We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Sigatoka, Fiji
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I stayed here for 10 nights!! From 12th Feb and though the rooms are small but they are very convinent and private for someone who has already researched and know where they are staying.
Rooms are always kept clean and towels daily changed. I have been mostly away for business meetings but was never disapointed with the facility.
Reception and Tour desk staff always helpfu. I did not eat much in the restaurant but the place is so quiet and easy access to the shops around.
Only downfall was the internet I could not get the wifi working on my laptop so opted to use the hotel pc internet but it was very very slow.
Overall I will definately stay here in my next trip and will recommend my friends to stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a room on Level 2 away from ground noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPALSuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for positive review and recommendation to other people. Staff always appreciate a favourable mention so we appreciate that too. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    282
    224
    59
    38
See reviews for
95
205
202
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caen, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I stayed in a clean ensuite double room, with modern furniture, tv, hair-dryer, shower. Towels and little bars of soap are included too. The corridors could do with a bit of new paint but the rooms are fine. If you're lucky you'll get one with a view on the Sky Tower.
The staff is friendly and helpful. There was a problem at check-in with our room but they gave us a better one instead !
There is a free carpark too, but come early for the spots ! It is very conveniently located, just 15mn walk uphill from the city centre. The bus to the airport drops you literally 1mn from the hotel.
I also stayed in a single room not ensuite which was fine. A bit less fancy than the double ensuite, but still grand for the price, and with a sink and towels. I would recommend this place as an affordable, enjoyable and convenient place to stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zebra2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for your review. We're pleased you appreciated the location and value we offer. The free car parking is generally available but can be tight when we are very busy so the "come early" is a good tip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed in an ensuite room for two nights in February. Hotel is clean and tidy but basic - this however was reflected in the price. Can't comment on the food or bar facilities as we did not use them. Within walking distance of city and harbour (about 15 - 20 mins). Value for money accommodation. A few bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Please note that the bus from the airport stops directly outside the hotel so no need to book expensive taxis. Avoid the "hop on hop off" tour bus as it is expensive and not very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outrageous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Many thanks for your positive review. As the reviewer says we don't provide the frills - mini bars valet parking etc. - but all the essentials are here in an excellent location at a price travellers appreciate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I stayed there for two nights in early Feb this year in a doube en-suite room. Good location, clean room and fairly quiet as off the main street. Staff were helpfull and kind. The only snag is internet connection , you can buy 50 or 100 MG bundles for 10 or 5 NZD which is expensive and really not enough. Did not eat there and had a great breackfasr and coffee at the Columbus Cafe just around the corner. Overall good hotel for a modest price

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thank you for your review and your "Overall good hotel for a modest price" assessment. Fair point about the internet. It's expensive in NZ but we are looking to change telecoms suppliers so we can pass a better deal onto our guests.

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

For the price, I don't think you'll find much better in Auckland. The room was quite small, but it was sufficient for our 3 night stay in Auckland. The bathroom was also small, the door to the shower was so tight I had to scrape my body to get in, but it was again, acceptable. Overall, we enjoyed our 3 nights at the Kiwi International Hotel.

Room Tip: Be aware that rooms on the 3rd floor require two lifts to reach them. The regular lift only goes bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lurking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your positive review. Your first comment "For the price, I don't think you'll find much better in Auckland" sums us up - not top end but value for money. We agree wit your tip re the 3rd floor rooms - an extra effort to get there but there are only 11 rooms up there so it's quiet and you get the best views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This was my second stay here. Both economy rooms for the budget traveller. No frills rooms are clean and the shared bathrooms also a high standard of cleanliness. What I love about this hotel is the little bar which has amazing wine and beer specials and a cafe with delicious food at a very cheap price. The free parking is another drawcard this central in Auckland and the free hour of internet kept my 8 year old busy while I had an after dinner drink.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treajules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your positive review. Good to see you could take advantage of the free interenet that we provide to all guests that book directly with us. We look forward to your return (3rd!) visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here one Monday night in early February. We were allowed to check in right at 2, and there seemed to be many rooms being cleaned like it was really busy over the weekend, but we didn't notice many other guests the night we were there. There was no A/C so we opened a window, which was a bit noisy during the day. The front desk gave us a small fan when we asked which helped to circulate the air and drown out the noise. The room was a basic ensuite double, but had a bed, a table with instant coffee and tea for the morning, and a bathroom with great hot water pressure. The bed was a bit hard by American standards, but I found that to be the norm in the whole country. Overall, we had a pleasant stay that met what I was expecting. The free breakfast in the morning was great as well!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your review. February is a busy month with lots of visitors to Auckland. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 67 in Auckland
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
1.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Property: Kiwi International Hotel
Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - free wi-fi, free baggage storage, no surcharge credit card payment and friendly 24/7 reception & service. Some parking is available on a "first come first serve" basis. Spaces are not guaranteed and cannot be reserved. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Skytower, Skycity, Aotea Square, Viaduct Basin, the central business district, 'K' Road, theatres, restaurants, universities & tertiary institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing