We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kiwi International Hotel restaurant - awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kiwi International Hotel restaurant - awesome”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Was really hungry when I went to the Kiwi International Hotel in Queen Street, Auckland last night. Ordered the Scotch fillet with salad and chips. The waitress asked if I would like a sauce with it and I ordered mushroom. The meal came and it looked fantastic. But the taste was something else. Absolutely succulent, perfectly cooked steak with crisp as chips and a really moreish salad. Great value too. I highly recommend it. My friend had the prawn risotto which was on special and that was as good as I've ever tasted as well. Congratulations to the chef. 5 stars for sure. Thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicki h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thanks for the great review. Restaurant reviews are always appreciated. We're glad you enjoyed your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    282
    223
    59
    38
See reviews for
95
205
202
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Great location for this unique little hotel, geared to the traveler looking for a bargain. It is well located on upper queens, very handy to the air porter bus service and right in the middle of great oriental restaurants. It was very clean with very good staff, can accommodate laundry, as well as a well equipped restaurant and a great lounge area. Great happy hour prices as well!
Rooms are small but well appointed, concerning the price.
Perfect for the solo traveler on the move.

Room Tip: Upstairs was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thanks for your review, especially the mention of the staff who make a real affort to make visitors to Auckland feel welcome. We're pleased you had an enjoyable stay and appreciated the value we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I shared a room with 2 more friends. We had a nice view of the sky tower. The shuttle bus from the airport stops right in front of the hotel. Everything is a walking distance from this hotel.
Have nothing to complain.

Room Tip: beautiful view from SKY Tower, just ask for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRNNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thanks for the great review. We're pleased you enjoyed our great location and views of the Ski Tower. We also have rooms overlooking Myers Park which is quiet and picturesque.We look forward to hosting you and your friends again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigatoka, Fiji
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I stayed here for 10 nights!! From 12th Feb and though the rooms are small but they are very convinent and private for someone who has already researched and know where they are staying.
Rooms are always kept clean and towels daily changed. I have been mostly away for business meetings but was never disapointed with the facility.
Reception and Tour desk staff always helpfu. I did not eat much in the restaurant but the place is so quiet and easy access to the shops around.
Only downfall was the internet I could not get the wifi working on my laptop so opted to use the hotel pc internet but it was very very slow.
Overall I will definately stay here in my next trip and will recommend my friends to stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a room on Level 2 away from ground noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPALSuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for positive review and recommendation to other people. Staff always appreciate a favourable mention so we appreciate that too. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caen, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I stayed in a clean ensuite double room, with modern furniture, tv, hair-dryer, shower. Towels and little bars of soap are included too. The corridors could do with a bit of new paint but the rooms are fine. If you're lucky you'll get one with a view on the Sky Tower.
The staff is friendly and helpful. There was a problem at check-in with our room but they gave us a better one instead !
There is a free carpark too, but come early for the spots ! It is very conveniently located, just 15mn walk uphill from the city centre. The bus to the airport drops you literally 1mn from the hotel.
I also stayed in a single room not ensuite which was fine. A bit less fancy than the double ensuite, but still grand for the price, and with a sink and towels. I would recommend this place as an affordable, enjoyable and convenient place to stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zebra2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for your review. We're pleased you appreciated the location and value we offer. The free car parking is generally available but can be tight when we are very busy so the "come early" is a good tip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed in an ensuite room for two nights in February. Hotel is clean and tidy but basic - this however was reflected in the price. Can't comment on the food or bar facilities as we did not use them. Within walking distance of city and harbour (about 15 - 20 mins). Value for money accommodation. A few bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Please note that the bus from the airport stops directly outside the hotel so no need to book expensive taxis. Avoid the "hop on hop off" tour bus as it is expensive and not very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outrageous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Many thanks for your positive review. As the reviewer says we don't provide the frills - mini bars valet parking etc. - but all the essentials are here in an excellent location at a price travellers appreciate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I stayed there for two nights in early Feb this year in a doube en-suite room. Good location, clean room and fairly quiet as off the main street. Staff were helpfull and kind. The only snag is internet connection , you can buy 50 or 100 MG bundles for 10 or 5 NZD which is expensive and really not enough. Did not eat there and had a great breackfasr and coffee at the Columbus Cafe just around the corner. Overall good hotel for a modest price

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thank you for your review and your "Overall good hotel for a modest price" assessment. Fair point about the internet. It's expensive in NZ but we are looking to change telecoms suppliers so we can pass a better deal onto our guests.

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#48 of 67 in Auckland
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
1.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Property: Kiwi International Hotel
Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - free wi-fi, free baggage storage, no surcharge credit card payment and friendly 24/7 reception & service. Some parking is available on a "first come first serve" basis. Spaces are not guaranteed and cannot be reserved. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Skytower, Skycity, Aotea Square, Viaduct Basin, the central business district, 'K' Road, theatres, restaurants, universities & tertiary institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing