We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location short walk to Auckland city and Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Brum
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Good Location short walk to Auckland city and Great value”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel is situated on Queens Road one of long Road that lead to the city. About 15 minutes walk (slow stroll) Easy to find my way there and satify with the location.
The room had a sink inside and good hot running water. Although this is a shared facility but the bathroom and shower are extremely clean. Hardly seen anyone there.
Breakfast pay extra $15 nice basic continental breakfast.
Car parking at the back is free.
As we parked our hired car there.
Bed is very comfortable and very clean. Cannot complain and it is very good value for money that is close to the city. On Satirday night the Hotel is almost FULL with party peoples dressed up going to city club and bars. But no noises to disturb us. I would stay there again for people with good sense of saving and staying in good hotel Kiwi is the one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungaryHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your encouraging review and commendation to other visitors to Auckland. We're pleased our Economy room met your expectations and was good value. Most of our rooms are of the Ensuite style and offer more facilities but of course the same great central location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    282
    223
    59
    38
See reviews for
95
205
202
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This facility is well located, right off the Airbus Express stop from the airport, in the centtral city. We stayed here on our last night in NZ. Good value, nice clean room with ensuite bathroom. Our bed was very comfortable and our view included the Sky Tower. Easy walking up and down Queen Street and the entire central city. Also very close to Auckland University and Albert Park. Close enough to walk to the Domain and nearby neighborhoods (Ponsonby and Parnell) too if you have time. We would stay here again and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Great central location, clean and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your review and positive comments. We're glad it suited your needs and appreciate your recommendation to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel was a bit difficult to find, but in a pretty central location for what we wanted to do in Auckland. It was similar to a lot of backpackers I have stayed in but a private twin share room. We were shocked when our airport taxi was $80 to our accommodation, and he seemed to go the most direct route on a Saturday night at 9pm so pretty clear roads. The hotel website said $40 so double we were not expecting, suggest you take the airport bus. We stayed in a room with an ensuite with a very small bathroom, two single beds, one hard one soft. There is a fair amount of noise in the hallways and rooms so it is definitely more hostel than hotel like in atmosphere. The staff were extremely helpful, in all for the price and location it is a good place to stay and would recommend for the price but it is more hostel than hotel. On the plus side it is pretty clean.

Room Tip: I would suggest not getting a room on the third floor as you have to get two lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your review. That was bad luck on the taxi. Yes - you will pay silly money if you jump into the line of cabs at the airport.
Our website says... "Discount Taxis have the cheapest fare of $40 from Auckland Airport to Auckland City. You can call them once you have arrived on 09 529·1000".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Its tough getting good priced accommodation for family of 5 in central Auckland when there is a major concert on (One Direction). But this hotel had separate beds for all of us, ensuite and basic kitchen which was ideal for our one night. Some of the paint was peeling but the rooms where clean and spacious. Reception staff friendly and got free parking and Wifi. Got to be quick for parking.

It was definitely worth what we paid and will consider again.

Room Tip: Don't expect a room with a view and luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWharekura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thanks for your positive review. We're pleased it suited you well. As a family man with 5 myself I can appreciate the difficulties getting suitable accommodation at a fair price. Good to see you were able to take advantage of our free parking and wi-fi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

As we visited New Zealand mainly by campervan, that's the only experience we got with hotels in New Zealand. That said, that was a good experience.
Clean and standard double room for a good price.
Well located in Aukland.
Only minus we felt that the reception team was a little bit cold when checking in/out.
A part of that, I would recommend this hotel for few nights in Auckland.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Many thanks for your recent review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that our property suited you well. Our apologies if reception wasn't engaging enough. They are usually really good and we get lots of positive comments re staff friendliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel was perfect for my needs, after backpacking alone for a while I was looking for a little privacy and comfort to prepare for the long trip home. The single room I chose was small, but big enough for my things, had a sink and desk and a comfortable twin sized bed with clean white sheets. The sink was a huge bonus, though the washrooms weren't far and were also clean (shared facility).
The location is great, on Queen street, just a 20 minute walk to the wharf, though fair warning, its all up hill on your way back!
If you come, however, I recommend ear plugs. The doors to all the rooms are quite noisy and the walls are fairly thin, you can hear people coming and going. Also note its tucked back off the street a bit and tough to see, look for the sign, and its across from City St.
Other than that I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this affordable, no frills, hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LK_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your review - we're pleased it suited your purposes well. While most of our rooms in our hotel are ensuite we do have some economy rooms like the one this reviewer stayed in which are excellent value for the traveller wanting a more budget hotel room. Travellers should note though that as we're a hotel and not a backpacker we don't have a kitchen or any other communal type facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whakatane
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed here with my daughter for 5 nights begining of october. We found the room very clean and modern. We had a ensuite room and the only gripe was that it takes quite a while for the hot water to get to the shower the rest of our stay was great. Good loction for walking down queen street for shopping. Ring and ask for parking because it is limited.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhakataneKiwi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and that it suited your purposes. We agree the hot water is slow to arrive in some of the park wing rooms but it does get there and the views are worth it! We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#47 of 67 in Auckland
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
1.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Property: Kiwi International Hotel
Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - free wi-fi, free baggage storage, no surcharge credit card payment and friendly 24/7 reception & service. Some parking is available on a "first come first serve" basis. Spaces are not guaranteed and cannot be reserved. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Skytower, Skycity, Aotea Square, Viaduct Basin, the central business district, 'K' Road, theatres, restaurants, universities & tertiary institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing