We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and central”
Review of Mercure Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Auckland
Ranked #38 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice and central”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Great little place to stay. Central to everything. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and self contained. Only issue we had was the loud music from somewhere nearby that continued early into the morning but that was hardly the hotels fault.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Nichole H,

Thanks a lot for your positive comments about your stay here at Mercure Auckland. Our location is certainly unbeatable and we are trying to build a team to match so I was stoked to hear you found us friendly and helpful.

Please come back and stay with us again.

Regards,

Nigel Harford
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    691
    729
    310
    166
See reviews for
313
847
256
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great location and reasonably priced BUT there is a night club down stairs and the noise is horrendous, believe it is only on Friday and Saturday nights, bummer, the two nights we had to stay. Found the rooms tired and the power continued to go out in my room. They need a handy man permanently on site

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mray52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Mray 52,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Mercure Auckland. I am sorry that the street noise from the nightclub disturbed your night. This is not usually such a problem and we will talk to the management of the club again to endeavour to reduce the level of noise and disturbance created during the weekend.

Kind regards,

Nigel Harford
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A big disappointment when we got to our room - bed bases are bare, carpet ripped, vanity cupboard slipped and area around basin exposed. Just old and tired and definately due for a revamp. This was definately not the standard we are use to at Mecure. Resturant view is fantastic, service excellent and food good. Best part of this hotel is the position - we had great city views and loved walking along the waterfront.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your comments on the Mercure Auckland. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal in Vue Restaurant and I will pass on your praise to the team up there.

I'm sorry that you were unhappy with the quality of the room. We are currently in the last stages of finalising a full refurbishment of our rooms and expect work to start very soon.

Nigel Harford
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Friendly reception when we arrived and arranged valet parking for us. Central for our business needs and an easy walk to our meeting venues. Large, comfortable, very quiet and clean room.
Have booked in again for 2 weeks time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Foxy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear foxy2012,

Thanks very much for your comments. I have passed them on to the Reception team who will be stoked. Stop and say hi when you come back in two weeks.

Kind regards,

Nigel Harford
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Great location and rooms are a really good size but they are really tired. $40 valet parking is the only option. Staff were nice and the view from the top floor bar/restaurant is great. A very strong odour at the front door and a flag pole that bangs all night. Stay there for the location only.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AngelaFaye74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear AngelaFaye74

Thank you for your recent posting on The Mercure Auckland Hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and important to the team and I in order we can try and change your perception of being just average to an excellent hotel overall. Thank you again.

Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The Mercure Auckland has been a favorite of mine over the years mainly due to its downtown location within easy walk of The Viaduct, Britomart and Queen St. The other big attraction has been the Bar & Restaurant which has one of the best views in Auckland being at the top of the hotel and an almost 360* veiw with great service and excellent cuisine.
Sadly the rooms themselves need to be updated in keeping with the public areas. They are shabby and small. The parking is also really expensive at $40 a night is up there with major overseas centres although it is valet (the only option).
Try and get a room up high and with a harbor view as city side is noisy and brightly lit from buildings opposite. Great barber directly opposite the main doors as well as some good chain coffee shops, kebabs, all around. Kill some time in the DFS store diagonally opposite in The Old Custom House.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank pritchard8024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear pritchard8024

Thank you for the feedback for your most recent stay at The Mercure Auckland hotel. May I also take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty to our Hotel over the years, the team and I appreciate this. I acknowledge your comments about the rooms, we have recently started a refurbishment programme for the hotel, the aim is for our rooms to be updated in line with some of the public areas you mention in your feedback. This is a great step forward for the team and I. Great recommendations you have made with regards to some establishments close by to the Hotel. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back, here's to the next few years..

Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.3 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Auckland

Property: Mercure Auckland
Address: 8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Waitemata Harbour in the heart of Auckland city and located adjacent to Britomart transport centre, the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and the best shopping, restaurant and nightlife districts in Auckland. Mercure Hotel Auckland has conference facilities for up to 300 delegates, the Vertigo Restaurant and Bar located on the top floor offering magnificent views of the city and harbour as well as a gym and valet parking. All rooms come with broadband Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Mercure Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Accor Hotel Auckland
Mercure Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing