We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit to Auckland” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Auckland
Ranked #29 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    872
    845
    349
    207
See reviews for
383
1,056
296
533
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oakura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had the misfortune of choosing this hotel to stay in over Easter weekend. My husband is a Platinum member of Accor and we had some points to use up so we chose Accor Group. The choice was between the Mercure and the Novotel out by the racecourse - how I wish we chose the latter!

Public areas
The lifts are in poor condition and decrepit. The floors and sides are chipped and broken, and the joinery in some places has large pieces missing. The door mechanisms are worrisome - tending to slam shut or not open at all without pushing the open door button. One lift was out of order for 4 days.

Paintwork everywhere is chipped and covered with scuffmarks and fingerprints and every crevice is covered with dust, and carpets are worn and almost threadbare.

Rooms in general (we stayed in 3!) were shabby, hot, and tired, with no WiFi, no room safe, only one pillow each, old air conditioners barely functioning. The sofa beds are saggy and have extremely thin mattresses. The window seals were old and had perished. Mattresses on the beds are very old and saggy. You can feel the springs in them.

There is no WiFi in the rooms. You are able to connect to WiFi for a paltry 30 mins/ 8MB per day if you crowd with every other guest on the small sofas in the corner of the lobby.

Of the three rooms we stayed in, all had showers that cannot be adjusted, stained grout and air vents clogged with thick dust.

912, our first room (standard with 2 queen beds), was gloomy and hot. The ancient air conditioner struggled to create any air movement. We were able to open the very dirty windows to let in a bit of air.

The joinery around the bathroom door was broken in places, and had not been replaced. The fire evacuation plan was stuck to the door with duct tape.

We considered cancelling the rest of our stay, but were offered a complimentary upgrade to a “suite”. When we looked at the room, in terms of size and atmosphere it seemed a lot better than 912 so we agreed to continue our stay in this room (1213), even though it meant our kids would now be on a sofa bed instead of a proper bed.

When we turned on the air conditioner in the bedroom the unit made an extremely loud knocking mechanical sound and shook as if it was going to shake loose – it continued to do this sporadically during our brief stay in this room. It was also noisy and hot in both rooms.

However all this paled into comparison when we found bedbugs in our bed at 1am. The bed was crawling with them. Having alerted the duty manager, we were moved straight away to the only available room left in the hotel. (617), leaving our belongings and clothing behind in the room to be dry cleaned and fumigated.

On to Room 617, it is close to the elevators so you can hear them going up and down and the doors banging shut all through the night. The shower tap was broken. It is on a noisy street and was very noisy at night; we had to sleep with the windows open to compensate for the erratic air conditioning. The sofa bed was so uncomfortable we had to put the mattress on the floor so our kids could sleep.

The breakfast is overpriced and mediocre: $29 for the continental breakfast (fruit, cereals and toast) and $33 for the cooked breakfast. There were no savoury condiments so if you don’t like sweet jams on your toast you are stuck with plain butter. The fruit selection was disappointing. There were 6 fruits on offer, 3 fresh – pineapple, oranges and watermelon, the other 3 tinned, which I found unacceptable given the price of the meal.

The hot food was average. Bacon was very salty, the sausages, 3 kinds, were processed and indistinguishable as to what meat they were.

Glasses were clouded with greasy fingerprints every day. I’m not sure if this was because they had not been polished, or from guests reaching up and touching more than one glass, but it was like this every day.

The view, which seems to be a selling point, is of all the other tall buildings around the area and the city streets – hardly spectacular.

We did not encounter rude or unhelpful staff, as other reviewers have. The staff were friendly and helpful, as much as they could be. The Duty Managers were apologetic and embarrassed about the bed bugs and dealt with things as promptly as possible (pest control, dry cleaning all our clothes and fumigating our other belongings and luggage, within 12 hours).

The valet parking is shambolic. $40 per day to have your car parked who knows where. You have to call down in advance to give them time to retrieve your car. All the parking in the area is $40 per day, so you’re better off parking over night for $8 at the Maritime Museum in Viaduct Harbour.

Having been contaminated with bed bugs, we did not feel it appropriate to switch hotels and take this problem elsewhere, so we felt stuck at the Mercure. It would have been nice to receive a fruit basket, or flowers, or a bottle of wine, or even a note of apology from the General Manager, considering the number of room changes and issues we had. It would have gone a considerable way to lightening our mood.

We were offered full comp for the first two nights, and complimentary breakfast and parking for the following two nights, but were obliged to pay for the room, at the original rate booked (more than $200++ per night).
I rated this as one of my worst hotel experiences in terms of quality, value for money, and discomfort. My husband said he’s had worse – a guest hostel on the Annapurna Circuit in the late 80s.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarisper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Tarisper

Thank you for your detailed feedback in relation to your stay at The Mercure Auckland Hotel. Disappointing in most aspects of your stay. I believe you have noted your feedback on an internal feedback form which has been responded to and addressed. Please let me know if you would like to further discuss this.

Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Make sure you visit the restaurant for magnificent views on the top floor. Check-in staff, esp Lucius were great and accommodating. There is a gym on the top floor with great views which makes the workout less of a chore. The location is extremely central, especially if you are using the Airbus service to/fro airport.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank SydneyMannix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear SydneyMannix

Thank you for your feedback for the Mercure Auckland Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the sweeping views of the harbor from our restaurant as well as were able to make the most of our gym facility for your work out. I am delighted for the personal mention of one of our staff members, this is fantastic, thank you for this.

Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel over the weekend and it was great! The service was good - no rude staff as mentioned earlier. The room was clean and well laid out. The room was slightly worn but we had no problem with it.
Location was excellent.
The complimentary buffet breakfast that came with the voucher was delicious! And good value!

Only downside and the reason I would not give this hotel 5 stars is that - although it is written in the fine print of the reservation - it would have been good to be reminded that there would be a $100 bond coming off my debit card because I don't keep more than $100 in my cheque account and this caused me to unknowingly go into overdraft - which will now leave me with an unwarranted bank fee.

But overall - a good hotel, would stay again for the price we paid.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank danikarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear danikarita

Thank you for your feedback relating to The Mercure Auckland Hotel. We are delighted overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

One of the noisiest hotels i have ever stayed in! A nightclub has started in the basement of the building but it may as well have been in our room on the third floor it was that loud! Punters partied until after 4am, and we have "woken" up feeling crap. Maybe we should have joined them, if only the music was half decent!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Watre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Watre

Thank you for your recent feedback relating to the Mercure Auckland Hotel. Please accept my sincere and direct apologies that your stay overall was impacted by noise.

Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This has to be the most poorly organised hotel reception I've come across. Took us over 10 minutes to check in and the queue was almost out the door and down the street when we went to check out. Only ever one person on the desk and if there happens to be two the other person then answers the incessant ringing phone. The bathroom in our room was pretty awful but beds were comfortable. We ate in the restaurant and it was good and the staff very attentive there. Overall good value for money but reception needs help. My partner who recently as well also had the same check out experience

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank themacgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear themacgirls

Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding the Mercure Auckland Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies in that from the feedback received, it took a long time to check in. Your feedback will certainly assist us in ensuring we improve in the future. Thank you as well for your comments relating to the attentive service received by the restaurant team.

Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigatoka, Fiji
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I Stayed in Mercure Auckland last month and had a very pleasant stay. The location of the hotel is great and so is the staff. The building is a bit old but did not bother me much. Overall i am satisfied with my stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anzareea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Javed R

Thank you for your recent feedback about The Mercure Auckland Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed both the service of the staff and the location that the hotel offers. Thank you again.

Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.3 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
Rydges
Rydges
#15 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Auckland

Property: Mercure Auckland
Address: 8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Waitemata Harbour in the heart of Auckland city and located adjacent to Britomart transport centre, the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and the best shopping, restaurant and nightlife districts in Auckland. Mercure Hotel Auckland has conference facilities for up to 300 delegates, the Vertigo Restaurant and Bar located on the top floor offering magnificent views of the city and harbour as well as a gym and valet parking. All rooms come with broadband Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Accor Hotel Auckland
Mercure Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing