We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I stood at Kiwi International Hotel twice in my New Zealand trip with family (wife and baby daughter). The hotel is very well located in Auckland's CDB and that dismisses a car for most attractions and the supermarkets close to it help a lot those on tighter budgets. The rooms are new, kept very clean and have TV + cofee maker, but are rather small (in our first stay, the crib for the baby fit very tight the room - in the second stay when we were returning home the crib did not fit the room at all - as there were 2 beds in the room, my wife slept with the baby and we were fine). There is a common kitchen that helped us a lot - equipments are not new but all working and was kept very clean during the time we stood there. Even though the location dismisses a car, there is a free parking that is very good and we used it without problems during our first stay there. I would definitely recommend for those looking for a budget stay in a good location in Auckland CBD.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Thank you for your psitive comments. A point for readers / future guests. With our huge renovation and shift to 2* - 3* level it is no longer appropriate to have a guest kitchen. We do however have a full service restaurant & bar which is excellent value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

555 - 561 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

I did not pay a large amount of money for this hotel, and got what I expected. The room was relatively clean. There was wireless internet for a fee. A restaurant was present in the hotel, though the food was not my favorite. There is not a whole lot to see here, so this is the kind of hotel I would suggest for those that are mainly worn out after travelling.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gittinsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This was a good value basic hotel and close to the airport bus stop. It is not too far from the amentities of Aucklland but up a hill.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

My experience in this hotel makes me consider it a good accomodation option in Auckland. It is true that you will find it in the highest part of Queen Street but I don't think this is a problem at all. My mother -already retired- and I walked everywhere in central Auckland from the hotel without finding its location a hindrance. In fact we chose this hotel because of the price and the location, as we correctly assumed that the area would be quiter than other more central places. Still -as said- it is close enough to the main central tourist attractions in Auckland to reach them by foot.
Talking about the location, let me add that there are quite a lot of reasonable place to eat in this part of Queen Street and also in Karangahape Road (and there are also several and cheap internet places).
In regards to the hotel, it is not the most modern hotel we've been in New Zealand but it was correct, clean and convenient. Our ensuite twin room was not big at all but it was comfortable enough. We definitely had a good sleep. Breakfast was not included in the price but in the morning we paid a little bit extra, as we found it good enough to start the day.
With reference to the staff, they were professional and helpful but just a little bit less friendly than in other places we stayed aroung the country.
We are honestly satisfied of our 3 nights stay in this hotel. No frills, no luxury but good, competitive price and satisfactory.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwaladar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

I stayed in an ensuite single room which was great, the bathroom was lovely and clean, nice towels and a great shower. The room was very comfortable with a tv and desk. I didn't use any of the hotel's other facilities but found the staff friendly and helpful in getting my room ready early for me to check in. The hotel was quiet even on a Saturday night, with only a bit of street noise. The only downside would be distance from the very centre of Aukland but for this price it was definitely worth the twenty minute walk! A great hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcdefgLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

I stayed here twice. Once in February of 2010, then again Setember 2010. The front desk was not very helpful. They seemed to be aloof and dismissive. It was hard to get a towel to shower with.The price was right, and the location was great. But when you stay in the summer time, it's VERY loud. Almost impossible to sleep with all the party-goers. There is no air conditioning which means you have to sleep with the windows open and hear all the noise. When I stayed in the winter, it was better. And the comforters and pillows seem like that off of a 4-year-olds bed who hasn't changed their sheets in a while.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdrolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2011

The particular room that this guest stayed in is one of our Economy Singles. They are $49 / night and are the best value hotel room in central Auckland. He's right - they don't have air-con. In summer (high season) expect to pay 3 times that for a room with air-con. They appeal to the budget conscious and are very popular with a near 100% occupany throughout the year. Now that we have finished the complete renovation of all our ensuite rooms we have commenced on the Economy rooms and will have those completed before the Rugby World Cup in September 2011. As a general guide as to public apprecation of the hotel's location and value we are up nearly 20% over last year - Auckland hotel average is less than 3% for the same period !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Within 10 minute walk you are in the centre of auckland and at the hotel you can park your car for free. The kitchen is large, but not very clean. The beds are very bad. When you turn in the bed you wake almost for sure the other person in bed. There was only one male shower on the floor we were sleeping.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marko1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2011

We only have a small number of the Economy rooms where this person stayed (most of the hotel is ensuite rooms). We are in the process of replacing all the beds in the Economy rooms now that we have finished a complete refurbishmant of the Ensuite Rooms so this shouldn't be an issue. Regarding shared facilities for the Economy Rooms (which incidentally are the best priced private hotel room in central Auckland) - it is simply not true that there is only 1 shower. On the 1st floor, where there are only a few Economy rooms there are 2 showers available for men and on the 2nd floor there are 4 showers available for men.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#31 of 65 in Auckland Central
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 65 in Auckland Central
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 65 in Auckland Central
944 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#55 of 65 in Auckland Central
97 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 65 in Auckland Central
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £38 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Auckland's Queen Street, we offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city. With free amenities such as wi-fi, luggage storage and 24/7 reception our hotel is ideal for both individual travelers and groups seeking location and value for money. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance and we are on the main bus stop routes for the Auckland City Link and Airport Skybus. With an onsite bar & restaurant and handy travel and information desk, the Kiwi International Hotel is perfect for the budget conscious traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing