We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Have stayed here many times. Although it is not new, it is nice. Older Hotel, but clean, and the staff is great !! Meals are available as well.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allenkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review and your positive comments. The staff appreciate the special mention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
There are newer reviews for Kiwi International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stay at Kiwi International was fine, nothing to write home about. The price was good and they gave us 50 MB of free WiFi. Room itself is very small, but big enough for two people, the bed, desk and TV. We were even able to re-pack our large suitcases for the trip home. Everything was clean. Good location at the top of Queen Street - don't be afraid to WALK down the hill to find the action!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueyeris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thanks for your positive review . Yes our rooms are of modest size but they are very popular given the location and price. Nothing to write home about - I agree. You'd need to spend $500+ per night in NZ to find a hotel worth writing home about!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed here whilst in Auckland on holiday/business in a double room with ensuite (which had a single bed in room as well!) The hotel is in a great location- walkable distance to harbour and viaduct or 50c bus ride. Rooms are basic but if you are only sleeping there- they do the job! Would definately stay again due to the car parking, location and affordability!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tara_smith53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thanks for your positive review and hopefully we will see you again. The rooms are of modest size but have the necesities - LCD TV, phone, bathroom, writing desk, wifi and tea/coffee making faciliites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights after a 4 day road trip Auckland-Rotorua-Lake Taupo. Since we rented a car and didnt have prior booking, upon reaching Auckland we drove around Queens Street not really expecting to find any hotel less than NZD100 but we were wrong. At Kiwi International, we stayed in a double room ensuite for NZD92 per night. The room fits two. There is a queen size bed, coffee making facility, hot shower and free internet voucher. Not sure if there's a pool though.There is a small cafe and bar but we didnt try it as we were out most of the time, shopping at Queens Street, trying out numerous cafes, visited the harbour and Sky Tower all walking distance. There are plenty of eateries including Thai, Korean, Japanese, Indian around.The Civic Centre is just 10min walk. Airport bus stops infront or you could call a taxi from the hotel to the airport. We did the latter and paid NZD35. Would definitely stay here if we ever visit Auckland again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anissha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thank you for your review. It sums up what we are trying to achieve in providing a quality experience and location at a good value price. Internet is free but only if you book directly with us - our website, freephone, email or just drop in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed in a single room for $55 in June 2012. The room was basic but you get what you pay for. Great central location. I recieved 2 free internet vouchers one for each day which was a nice surprise and the staff were very helpful. The room needed a bit of an upgrade and the bedding could have been better. The main negative comment I have is the room was very noisy. The walls must be paper thin because I could clearly hear a guest in the room next to mine talking on his cell phone at 2am in the morning. The fire doors in the corridor also banged shut whenever someone walked up the corridor.....ear plugs are a must! I'm also a bit suspicous about the 2 insects that I found in my bed on the first night so check your bed before you get in it :-) But overall not bad for the price!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and the generally positive comments. This guest stayed in one of our Economy rooms which are reasonably basic but as the reviewer says, represent good value - and are very popular. We've checked the room and adjusted the fire doors to make them close quietly. Beds appear to be a matter of personal preference. All our singles are the large king single size, all identical and all purchased from the same (NZ's largest) bed manufacturer in the last 24 months. Most people love them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed here for one night recently and found it to be great for a short layover between flights at Auckland airport. Shuttle bus works well and the rooms are clean and comfortable, and appear to be quite recently renovated. All facilities are up to date and work well.

I have stayed at other hotels in the area and this is the best experience so far. Price was also very good and I will certainly look to staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliffie_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

During my visit of some pacific islands I had four times an one-night stopover in Auckland and the Kiwi International has been perfect for my needs. Very good connection from and to the airport as the AirbusExpress-Station is right in front of the hotel. Staff has been always friendly and helpful. Rooms clean. As I just needed a place to sleep the small roomsize was not a problem to me. Room 217 has a large window and the room looked a bit like a cabin on a cruise ship.The other rooms I stayed in (107, 111 and 112) have had smaller windows and had not the cruise ship feeling. I also used the laundry (7 NZD - washing machine, dryer, powder). Wifi worked in all rooms good. Sleep quality was good (no noise) and the toilets and showers have been clean.I appriciated the sink in the room. Some korean restaurants are nearby and it is only a short walk to the Central Business Districrt of Auckland. Overall I was very satisfied with Kiwi International Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laendersammler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for your comprehensive review. This guest stayed in our economy single rooms over several visits. They are small but very popular with single travelers as they are excellent value and of course they appreciate the central location and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland Central
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 67 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#28 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,108 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 67 in Auckland Central
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 67 in Auckland Central
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £34 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - free wi-fi, free baggage storage, no surcharge credit card payment and friendly 24/7 reception & service. Some parking is available on a "first come first serve" basis. Spaces are not guaranteed and cannot be reserved. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Skytower, Skycity, Aotea Square, Viaduct Basin, the central business district, 'K' Road, theatres, restaurants, universities & tertiary institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing