well as our Hotel's fantastic location, very pleasing to hear of your upgrade, a lovely touch. Thank you again.

Kind Regards
Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.3 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Auckland

Property: Mercure Auckland
Address: 8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Waitemata Harbour in the heart of Auckland city and located adjacent to Britomart transport centre, the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and the best shopping, restaurant and nightlife districts in Auckland. Mercure Hotel Auckland has conference facilities for up to 300 delegates, the Vertigo Restaurant and Bar located on the top floor offering magnificent views of the city and harbour as well as a gym and valet parking. All rooms come with broadband Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Accor Hotel Auckland
Mercure Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing