We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mecure, Customs st”
Review of Mercure Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Auckland
Ranked #40 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    691
    727
    310
    166
See reviews for
312
847
256
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Centrally located in the heart of the city. On the doorstep to cafés, restaurants, bars and the like. Near bus, train and water transport. Location is ideal. The hotel itself is very tired. The rooms and bathrooms need a makeover but the bed was comfortable with good linen. Amenities were sparse to be descriptive. Basically good for a nights sleep but spend the day out. Staff were amicable and well presented. Recommended for tourists that get out for the day and see the sights.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LTP-BCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear LTP-BCC

Thank you for your recent posting on Tripadvisor for The Mercure Auckland hotel. I acknowledge and accept your comments relating to a possible makeover of the room, we have started the initial 'groundwork' on a refurbishment programme for our room product. I am delighted you found both the team friendly and the location of the hotel very handy to everything you needed on your doorstep. Thank you again.

Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager-Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is obviously the poor relation of the Accor group. The hotel is very dated, the rooms are small and poorly appointed. I was somewhat surprised at the lack of cleanliness of my room. I wonder if housekeeping staff had ever vacuumed around the edges of the room, or cleaned the airspace between the two layers of windows. Paint was flaking off the walls, the tile grout in the bathroom could do with bleaching and there was quite a layer of dust along ledges. Outside the front entrance the pillar mounted ashtray was full to overflowing for two days before it was emptied and smokers dropped butts at the entrance because there was no room in the ashtray. At times there was not a single staff person in the lobby and guests had long waits for someone to tend to them. There were three dirty room service trays in the alcove on the 10th floor for over 24hours which was certainly not a good look. Valet parking was an absolute mission as I had to park up on a bus rank and wait almost 20 minutes for a space to park just so I check in. My vehicle wasn't taken off site for almost 4 hours after I arrived. Room facilities were very basic with customwood type furnishings. There were broken floor tiles in the elevators, and the elevator doors opened before the lift even reached the actual floor (some 30cm). I have stayed at a number of Accor Hotels, this would be the worst. On the plus side, the restaurant and Bar on the 13th floor were quite the opposite and food, atmosphere, staff and cleanliness were very good. Thank goodness. Sorry but I could not recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Rex S

Thank you for your detailed feedback on your recent stay at The Mercure Auckland Hotel. I am sorry you feel we did not/do not represent the Accor group in a 'positive light during your stay with us'. Your feedback will certainly assist the team and I in both improving those areas mentioned, as well as building on the success of the areas you feel we did well in. Thank you again.

Kind Regards
Lee Parker - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

If you are on a strict budget and want somewhere in the centre of town then this is the property for you. It is very basic and I think the cheap price tag attracts all sorts. We were pretty sure the elevator smelt of vomit in the morning.
On the plus side you are close to britomart and the lovely restaurants and shops there, close to hop on hop off bus start location, close to other buses.
The check-in staff were lovely. We ate dinner in the restaurant which had a great view and was very affordable. The restaurant manager was out of her depth and overwhelmed but once she eventually let us sit down (!) her staff were lovely.
If you want to stay somewhere 'nice' don't stay here. If you just want somewhere cheap, central and very average then you won't mind this place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessamineWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear JessamineWalker

Thank you for your detailed feedback relating to The Mercure Auckland hotel. Your comments are valuable in order for us to improve in the areas where we can as noted in your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed certain elements of your stay with us. Thank you again.

Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Was checked into this hotel for a conference event. Room was small and shabby and unclean. Paint chips off all edges and corners, bathroom tiles chipped and dirty, uneven cheap cabinetwork, carpet so flat and worn that if you wore smooth-soled shoes you'd slip... Did I mention the dirt? Dust so thick on all edges and ledges and a disgusting crust of scum and dirt on the edges of the hand towel hanger. Saggy baggy bed and the last time I saw a hotel that didn't have at least a valance over the mattress base was in outback Australia, not in a supposed 4 star hotel. Spots/stains on the pillow cass. Toiletries? Shampoo and shower gel and a small cake of soap. Nothing else. I complained about the cleanliness and linen to the duty manager and he didn't give a nint of caring or responding in a conciliatory manner to an unhappy guest. Pointed out it was an old hotel and was going to be renovated. I checked the room after it was serviced and there was NO difference in the cleanliness. Oh, and for a business hotel - no room wifi. Most modern small laptop computers don't have ethernet ports....so you have to go to the lobby to get 30 min 50 mB of internet access. Couldn't get any work done. This hotel is NOT recommended for the business traveller and to call it 4 star is a travesty. I've stayed at better roadside motels in the outback.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyingTiger2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear FlyingTiger 2014

Thank you for your recent posting on Tripadvisor relating to The Mercure Auckland Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the overall stay you had and the way you felt we handled the situation. I feel you are owed a more direct and personaly apology & explanation, If I may ask you to contact me directly on 377-8920 or via email on h1721-fo01@accor.com, that way I can discuss the matter with you, or personally meet with you as I understand from your Tripadvisor profile you are Auckland based. Thank you again.

Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel is well located, we were contacted by Accor with a very good two day stay deal (incl breakfast), it also included valet parking at $25 night, unfortunately when we arrived the front desk refused the valet parking and wanted to charge us $40 night ($80 total), i explained and was refused the offer, it wasn't until i insisted on talking to a manager that they relented, i have stayed at mercure Customhouse Quay quite a few times before, but am not sure if i would bother again, parking is a huge problem in that area and the cost of parking on top of the room charge, you might as well stay at Stamford or aomewhere similar where it is thrown in free.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Heemi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Heemi 10

Thank you for your feedback relating to The Mercure Auckland Hotel. I am sorry you found parking to be a difficulty at our Hotel and am pleased you enjoyed your stay overall with us.

Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The location is great. disappointing parts were that the floor was strangely uneven, only 1 soap, 1 each of body soap/shampoo etc, couldn't alter the temperature of room, housekeeping starting knocking on our door at 930am when check out is 11. It's basically an old hotel hanging off the fact that it's a great location. shower was weird to operate and a dribble came out. Mesh match of decor in bathroom...

Room Tip: don't use this hotel... for the price it's not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Impulsiv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Impulsiv1

Thank you for your feedback on the Mercure Auckland Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the location of the Hotel, please accept my sincere and personal apologies for some housekeeping issues experienced during your stay, this feedback highlights some areas the team and I need to work on to improve.

Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.3 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Auckland

Property: Mercure Auckland
Address: 8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Waitemata Harbour in the heart of Auckland city and located adjacent to Britomart transport centre, the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and the best shopping, restaurant and nightlife districts in Auckland. Mercure Hotel Auckland has conference facilities for up to 300 delegates, the Vertigo Restaurant and Bar located on the top floor offering magnificent views of the city and harbour as well as a gym and valet parking. All rooms come with broadband Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Accor Hotel Auckland
Mercure Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing